We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrycarrig Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ferrycarrig Hotel to your Saves list
Ferrycarrig Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Cannot praise this hotel enough. Went on a family trip that we had to cancell and then rebook ,the front office manager was brillant accomodating us. Gave us a room with a balcony as it was larger and one of our kids was unwell. The Kids really enjoyed all the activies laid on for them and we had a break while they were doing that.
They also loved Giggles the clown who entertained them for two evenings.

Food was very good at the hotel both breakfast and the three time we eat at the bar. Although it was very busy when we were there it was not a problem.

Overall would recommend the hotel we had a fantastic time and will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Golfer09,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review on our hotel and share your experience with others. I am delighted to read you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us and received excellent value while staying in our deluxe room with a balcony with stunning views of the Slaney Estuary which I am sure added to your overall experience along with the superb facilities on offer throughout the hotel. I have passed your comments on to the team who will be delighted that they were able to help make your break a "Fantastic "one. Giggles is an added bonus to which we find the children love being entertained by him. He brings great fun and laughter to all kids.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig in the near future

Kind Regards,

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    310
    131
    51
    31
See reviews for
317
367
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yass, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited many countries over 5 weeks and stayed no where better than FerryCarrig. From the ease of online booking with Georgina, to the friendly and helpful check in with Audrey and all the welcoming front desk staff, amazing buffet breakfast with delicious hot chocolate made by Kathleen and the superb liver entree in the ' pub' dining room we had an amazing stay. Our bedroom with large balcony looked out over the water and we saw magic weather changes at all times of the day. The facilities are spectacular and we swam every day in the pool from which there are also beautiful views. The pool/gym staff couldnt be more helpful and one day they had our foot problems assessed with free advice for exercises and even types of shoes... no hard sell in any way. This place is smiles all round and close to the amazing National Heritage park which is as absolute must to visit. We hate that living in Australia so far away that we can't holiday here every year. We were so sad when we had to leave and dream of returning one day.

Room Tip: Any room in this amazing place is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear 1stimetraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent visit to Ferrycarrig. We are truly delighted you enjoyed your stay. Your high praise encourages us to keep up the good work and are particularly fortunate to have such a great team. I will pass your comments onto the team whom will be only too thrilled with this excellent feedback.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The fanastic welcome on arrival should have told me how the weekend was going to go. Our interconnecting rooms both had fantastic views of the Slaney river. They were big and we had plenty of space in both rooms, space for the parents and space for the kids to relax and play. The dinner and service was excellent. They really looked after the kids needs and could not have done enough to make us feel at home. Janette the manager was fantastic and all the team always had a smile and we were always asked if we needed anything.. The kids loved the big pool and excellent facilities. My wife had a wonderful relaxing massage and enjoyed being de stressed !!A big thank you to Janette and the whole team !! The balloons on the bedroom door on departure was a great touch.
We will be back !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear JTQuinn,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review on our hotel and share your experience with others. I am truly delighted that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay . Your complimentary comments regarding the facilities, staff, service , and food provided to you by the team here at Ferrycarrig Hotel are fantastic to read. I am delighted to read that the children enjoyed our special touch "We' ll Miss you" Balloons on departure.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jeanette O’Keeffe

_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for the Wexford Opera festival - our first choice (Whites of Wexford) was sold out. However, the Ferrycarrig didn't disappoint. Though out of the town centre, the hotel bus ran a service to and from the opera, and taxis were plentiful and cheap (10 euros one-way). First impressions were good, friendly staff. Lovely spacious room with a balcony overlooking the Slaney estuary. Very clean. Comfy bed and adequate toiletries etc though the shower was a bit 'puny' but otherwise no complaints. Breakfast very good - we went at half-term but the staff considerately sat the childless couples in an adjacent room away from the mayhem. Superb views from the restaurant over the water - too cold to sit outside, but must be lovely in the summer. Evening pre-opera dinner had excellent menu - very good service and friendly restaurant staff. Public rooms nice - wi-fi hotspots are free. We managed to find one in our room, though other guests had some difficulty. Free parking.
We will return here for next year's opera rather than a hotel in the town centre - it's nice to be away from the bustle, and transport to and from is no problem.

Room Tip: Take your binoculars! Bird life on the estuary astounding. Ask for a river view (though I think all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Laticsdoc,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your most kind review regarding your recent stay at Ferrycarrig Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the Wexford Opera Festival. We not only pride ourselves in making your stay a comfortable one but also to offer you excellent service with friendly, efficient staff.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig for the 62nd Opera Festival.

Kind Regard,

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager
____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

At a wedding here,can't fault anything really,drink a little dear but otherwise perfect.food excellent quality and staff were very accommodating.nice fresh breakfast.surprised at having to pay room fees before we even got to see the room though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Oilman241066,

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & especially the Wedding celebration. Ferrycarrig is the ideal location for that special celebration, over looking the Slaney Estuary.

