We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, food decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playita Restaurant & Bar

La Playita Restaurant & Bar
6 Calle Amapola | Isla Verde, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
+1 787-791-1115
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 29 Restaurants in Isla Verde
Price range: $7 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Schenectady, NY
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Nice view, food decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Nice place to sit outside for lunch. Monfongo was a little dry. Seafood monfongo needed more sauce, but was not bad. Husband had the skirt steak monfongo - skirt steak was really good and had more sauce, so the dry monfongo wasn't as much of an issue. Good flavor to it though,despite being dry. Calamari appetizer was okay, not great. Bland. Glad we went, would go back, but wouldn't rush to do so.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    145
    50
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
litchfield
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Burgers with a water View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you are staying in the Isla Verde area of San Juan and want a really good burger, tropical drinks, dining al fresco overlooking turquoise waters this is a must for you. The eight ounce burgers are juicy and cooked to perfection, served with fries for $10.00. Tropical drinks and sangria are also excellent .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best View, Wonderful Food, Great Staff, Awesome Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Once we found this place, we couldn't stop going back! I would eat here every day if given the chance. The view is amazing, the vibe is cool, the staff was awesome, the food is great and drinks are fabulous! Enjoyed the mojito's but the Coco Loco's were HEAVEN. Sat on the back deck with the best view ever. Our group had the burgers, blue cheese salad and shrimp mofongo (local dish) and all were FABULOUS!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orefield, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tropical feel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The food was delicious. The staff was friendly and acknowable. The restaurant is on the water, what could be better!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best food in Isla Verde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you want good food, amazing views and the best mofongo, this is the place . Do your pallet a favor and try the fish ceviche and mofongo, great service and friendly . We walked here from our hotel and it was so good we went back for dinner ! Nice ocean breeze and a fantastic place. We will be sure to come again. If you are lucky, will see the manatee's too !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playita Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Isla Verde, Carolina
Isla Verde, Carolina
 

Been to La Playita Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playita Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.