We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrycarrig Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ferrycarrig Hotel to your Saves list
Ferrycarrig Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

we are just back from a break at the ferrycarrig hotel we stayedon the 20th April for one night . We had a lovely time our hotel room was not great a bit groggy (321) but it did not matter as the staff were so nice and attentive that they made up for all the little thing that were not great in the room bathroom a git groggy room needs updating . The location is amazing all rooms look out on to an estuary . They have a lovely swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and fitness centre which also looks out to the water which was really nice. The food and service in the restraunt was fantastic we had our evening meal there even thought there was a very big wedding there it did not effect our service. Nothing was too much for any of the staff they were all too happy to help. We also had breakfast the next morning which was a choice of full irish or fruit, ham, cheeses, cereals, yogurts, breads, very well stocked. wexford town is 5 mins in a car 10 walking . We had plans to go into the town for the evening but there was entertainment in the bar of the hotel and he was amazing so we stayed for the sing song . All in all we really enjoyed our stay enhanced by the friendly staff and great food. We would go back maybe to a nicer room

Room Tip: Our room was 321 not great really needs updating
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Junmangie

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our hotel and share your experience with others. I am truly delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially the enterntainment in the dry dock bar. Your complimentary comments regarding, staff, service and food provided to you by the team here at Ferrycarrig are delightful to read. I shall pass on your comments to the team whom will take great pride in reading. I have noted your comment in relation to the room. We have planned renovation going forward and bathrooms are high priority on that list.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jeanette O’Keeffe

_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    288
    122
    51
    30
See reviews for
297
347
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Ferrycarrig hotel we received a warm welcome. The staff at the reception and bar were so helpful and made us feel right at home. Our room had a beautiful view of the river and was spacious,very clean and equipped with very good quality bath room products. The atmosphere in bar was great. We ate in the bar on one occasion. The food was reasonable and very nice. We really enjoyed our trip and hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Mairead87,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of us here at Ferrycarrig. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regard,

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I were driving along as light faded needing somewhere to stay. It was our first ever trip to the south-east and were unsure where to lodge for the night. On calling the receptionist was excellent, friendly and welcoming - the only room left was an executive suite. This was offered at the standard rate [it was late in the evening] which we gratefully accepted. It was our first enquiry and we did not waste time calling elsewhere - we were delighted with our luck and had a really good positive experience in the Ferrycarrig, The reception was busy with a wedding party so we dived into the restaurant at the closing bell and despite possibly holding staff over were offered the full menu. The food was excellent and the breakfast the following morning was very good. The accommodation was super, very spacious with a full sized jacuzzi bath and seperate living room. The rooms were very cosy/well heated and welcoming despite the fresh frosty weather. The views were fabulous. The reception and restaurant staff were doing a great job. Others may have had issue with the busy reception but in our view the hotel had character and a really good buzz of activity and sense of celebration [the wedding etc]. The leisure facility was clean and warm with helpful receptionist. YES... we would go back - in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Declan L,

Thank you for your kind feedback, which is incredibly encouraging and greatly appreciated.

We strive to deliver a high standard of service to our guest and it makes us proud to read that we have succeeded in delivering this to you during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Wexford.

Kind Regards
Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager

_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely hotel, if a little dated - fabulous setting on the estuary. Service was really good and friendly however the food was not good at all. We had food in the bar area as the restaurant was busy on both occasions and to be honest we got overheated perhaps reheated poor quality food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Lizzy078,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit to Ferrycarrig Hotel. We very much appreciate feedback be it positive or negative, this helps to assist us with reviewing and improving hotel services. As a direct consequence of your feedback we have met with our Food and Beverage team and outlined your concerns. All food offerings are prepared freshly on a daily basis and cook to order, naturally the team are disappointed that their department has fallen short on attention to detail to you our valued guest. Please accept my sincere apologies.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you to Ferrycarrig at some future date.
Kind Regards,
Jeanette O’Keeffe,
General Manager
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in March. Was delighted to be given a room on the adults only top floor with double doors that opened up to give great views over the water. Room was beautifully decorated and very comfy. We ate in the bar. Food was very tasty but service wasn't very attentive. Once they brought you your food, I think the staff felt that their job was finished. We had to go to the bar when we wanted another drink and to request the bill. There is an adult only section of the bar. I saw a large group of people with lots of kids going into this section in the early evening but staff made them leave, which is good as there's no point having adult only areas if you don't make people observe the rule. A very nice hotel in a great location and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Beanie 14,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Ferrycarrig Hotel. We are truly delighted you enjoyed the view of the Slaney Estuary with Picturesque, Tranquil and Peaceful surroundings.We are however genuinely disappointed to read your comments regarding your experience in our bar, in light of which, we have discussed the issue you raise with our team.
Please be assured that we are committed to providing the very best in customer care and service.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Wexford.
Kind regards

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location on the Slaney. Wonderful views. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite with a balcony. Room was lovely but bathroom badly needsupdating. Shower in bath with shower curtain very difficult to turn on and off. Then trickle of water. We took our showers in The Leisure Centre.

Wedding guests came into the bar while the function room was being turned over and all wanted drinks so we could not get service.

The same thing happened at lunchtime the next day, they moved tables and chairs every which way. Very annoying.
The breakfast was chaotic with tables not cleared and presentation was awful.
The hotel has weddings every week-end to the end of the year so travel mid week

Room Tip: Ask for room with an updated bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Mary w,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Ferrycarrig. We are truly delighted you enjoyed the wonderful views of the Slaney Estuary .
Thank you for your comment regarding the shower, which has been highlighted to our maintenance team. We constantly update and reinvesting in the property on an annual basis. We have completed in January of this year our main Reception area, ballroom area and 10 bedrooms on our adult only floor. Thank you once again and very much appreciate all feedback which assists with reviewing and improving hotel services.
.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Ferrycarrig Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager
____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great hotel, lovely views of river slaney, fab food , gym, kids club,entertainment at nighttime and they provide entertainment for the children also.
Family friendly with playground , kids club and baby room .
Always have a really relaxing holiday down in The Ferrycarrig Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Martina3,

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to post your review. I was delighted to read of your finding and experience at Ferrycarrig. Your remarks are most complimentary and it will be my pleasure to share them with all concerned.

We look forward to your return visit when next in Wexford.

Kind Regards,
Jeanette O'Keeffe
General Manager

____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferrycarrig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrycarrig Hotel

Address: Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford > Ferrycarrig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferrycarrig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star Hotel located 4 kilometers outside Wexford Town on N11. 102 stylish & spacious bedrooms & suites - all with views of the river Slaney. Award winning waterfront Dry Dock Bar. Reeds at Ferrycarrig waterfront restaurant - 2 AA Rosette Award Winner, 5-star Active Health & Fitness club with 20m pool, Olympic standard gym, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. Supervised children's play programs, Baby Clubbers (0 - 4 yrs) and Crazy Clubbers (4 yrs - 12 yrs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ferrycarrig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wexford
Wexford Hotel Ferrycarrig
Ferrycarrig Hotel Wexford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrycarrig Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.