We pride ourselves in providing good customer service with excellent quality food. It gives us a great sense of achievement that we are providing an excellent Wedding Venue.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

On a positive note hotel staff could not be more helpful or more friendly
We were in a top grade room and decor tired , basic and definitely not 4*
Room musty and poor quality bedding had holes in it
Hotel has cooking smells in reception
food tries hard but ruins it by overcooking what might be good ingredients and inadequate portions again not a 4 star restaurant

Bar minimally and basically stocked eg no choice of Irish Whiskey , doesn't do tonic water,noisy and not relaxing
One basic lounge , no carpet with piped music for a very busy hotel that does not overlook the estuary

Room Tip: ask for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Haletravellers,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Ferrycarrig. We genuinely appreciated and respect your comments, as it is primarily through feedback that we can continue to exceed the expectation of our valuable customers. In relation to your comment on the bedroom, I am disappointed to read of the poor quality of the room and in particular quality of the bedding. Upon investigation of your comments, I cannot identify to which room you are referring . I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly to identify the bedroom you stayed in. Our Accommodation team take great pride in our property upkeep and attention to detail. I am dismayed to learn of your experience.

Our Dry Dock Bar, which over looks the estuary, with the benefit of an adult only carpeted area called the “Snug”, displays a selection of premium Irish Whiskey . I am surprised at your comment in relation to the same as we permanently stock the following : Jameson 12 year old, The Irishman 70, Clontarf Irish Whiskey , Powers Special Reserve 12 year old , Jameson Gold along with our regular whiskeys ,Jameson, Paddy, Powers and Crested 10. Adjacent to our dry dock bar is the Residents lounge, a seated area for guest to use at their disposal. This room is available to accommodate all our guests whether it is to read the paper or families meeting before going to dinner or alternatively for our late night drinks service.

Again, I would be delighted to hear from you directly so that we may gain a better understanding of the circumstances leading to your review. Please be assured that we are committed to providing the very best of customer service and care, it is with this focus on excellence, we retain a high level of repeat guest.

Kind Regards
Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a nice hotel, and could be truly great, but...
The hotel itself was quite nice, the room was nice enough. There was a very nice deck out to the river from our room that we could sit on & enjoy the lovely view. The service was a bit lacking. Our first breakfast, our tea/coffee didn't arrive until after we had been to the buffet twice. At dinner, two of our four meals came so late that the meals were finished before the rest arrived- took 55 minutes for the entrees to arrive. Dessert did not arrive for one of us, and we had to ask for it, because the waiter did not notice. We ate 5 meals at their different restaurants, and from observation, I'd say the problem is that they have too many servers working the same table. You order with one person, but someone else drops it off, and someone else takes away the plates... and so no one notices when only half your meal has arrived, because they have no idea what you ordered. The staff seemed a bit run off their feet at dinner, and they were back working the morning shift again, so maybe they are somewhat understaffed.

My biggest beef with this hotel was their somewhat schizophrenic attitude towards children. There is a sign at the pub restaurant that says something like "Parents: Help us to control your children." A sign in the hallway about noise, and a sign at the breakfast buffet that says that children are to remain seated at all times. My ten year old was really not interested in having us pick out her food, so we broke that rule. Children were not allowed in the pool after about 6pm, and not allowed in the hot tub at all. There was also a write up in the book in the hotel room about their policies on children. My kids are older now, so none of this was a problem (except for the pool restrictions) but I just felt on edge and unwelcome as the parent of children. I've been to a lot of very nice hotels, and no one wants crazy, out-of-control children at them, but I don't think I've ever see this sort of rude signage about it. But then, on the other hand, the hotel has a kid's club, and a climber outside- so they must want children there? It seemed incongruent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Reader12,

Thank you for taking the time to supply us with some feedback from your recent stay at Ferrycarrig Hotel. We genuinely appreciate and respect your comments, as it is primarily through feedback that we can continue to exceed the expectations of our valuable customers.

It is unfortunate that your recent stay at Ferrycarrig did not meet your expectations and for this I sincerely apologise. We pride ourselves on providing customers’ with excellent facilities, services and renowned dining. I have addressed the issues highlighted in your review with the restaurant please be assured that your experience was an exception, and not what our customers have come to expect from our hotel.
We are a family friendly hotel accommodating numerous children throughout the year. To help prevent unnecessary accidents we do ask parents to help us ensure their children do not run around the bar and restaurant. We appreciate not all children do this. With due care for both guests, and employees who may be carrying trays with hot food /drinks or glasses, our aim is to ensure the safety of all people be it children/adults and staff alike, incorporating health and safety best practice. The signage on the bedroom corridor reading “out of respect for other guests, we would ask to keep noise to a minimum on the corridor” is not aimed at children but is referring to all guests retiring to their rooms late at night.

Again, my sincere thanks for taking the time in reviewing Ferrycarrig and we look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.

Kind Regard,

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrycarrig
2.1 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
0.0 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
2.0 mi away
Whites of Wexford
Whites of Wexford
#5 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#3 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrycarrig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrycarrig Hotel

Address: Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford > Ferrycarrig
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferrycarrig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star Hotel located 4 kilometers outside Wexford Town on N11. 102 stylish & spacious bedrooms & suites - all with views of the river Slaney. Award winning waterfront Dry Dock Bar. Reeds at Ferrycarrig waterfront restaurant - 2 AA Rosette Award Winner, 5-star Active Health & Fitness club with 20m pool, Olympic standard gym, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. Supervised children's play programs, Baby Clubbers (0 - 4 yrs) and Crazy Clubbers (4 yrs - 12 yrs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Ferrycarrig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wexford
Wexford Hotel Ferrycarrig
Ferrycarrig Hotel Wexford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrycarrig Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.