We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality, beautiful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Hato Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Hato Verde to your Saves list
Hacienda Hato Verde
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Panamericana Sur Km. 331 Entrada a Mulalo | 8 minutes from Cotopaxi National Park, Mulalo Latacunga, Cotopaxi, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Conifer,CO USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great hospitality, beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

What a treat to find this wonderful hacienda that made us feel so at home! Maria and Cesar could not have been more gracious hosts and the hacienda was warm, cozy, and felt like home from the moment that we arrived. Our room looked out over the pastures with horses and new calves. We had a fabulous day with Cesar riding horses in Cotopoxi National Park. The views, wild horses, great weather were all just perfect , only to be concluded by a great meal at the hacienda. Our tour of the market town ( make sure you are there for a Thursday market) and the volcano crater lake was also very nice. Great thanks to Maria and Cesar for opening their wonderful home to us and making us feel so welcome. Penny and Bill, Conifer, CO

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Having stayed at some wonderful haciendas in Mexico we were really looking forward to this. However, despite a warm enough welcome from Maria, this does not warrant a "luxury" label. The house is interesting in a hacienda way but the rooms and en suite were basic. The evening meal was served at the family table and the food was good home cooking. The immediate surroundings are a working farm, rose growing glass houses and a very large factory nearby. We had been in Cotopaxi National Park during the day and wished we had stayed in the lodge at Tambopaxi, where we had had lunch and which was in a wonderful setting.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Although the owners were very friendly (especially the landlady), there were some disappointments. We did some laundry and had to pay 72 dollars for that, which is far too much. Second: it has been extremely cold in the house. There was a fireplace, but we've been freezing all the time. The good news is that the bedrooms were excellent and the beds warm. Food was okay, but not great. Sorry to say, we will not recommend this Hacienda.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Very hospitable and great to live in with the Family. Food was OK, but not great.
Beds very comfortable and warm.
Based on the room rates, much work needs to be done to bring the Bedroom standards up to an acceptable level. This includes décor and Cupboards, which were of a low standard.
Also the Shower and Toilet was very small and not well decorated. There is also a lack of heating in the Property.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

The Hacienda is really beautiful. The owner - Maria could not be more helpful and friendly, we were made to feel very welcome. The food was good. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a beautiful Hacienda in the country and we found it at Hacienda Hato Verde. The building is beautiful, made of pumice stone from the last time Cotopaxi errupted. The entrance to Cotopaxi is eight minutes from the Hacienda.
It is a working dairy farm. This was reflected in the fresh yogurt and variety of cheeses served daily. Dinner was served family style, one night fish the next roast beef. Delicious!
Our room was in the main house. There was always fresh coffee and and tea available. Our room are lovely with a warm, cozy bed.
The Hacienda offers excursions. We were lucky to have Cesar as our guide. It was a Holiday weekend and we never sat in traffic. As a former race car driver, he knew all the backroads. He shared Ecuador with us as only a local could. He knew where to stop for the best views, coffee, and local produce.
Thank you Cesar and Maria!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

After five days at Hacienda Cusin near Ottavalo and one night in Quito at the JW Marriott, we were ready for small, friendly Hacienda experience. Hato Verde was perfect. Ana from "The Biking Dutchman" www.bikingdutchman.com, recommended Hato Verde to us, since she knew we would be mountain biking at nearby Cotopaxi National Park that day. Hato Verde is a several hundred year old working dairy and horse farm. Cesar and Maria, the hosts are gracious, fun, and engaging. The prepared us a great dinner, which we enjoyed with our kids and four other travelers staying there. We had drinks in the beautiful living room and then a great meal. When we arrived back at our rooms, our hosts had lit the iron stoves and warmed up the rooms for comfortable sleeping. The next morning, we awoke to the farm and enjoyed home made yogurt, cream, butter, milk, and eggs with breakfast. Our rooms were clean and modern, yet had the feel of a centuries old farm house. Our kids enjoyed Cesar and Maria's kids and the free high speed internet. This place is charming and warm, and exudes the professionalism and friendliness of its owners. Skip the higher priced places near Cotopaxi and try Hato Verde...we loved it. This place is a true find.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mulalo
9.6 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 3 in Latacunga
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
9.3 mi away
Villa de Tacvnga
Villa de Tacvnga
#2 of 3 in Latacunga
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#1 of 19 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#2 of 2 in Lasso
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cabanas Los Volcanes
Cabanas Los Volcanes
#1 of 10 in Latacunga
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Hato Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Hato Verde

Address: Panamericana Sur Km. 331 Entrada a Mulalo | 8 minutes from Cotopaxi National Park, Mulalo Latacunga, Cotopaxi, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Mulalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mulalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Hato Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Hato Verde is part of an antique big dairy farm. Its elegant farm house, 140 years old, was reconstructed in 2004 preserving its rustic materials such as pumice-stone, decorations and style. The country-house serves as home of the owner and his family and also has ten(10) thoughtfully decorated bedrooms, each with fireplace, bathroom, beds with white duck feather duvets and a beautiful view of the farm. We can accommodate up to 20 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Hato Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hato Verde Cotopaxi, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Hato Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.