We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head

Kings Head
Harts Lane, Bawburgh NR9 3LS, England
01603 744977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bawburgh
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
norfolk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a really nice place, I've been here several times and it never fails to deliver....the food is first class and so is the service...good choice of menu at a reasonable price. We will return

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
“Recent meal here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Went for a meal with a group of colleagues last night. Have been here several times before and the food was always of a good gastro pub style. Last nights food was nice, but I had the Cromer Crab salad and was disappointed that the crab had not been dressed properly - sauce was in a pot at the side and I had several pieces of shell in the crab meat. Huge portions which were a little off putting, but food generally ok

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good but expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went for a meal last night at the Kings Head after hearing good comments. I do have to say this is a lovely traditional pub, however it is spoilt by its service. The night we went wasn't any more busy then most other popular restaurants however it took us 35 mins before we even had our order taken. Along with this the Kings Head has a real problem with flies at the moment- they were everywhere.
Upon receiving the meal I do have to say the food is really nice and well presented- however I personally think they are on the pricey side for what you get, again the service was let down- not all of our order was served to us (missing a side). We mentioned this and the waitress didn't really seam too worried and passed the buck onto someone else- we were not too worried, however a sorry would have been nice.

Maybe it was just busy on the night we went or they were having a bad day- the food and actual pub is lovely. Just needs to solve the fly problem which is off putting and just a little more service with a smile.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“awesome A+++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Have recently moved to the area and popped in on way to cinema for a bite to eat as I had heard the food was very good. and previously done some work there and looked at the menu which looked very nice indeed

I have to say it was one of the best meals I have had in a very long time, and the homemade Norfolk Crunch bread was lovely.

the choice was ample the servings were just right and presented like a Michelin star restuarant.

My only issue, having finished the meal we turned around and went home as just wanted to flop on the couch and ruminate!!!

I would suggest booking to be safe, we were lucky and got the last table!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food and surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Always has an interesting menu, good quality food and polite, friendly service. Good place to go for a special meal.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Head also viewed

 

Been to Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.