We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playita Restaurant & Bar

La Playita Restaurant & Bar
6 Calle Amapola | Isla Verde, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
+1 787-791-1115
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We would go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

After reading alot of mixed reviews about La Playita we were on the fence, but decided to go anyway. Like some have already said the service is a lil spotty. We had to wait an unusually long length of time for someone to come over after we sat down. I ended up flagging down a waiter, but from that point on he was on his game and took good care of us!
And for the reviews that said they got a free Speciality drink? Im not sure when they went or if it was for a limited time, but we arrived for dinner at 7 and asked about the Coco Loco and he told us we could order one but it wasnt on the house?? So i dunno!
I ordered the Churrasco Mofongo and enjoyed it ALOT. I would go back there and I would probably order this same dish. All in all it was a nice dinner experience. I've been to alot of restaurants in PR and while this wasnt the "most authentic Puerto Rican experience" its on the water, they have Puerto Rican cuisine and the vibe was good. I will recommend La Playita to friends!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    173
    69
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

It's not easy to get to, but worth the effort. Great food, great hospitality, and a beautiful view.

Five of us showed up on Christmas night, hungry, at 700pm with no reservation. We were taken to a table immediately, and drinks came fast.

We ordered the mofongo, which was delicious. The wings were fine- not great, not bad. The giant coconut drink was sweet, delicious and strong. The service, up to the main course, was great.

Then there was a fire in the kitchen. Not sure there really was a fire or that it was disorganized, but quick refills (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) for free made everyone happy. Ultimately, all but one dish came out. The burger was great, and the mahi mahi was excellent. the shrimp carbonara was a little more of a alfredo sauce and only okay. One dish long delayed, came out when we were ready to leave- they offered to wrap it to go and took it off the bill.

The service was off, but with five free drinks, a free dinner item, we were well attended to.

It's a fun, low key, inexpensive- even if we paid for the drinks and additional menu item.

I enjoyed it a great deal. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Service was mildly slow but if you accept your on island time you will be fine. Food was good all the way around and the restaurant was clean and kept up. Prices were moderate. I would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We walked out after an hour after not getting our food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is an adorable restaurant with a fab view of the ocean. That's where it ends. We waited 15 minutes to get a menu and when we tried to order a drink when he dropped off the menu, we were told "wait a minute". They basically got angry with us and chose to ignore us. We walked out after an hour.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Limited menu - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

La playita salad was excellent: avocado, tomato, shrimp in spicy sauce. Churrasco mofongo was also very good. Large portion, that you can share between two people.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playita Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Isla Verde, Carolina
Isla Verde, Carolina
 

Been to La Playita Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playita Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.