We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Level of Service above the Usual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Level of Service above the Usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great Spa and lovely pool in the Isla Verde area. Great room and excellent service. Nice beach and area restaurants. Took the city bus from in front to Old Town. Convenient and nice to return to at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    516
    309
    125
    80
See reviews for
419
719
41
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Everything you would expect from a Ritz highlighted by the usual great service and great beach.

We visited for three days with our 9 and 12 year old children and stayed in an executive suite. Room was typical but very nice. Service throughout the hotel--wait staff, front desk, concierge, bell, etc.--was always excellent.

The beach was a fantastic place for the kids and adults alike, with rolling waves breaking gently on the shore and beach service to set up your perfect spot and bring you drinks and food. If you want a little more exercise, just down the beach the waves get a little bigger and are perfect for boogie boarding and surfing. My 9 year old took surfing lessons and had a great time.

Breakfast buffet was OK (the guava pancakes are a must, though), However Il Mulino, the Italian restaurant, was top shelf and easily one of the best Italian meals we've had outside of Italy. BLT, like the one in DC, was a bit of a disappointment.

10 minute cab ride to Old San Juan helped round out a great three day trip.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a suite so the kids can sleep in a different room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Love this property... it is luxurious, conveniently located close to airport, excellent restaurants on site, and beautiful pool area. I went for a long weekend with a few friends, and the hotel did not disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved our stay here in May-June 2012. Lovely hotel, friendly staff, good drinks, great location and incredible rooms. Pool bar was nice, drinks were very good, lunch there was good, too. Loved lounging by the pool in the morning and on the beach in the afternoons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The only negative thing I'd have to mention would have to be the food. I wasn't very pleased with it. Luckily there were other restaurants in walking distance. The good part is they also deliver..Everything else is a good walking distance for those who like to walk. For those who just like to sit around the pool or the beach all day, then you have nothing to worry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently spent three days at the Ritz, San Juan on our way to Dominica. We had outstanding service by Antonio Villanes in Guest Services. He went out of his way to make us feel special and recognized our anniversay on several occasions throughout our stay. He also recommended we vist Old San Juan in the early morning light and we caught some spectacular photos both at the hotel and in the city. We enjoyed the restaurants at the hotel and loved the mojitos and plantains served in the lounge from 4-6 pm. It was a lovely visit and we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton, San Juan, Puerto Rico, for a period of 6 nights.
We arrived at the hotel without my luggage. American Airlines had left it in Miami. As you can imagine, I wasnt in the best of moods. The staff at reception couldnt be more helpful. They gave me lots of freebies and offered me free clothes from the gift shop.

Recommendation - Pay the extra for the club level. We used the club facilities every day. Nice food, plentiful drinks and very attentive staff.

The italian restaurant, near the casino was superb (cant remember the name) The Steakhouse was also superb. Massive steaks, lovely wine.

The outside gardens where very well looked after.

There was service on the beach which was helpful. The major downside was the strong wind on the beach. It was the same everyday that we where there.

As with any Ritz, expect to pay top dollar! It was expensive but we had a great time.

Room Tip: Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.