We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New years package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrycarrig Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ferrycarrig Hotel to your Saves list
Ferrycarrig Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“New years package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay for new years. 4 adults and 2 kids. It was so relaxing. We checked in no problems. We stayed in a suite which was very spacious and spotless clean with a beautiful view of the Christmas tree and the river. I can't compliment the staff at this hotel enough, everyone is so efficient friendly and helpful from the reception staff to bar staff to porters. The hotel is so child friendly and everything is accommodated for. Nothing is too much trouble. The girls who run the kids club are stars! So brilliant with the children my little ones had so much fun. Our new years meal was delicious and again service was out standing. Any food we got in the hotel be it breakfast or bar food was gorgeous! The new years entertainment for the kids was excellent, a clown, games, disco, art and craft which was all supervised. The band and dj for adults were great too. Everyone was up dancing. The fire works ahow at midnight was top quality and alot better than we expected. We also hired a babysitter one night which we hadn't done before and the lady alma was lovely and great with the children. The swimming pool and spa acilities are immaculate. Overall We all had the best time. Can't wait for next year...will definitely be booking the new years package at the ferry carrig again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Alison,

Happy New Year! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are truly delighted you enjoyed the New Years Package. It is always a special evening in Ferrycarrig. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards,
Jeanette O'Keeffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    288
    122
    51
    30
See reviews for
297
347
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here overnight on business. The hotel is out of Wexford itself which isn't a problem if you're staying for a short time and are happy to use taxis - the hotel will happily order one for you and they aren't overly expensive.

The rooms are a bit dated but have everything you need and are clean and warm. Mine had a nice balcony too...although I wouldn't say the view was inspiring :)

I ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was much like the rooms - absolutely fine but nothing to write home about. The waiter wasn't very friendly to begin with but warmed up by the time I paid my bill! Having the option of the restaurant and bar is a plus though - you can choose the type of food you'd like, price point and environment I.e. the bar had a TV on and I was really tired so opted for the peace/quiet of the restaurant which had nice soft music playing!

I agree that the website does make the hotel look rather grand and in reality, it's less so and not especially good value given that it's out of the city (and in a fairly out of the way city to start with) but my stay was pleasant.

A particular plus was the really heavy curtains - I slept so well and my alarm was a surprise in the morning because the curtains shut out all the light!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Bear_Eskimo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Ferrycarrig. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and especially reading that you had a good nights sleep. I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your constructive feedback and I can assure you your comments are welcome and shall be reviewed by myself and the management team here in the hotel as we are committed to reviewing each guest experience to ensure we are enhancing our guest experience on a daily basis. I am delighted to inform you that we have just completed refurbishing a selection of guest bedrooms, as well as our main reception area, stairway to the bar, and function lobby area.
Again my sincere thanks for taking the time in reviewing Ferrycarrig and we look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig in the near future. Please feel free to contact myself directly so I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Jeanette O’Keeffe,
General Manager.
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had a short break in the Ferrycarrig, lovely hotel we had a large recently decorated room, the view from the room, across the river slaney, was atmospheric,with the winter light on the water. The food was excellent, set dinner and full buffet breakfast with locally sourced produce especially the wexford yogurt which were delicious and its nice to see a local hotel support local business. The leisure centre was very good the hotel was very clean but could do with some attention to the small details. The staff were efficient and attentive even though the hotel was full and very busy. The hotel attract a lot of the family market so if you are the type to be annoyed by lots of children running around then maybe its not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Maria O,

I welcome your kind feedback which is incredibly encouraging and greatly appreciated. Your complimentary comments regarding our facilities and value provided to you by the team here at Ferrycarrig are delightful to read. I will convey your comment to the team here.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.
___________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the great photographs in its gallery on the webpage and because a friend recommended it. It was absolutely nothing like the photos. Rooms where tiny and bathrooms were disgusting. Extremely over priced too. And I've noticed all the negative reviews on trip advisor are met with the same reply from the manager "please contact us and were very sorry to hear ....etc". But will overly exaggerate any tiny positive made! You need to listen to people's reviews and actually do something about them! Never will I take my family here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your comments.

I was disappointed to read your recent Trip Advisor review. The hotel is rated by an annual Failte Ireland Inspection which all bedrooms & bathrooms have passed with the specific criteria set out by Failte Ireland for a four star hotel.

