We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property near the airport.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great property near the airport.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A full week stay at the Ritz Carlton is always a pleasure. This was my first trip to San Juan Puerto Rico, I found the airport arrival and departure process seamless. A short five minute ride placed us at the front door of the Ritz. Check in smooth but had to wait one hour as my room was not ready. The restaurants on the property are excellent, we dined at the ocean pool and BLT steak. We also had no problem with safety walking near the Ritz to other dining spots. We ate dpwn the block at Brother Jimmy's BBQ, The Japanese steak house at the El San Juan hotel and had no problem with the walk. I found the bed less comfortable than what I expected at the Ritz. It was a king size bed that felt as it was two twins pushed together with a mattress pad on top. The center of the bed was extremely hard. I also had asked to have my third floor pool view exterior window cleaned, it looked like it had not been washed of the salt water spray for a long time. It made my room feel dirty and degraded the gorgeous views. It was never washed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    519
    310
    125
    81
See reviews for
420
724
41
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cph
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

When checking in we were asked whether we would like a $30 "upgrade" to a room with a view, which we declined. However, I can recommend you do that if getting the offer. Our room was nice enough, but ask for a balcony. When I a couple of hours later asked the receptionist if the offer was still valid, she informed me that all rooms with balconies/sea view were now taken. Should have accepted the first offer - and it sure was nice they asked.

Pretty good brunch, but didn't try dinner - and there's a real nice restaurant to the right when you leave the parking lot. Just about 100 yards on the same street. Value for money there! Sorry, forgot the name of the place, but you can't miss it. First eating opportunity almost right next door.

Excellent pool, but somewhat filled with playful people in the afternoon, so I got my laps done in the morning.

All in all this is a quite fine hotel, and I would absolutely recommend it - just remember to accept offers of a room upgrade if you're offered such. Or ask for it if you're not :)

Room Tip: Get a balcony or at least a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great service, great luxury, very clean, just...Perfect! From the time we check-in (early) to the time we checked-out we were blown away with the hotel and service. Pool was huge with a beautiful opening to the beach. We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Even when the name says Ritz Carlton, the experience is not Ritz Carlton. Yes, you get a nice room with all the things a hotel room should have but there is something missing...
We did enjoy our stay. Our children had a blast in the beach and the pool. They were fascinated by the local iguanas roaming around the pool deck (not me, of course). Breakfast was ok and so was service. The one thing that did not make much sense was the resort fee.
This was higher than the room tax and the only thing you get is beach/pool towels and chaise lounges at the beach and pool. We did not receive a newspaper during our stay, no special fruits while at the pool, refreshing towels or local transfers from one door to the next, you know, the usual things hotels say are covered when they charge for a resort fee.
The hotel has a great location, very close to the airport but you don't feel it. It will make a lot of sense to show for the resort fee and when sitting at the lobby not to get plastic cups for bottled water. Of course, even when the water is not served by the waitress a tip is expected but it is all part of the spirit of hospitality and the enjoyment of a vacation. For the price paid, will think consider staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came to San Juan for a long weekend and surprised me with a stay at the Ritz. I thought the cab driver misunderstood him - boy was I surprised! Everything about the Ritz is as you'd expect - impeccable service, amazing hotel and grounds, wonderfully helpful staff. Beachside service was the highlight - nothing better than having someone set up chairs and towels for you and serve you delicious drinks and food! Try the blackberry colada - it's so good! And the food on the beach was amazing - we loved the corn and black bean burgers and the Cuban sandwich. To die for! We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beautiful, elegant accommodations with professional staff. Spotlessly clean, great maid service, attentive pool attendants. Il Mulino was expensive and just so-so. BLT Steak was very good with great service. The hotel could benefit from more boutique shopping options. Oddly, the hotel's pool rafts were torn and ratty - a strange oversight for an otherwise beautifully maintained property. Overall, a wonderful week spent at the Ritz.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the extra money as the city view is pretty lousy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beautiful, amazing property right on the beach. The staff is very helpful and polite. The rooms are just lovely. The food is absolutely delicious as well. And best of all, the rates are very reasonable. I hope to get back here for a longer stay some day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.