We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and very good rate for single occupation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Horse Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brown Horse Inn
Save
You added Brown Horse Inn to your Saves list
A5074, Winster LA23 3NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winster
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and very good rate for single occupation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We ate in the bar and restaurant both evenings with friends and all our meals were excellent, burgers particularly good and lots of choice including some more extravangant options eg chateaubriand, desserts also very good...very much enjoyed the food and probably highlight of stay. Bar and Restaurant staff friendly but when I asked for information on local area, specifically walking, they didn't seem to have the knowledge to be able to help. Further, booking wasn't particularly efficient, I didn't get an email confirmation as requested, once I chased and did receive it then I never got a reply to some questions I asked. Room was good, recently refurbished, shower excellent and lots of hot water and comfy bed, no chintz, nice area to sit outside and good views, we were not totally sold on the decor style but a personal thing. Very good rates for single occupation £60 versus neary £100 for double occupation, a better ratio than I have come across elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    88
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
36
203
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed on 2 night wowcher. Country pub with rooms. Gravel car park at the rear, leads to reception, a staff car often blocked this area, and it all looked a bit messy, which I don't think was down to the building work they were having done. Our room was just outside the main building behind reception. Pleasant room, bright, interestingly furnished with view over the valley. Radiator in room easily controlled(Switch off on night or too hot) No heating in bathroom, so quite cold. Patio chairs outside. Nice shower and big bath towels. Empty biscuit packet outside our door on arrival, was still there when we left. Had meal the first night, little over priced, and only one vegetarian option - pasta. My husband said the lamb shank was very nice. The bar/restaurant room is down stairs, but is on the road access level at the front. The second night we saw a 2 course meal offer leaflet on the reception, I went to the bar to ask if it was still on(no one in reception) bar man reluctantly said it was, so I asked to book a table for 7.30, he then told me it had to be ordered by 7. We drove into Bowness where there were loads of places to eat, at far more reasonable prices, friendly staff and atmoshere. Only downside is the dark road back to the pub. We had a drink in the bar when we got back, but we were the only ones, and it was around 8.30. We had the best weather in the country when we stayed, and always love the lakes. Had free use of the leisure facilities at the Low Wood Hotel near Ambleside, which we used once which was quite pleasant. Breakfast was ok, but would have liked tongs for the bread for toast as I don't like the thought of people having touched my bread before I do. The day we left after breakfast as we passed reception we asked to pay our bill, to be told we had to go and pay it at the bar but leave the key at reception. There were two people sat at reception(usually no one there) so what was their purpose? Didn't find the staff very friendly, or helpful, and would agree at times you felt as though you were an inconvenience to them. We did enjoy our stay, but mainly because we were in the Windermere area. Probably wouldn't stay there again, we didn't find the staff very welcoming, friendly or helpful really, and with no atmosphere in the place, why would we when its such a tourist area there are so many more places to stay

Room Tip: We liked our room outside the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have just had a night's stay at the Brown Horse, which had been recommended to us, so we were expecting great things. However, from the outset we found most of the staff to be unfriendly, with one or two of them bordering on surly. We were not made to feel welcome at all and had the impression that nobody really cared whether we had a good stay or not. We stayed in one of the refurbished rooms, which was clean and comfortable, but very small. There was no room for a wardrobe - just hangers on the wall. The bathroom was tiny, but the shower was good. The room was adequate for one night, but definitely no more than that.

On the plus side the evening meal was excellent and the waitress who served us was chatty and friendly. The breakfast however was below average, with no fruit on offer. The waiter was inattentive and unhelpful.

I would recommend this establishment for a good evening meal, but definitely wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: I would advise against staying in an annexe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Only downside restaurant a bit overstated, a bit pretensious. Over priced especially the lobster. Also tv's in room very small. Staff friendly. Wasn't best pleased about alarm getting whole hotel up at 3am and no staff on site to sort it out had to wait outside till staff arrived for at least half an hour.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good food, good service and real ale coupled with a superb location; what more could you want for a relaxing break? There are loads of good walks on your door step here as well as breath-taking scenery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The English Lakes
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Called here for lunch and even though we went quite early, the carpark was almost full which is always a good sign! There is a real buzz at this Inn - the food is absolutely delicious and their own brew Best Bitter is superb. We have made a real "find" and will definitely return. The staff are all very charming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Had a deal through groupon , when I done the route planner for some reason it takes you to the wrong place so I would advise sat nav using the post code , It is over two mile to walk to bowness and no paths so we used taxis £ 9.00 one way , no issues with checking in or checking out , room was ok but no bath , breakfast was nice and the staff very friendly especially the young chap who rang a pub in bowness to check the rugby was on .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#5 of 19 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
1.4 mi away
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
1.5 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
6.5 mi away
Waterhead
Waterhead
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Horse Inn

Address: A5074, Winster LA23 3NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Winster
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winster
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Brown Horse Hotel Winster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.