We do offer a variety of room types from Standard to Executive Suites which are all displayed on our website. The image gallery are current images and up to date.

We truly value guest reviews and are currently undertaking a renovation project. We are constantly working to improve the hotel. We take all of our Trip Advisor reviews very seriously, and do everything in our power to correct, change and improve the guest experience with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Regards,

Jeanette O’Keeffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

On a cold and wet December weekend, the Ferrycarrig hotel was ideal for that quiet and relaxing weekend break that we wanted before Christmas. From the bedroom with its view over the estuary, the great breakfast and food in the restaurant, a cosy bar with open fires and a decent leisure centre, it was difficult to find a reason to venture out into that rain. And you get the feel that both management and staff at the hotel want you to make the most of your stay - there is plenty of information provided on local attractions (of which there is many), a general friendliness from staff at breakfast and special attention for kids.
The hotel is very child friendly but not in a way that the hotel is so catered for kids that the hotel is unfriendly for adults. Instead the hotel provides facilities for kids and throughout the hotel politely reminds us adults to 'supervise' our kids which seems to have worked this weekend. The hotel also additional touches for those with young kids like a kids food storage and prep area and proper matresses in the cots, which isn't always the case in hotels.
We opted for a junior suite on this occasion but it seems that all rooms overlook the estuary and some have balconies, which would be good on a brighter weekend.
The hotel itself is about 3km outside Wexford Town and its a good base to explore the area including south into Waterford. We didn't get to try any restaurants in the area this time as we landed late on the first night and had a very good dinner in the hotel the second night.
The impression that I had on leaving the Ferrycarrig was better than I had expected from the website. Whilst I knew the hotel was well located on the edge of the Slaney river, I thought that the hotel from the outside looked like it was a typical 'outside town' that would not have much character. However, the hotel is very welcoming and personal and I will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear WhaleBay,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I am truly delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel very relaxing . We not only pride ourselves in making your stay a comfortable one but also offer you excellent food with friendly, efficient staff in a location with wonderful views of the Slaney Estuary.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jeanette O'Keeffe,
General Manager
____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just back from a two night stay at the Ferrycarrig, 2 adults and 2 children. Staff were very friendly. Room was lovely, warm and clean with a great view out onto the Slaney and huge Christmas tree. Leisure Centre was fabulous. Great Baby Prep room that has microwave, microwave steriliser, normal plug in steriliser, food/bottle heater, fridge and kettle, extremely handy facility that I've never encountered before. Public areas were nice and comfortable. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Only fault was service in bar for food was extremely slow, waited half an hour at 2.30pm for soup and sandwiches. Otherwise we had a fabulous stay and would definitely recommend a stay here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Clare F,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Ferrycarrig. We are truly delighted that you and your family enjoyed the relaxing surroundings of the hotel and that you found the staff friendly. I am also glad to see that you found the Baby Prep room facilities an added bonus throughout your stay. I have noted your comment in relation to the food service being extremely slow to which will be address with the bar service team at our next team briefing and for this I sincerely apologise.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.
Kind Regard,

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.


_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from a weekend break in Ferrycarrig.Two adults and two children.Could not find fault with anything.We had a wonderful stay.Beautiful comfortable clean room.Lovely food.Friendly staff all round.Leisure centre great.We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear AnnetteP2012,

I welcome your kind feedback which is incredibly encouraging and greatly appreciated. I am truly delighted that you and your family had a lovely break. Your complimentary comments regarding our facilities and value provided to you by the team here at Ferrycarrig Hotel are delightful to read. I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jeanette O’Keeffe,
General Manager.
___________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferrycarrig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrycarrig Hotel

Address: Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford > Ferrycarrig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferrycarrig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star Hotel located 4 kilometers outside Wexford Town on N11. 102 stylish & spacious bedrooms & suites - all with views of the river Slaney. Award winning waterfront Dry Dock Bar. Reeds at Ferrycarrig waterfront restaurant - 2 AA Rosette Award Winner, 5-star Active Health & Fitness club with 20m pool, Olympic standard gym, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. Supervised children's play programs, Baby Clubbers (0 - 4 yrs) and Crazy Clubbers (4 yrs - 12 yrs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ferrycarrig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wexford
Wexford Hotel Ferrycarrig
Ferrycarrig Hotel Wexford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrycarrig Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.