We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Horse Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brown Horse Inn
Save
You added Brown Horse Inn to your Saves list
A5074, Winster LA23 3NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winster
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very friendly place with lovely rooms and views.
Great brecky and bathrooms are clean and modern.
Fabulous walk along lane at the front to a lake. 1/4 mile.
10 mins to Bowness.
Planning on going again soon.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    89
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
36
204
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed for one night on their own offer of £59 for a room (B&B), which was good value. We stayed in room 7, which is in the annexe. It was nice enough, shabby chic, which makes a nice change, although quite a small room. I think that when the rooms were first done they must have been lovely but unfortunately they had laid a cream carpet, which now has a few stains on it. There was also an upholstered stool at the foot of the bed, again stained. The bathroom looked like it had been newly refurbished and was nice apart from the ceiling which was mouldy and the blind which was rusty. Couldn't understand why these small things were left like this, it spoils what could be a really lovely room. For these reasons I wouldn't like to have paid full price of £90.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food and service were superb. The staff are extremely friendly and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending both eating and drinking there. Breakfast was also very good. Overall, I'd recommend it and would stay again but would look for an offer again rather than pay full price - who wouldn't!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

6 of us stayed his last year. We checked in and was received with a very friendly and warm welcome. We were shown to our rooms and they were fab. Fantastics views and very comfy. We had a few drinks in the bar and though we didn't eat here the food looked very good.. Definitely a place to revisit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a really nice inn with lots if charm and original features. Its clear that the current owners have put and are still putting money into this place. It has a very isolated feel even though its only a few miles from Bowness which was exactly what we were looking for. Most of the hotels in Bowness cater for large volumes of people going through their doors so it was really nice to find somewhere that felt a little undiscovered.
The rooms are very modern but still have original beams and vaulted ceilings. The walls are pretty thin so you can hear everything from next door. We were woken up when the room next door put their tv on around 7am both mornings. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings but the food looked amazing. Breakfast was ample and the cooked breakfast was clearly made using local produce which was really good. We used the bar once but we found it quite uncomfortabe. There wasnt any background music and the only other people there were the staff. We felt like we shouldnt have been there. The lights behind the bar were switched off at 9.30 so we then felt pushed out so we left.
We definitely feel we got excellent value for money. I dont think we would stay here again mainly due to the choice in the area. There was nothing at all wrong with our stay although we didn't feel particularly welcome. The management seem to be focussing more on the development of the place rather than the day to day guests coming through the door. Hopefully, his should change in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCUNTHORPE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had 2 night stay here in March. It is off the beaten track but well worth the journey. We had a room looking out over the Winster Valley. It was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The food at breakfast was top class and we had an evening meal which was good value and superbly cooked. The restaurant and bar were both busy for meals. They allow well behaved dogs in the bar only and we did find them a problem. We needed the AA whilst se were there and the staff were very helpful and allowed me to use their phone as my phone did not have a signal.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms are good. The only problem I can envisage is trying to book as their are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Fourth time at The Brown Horse, the staff are all really lovely and helpful. The food is really good, all fresh and delicious. We had breakfast on both mornings and ate in the Restaurant on both evenings. The food is reasonably priced and there are a really good selection of beers.
It is a bit out of the way without a car, a couple of miles walk into Bowness. We are looking to book again very soon.
There is nothing negative to say the Brown Horse.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed at The Brown Horse Inn for 2 nights B&B on a wowcher deal. Absolutely fabulous, couldn't have asked for anything better. Warm and welcoming friendly staff made you feel home from home. Breakfast plenty full with a good choice from full English to Salmon. Meals were delicious cooked to a very high standard and well presented and good value for money. Everything was fresh and local produce, you could even buy fresh free range eggs and buy bottles of the real ale beers which they produce themselves. Room was very comfortable and spacious for two people, We stayed in room 7 which even had its own patio table and chairs and was a welcome bonus to sit there on a sunny day looking over the amazing view. The Inn itself is in a lovely quiet location but Windermere was only about 10-15 mins by car.

I'd highly recommend staying at The Brown Horse Inn and looking forward to doing so in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#5 of 19 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
1.4 mi away
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
1.5 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
6.5 mi away
Waterhead
Waterhead
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Horse Inn

Address: A5074, Winster LA23 3NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Winster
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winster
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Brown Horse Hotel Winster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.