We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Pub, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head

Kings Head
Harts Lane, Bawburgh NR9 3LS, England
01603 744977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bawburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
leicestershire
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Cosy Pub, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This pub has improved significantly since a visit a couple of years ago. It was very busy when we arrived at about 7:30 on a Friday but thinned out soon for a pleasant dining experience at a nice table near one of the ancient fireplaces. The food (especially the grilled mackerel) and service were both very good indeed.The Adnams beers were in perfect condition and the wines were not overpriced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    37
    17
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very Good Meal and Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Recently had a lovely meal with a large party. I had fish and chips which was excellent and had carrot and orange sorbet among other flavours (tasted like orange no hint of carot flavour and texture). There was some confusion over the starters ordered but this was soon rectified. Slight delay in serving all of us but didn't spoil the experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Majestic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We’ve eaten here a number of times, and generally enjoy the experience.

The main building is a very old building (probably 16th century) and the main seating area two fire places either side. It is at its best on a winter's day when the fires are burning away.

As previously observed the other areas (the bar you enter into and the far dining room at the front of the building) can be a little cold sometimes.

We have largely food the food to be excellent - locally sourced, well cooked, very tasty. They also stock a number of local beers which are excellent especially Woodforde's.

Service has mostly been excellent with a few variations, but overall fine.

Recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Good food, excellent service and a 10% discount if you tell them where you are staying

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“quality sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I recently visited the kings head after a few years of not going and after reading some of the reviews I was slighly nervous, but my word how things have changed and how wrong the other reviews are.

Our lunch was delicious, one of the best sunday roasts i have had out in years, all three courses were outstanding, full of flavour, plentiful and great value for money. The staff were helpful and polite, and even the chef accomodated some our dietary needs on request.

If you havent been before it is well worth a visit

We had a quick look at the evening menu, which looked mouth watering, based on our sunday lunch experience we will be visiting again for a romantic meal rather than with the kids.

People should make there own minds up and give it a go, only 8 reviews of a restaurant that has been there 20 years, strange?

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Head also viewed

 

Been to Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.