We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrycarrig Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ferrycarrig Hotel to your Saves list
Ferrycarrig Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I attended my friend's wedding here and got a special offer of three nights for the price of two. Myself and my partner had a really lovely time. The food and atmosphere were excellent and the staff were very helpful throughout. I got my hair and make up done at the hotel on the morning of th wedding and both turned out great. It was great not to have to leave the hotel at all. I also made use of the pool, sauna and jacuzzi - a great way to ease the hangover! The gym facilities are also very impressive. I would recommend for both couples and families looking to get away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Elaine O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent visit to Ferrycarrig. We are truly delighted you enjoyed your stay. Your high praise encourages us to keep up the good work and are particularly fortunate to have such a great team.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    308
    131
    51
    31
See reviews for
316
366
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We visited the Dry Dock Bar for lunch whilst on holiday in Ireland and opted for the Kilmore Quay deep fried fish in crispy batter with chips and mushy peas. If they had described it on the menu the way it came to us I would have left and found somewhere else. It was tasteless luke-warm fish in a soggy batter, with mushy peas which looked like a thick pea soup slopped all over the plate with average chips. At 14 euros it was rubbish. I was also served a glass of water which had a crack all down the side of the glass and was dangerous. The fish and chips on the Stena ferry at £7.95 was far superior, in fact it was really very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Skibereencork,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Ferrycarrig. We genuinely appreciated and respect your comments, as it is primarily through feedback that we can continue to exceed the expectation of our valuable customers.

It is very disappointing that your dining experience was not up to our highest possible standard and for this I sincerely apologise. We all work extremely hard to ensure our guests expectations are not only reached but exceeded.

I would be delighted to hear from you directly so that we may gain a better understanding of the circumstances leading to your review. Please be assured that we are committed to providing the very best of customer service and care, it is with this focus on excellence that we retain a high level of repeat guest.

Kind Regard,

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked a deluxe room with balcony and river view which was lovely. Then the noise from other guests returning to their rooms after a wedding held at the hotel went on from after midnight til 6am resulting in us getting no sleep at all. When we reported this to the front desk in the morning they immediately responded apologising and moving us to a suite at the end of the corridor. I have to say that the service we received from then on was remarkable with the manager Janette personally apologising. I have to report that we had a great night's sleep the next day.

Room Tip: if you plan on staying here and you are not attending a wedding/party I suggest you ask for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear 5411trip,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in relation to your recent visit to Ferrycarrig Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the fantastic views and friendly service you received during your stay.

However, it is very disappointing that your experience with us was impacted by noise from other hotel guest. Despite the best effort of our night porter team, not all guests adhered to our “Quiet on the Corridor” policy that we try to implement to ensure the satisfaction of our guest and for this I sincerely apologise. I was delighted that the front office team were able to assist with a room move once we were made aware of the situation the next day and furthermore an enjoyable nights sleep was had.

Thank you once again and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had our wedding here at the start of the month and could not recommend them highly enough. We stayed the 3 nights (Friday to Monday) and had a brilliant time. The wedding went off with out a hitch. Very well executed and we felt the staff really went out of their way for us. The food for the wedding itself and when ordering in the bar was excellent. All our guests raved about the food and hotel in general. The decking area outside was taken full advantage of with the fab weather we got. All aspects of the hotel were used. Great play room for the kids to muck about in.

Would recommend this hotel for both a wedding and a break away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to make the most of the stunning views over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Michelle M

Thank you for your very kind review and sharing it with others. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & especially the Wedding celebration. We always try to make these occasions special. Ferrycarrig is the ideal location for that special celebration, over looking the Slaney Estuary, offering excellent food. We pride ourselves in providing good customer service & delighted to see that the staff went out of their way for you on this special occassion. It gives us a great sense of achievement that we are providing an excellent Wedding Venue.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig on that first anniversary.

Kind regards,
Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed two nights at Ferrycarrig as stopovers before and after our family holiday in south England. Location was close to rosslare for the ferry crossing but was also a beautiful setting and the hotel is a destination in its own right.

Travelling with a young baby and toddler is never easy but the facilities and service from the friendly staff made it an easy and relaxing stay. The pool, breakfast, baby room and the 'can do' attitude of the staff were the highlights. The small touch of 'we'll miss you' balloons was also a real hit with my two year old son... :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear


Dear GoldilocksBelfast,

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete your most kind review regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We not only pride ourselves in making your stay a comfortable one but also to offer you excellent service with friendly, efficient staff with knowledge of our product and Local attractions.

Your complimentary comments regarding the "can do attitude" of the staff, service and value provided to you by the team here at Ferrycarrig Hotel are fantastic to read.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My sister and I recently booked into the Ferrycarrig Hotel, Wexford for a 3-night package including bed and breakfast and 3 dinners. Our experience of the hotel was awful, which we raised with the general manager on our second day (there were a few positive aspects which we also shared e.g. the friendliness of staff such as Tracey on reception and the cleanliness of the bedrooms.) Suffice to say, there is too much constructive/negative feedback to go into in detail in this review, but we will be including such detail when we contact the Hotel proprietor(s) and the Irish Hotel Federation who award stars to hotels, in the new future.
There were huge issues with ongoing noise disturbance (e.g. machine operation outside our window from 10am-7pm daily, with loud ongoing beeping noises like those heard when large trucks are reversing), dirty glasses and cutlery, food of a very poor quality (most courses reluctantly half eaten), minimum vegetarian options, ‘fruit flies’ in the dining room (which went into our bottle of wine after 1 glass; other customers could be seen trying to kill them with their napkins) and other issues. Had we mustered the energy, we would have left the hotel midway through our stay. We didn’t, but we did avoid eating in-house thereafter by buying supplies in the local petrol station (Having slept for only an average of 3 hours on 2 of the 3 nights, (due to hotel issues-e.g. noise disturbance from a wedding which we were guaranteed pre-booking would not affect our room, we were not in a position to travel the 4km into Wexford town to eat out).
After spending twenty minutes on the second day hearing our grievances (which she apparently accepted), the general manager sent a ‘gesture’ of a bottle of sparkling wine that retails for a cost of approx €9 to our room. One of the accompanying glasses was very dirty. This insulting ‘gesture’ and ongoing lack of utensil cleanliness was the final insult to injury.
She also offered us a stay in their sister 5 star hotel in Enniscorthy, The Monart, which would have cost us €350 B&B only for an approx 18 hour stay (exclusive of treatments and without access to the dining room). We were also offered to change room for our last night, but as we had had no night time issue with this room 415 on the previous night, we declined. The issue on our first night in room 222 was heat of unbearable proportions (with no heat on) which kept us awake nearly all night. Note, this hotel does not have any air conditioning and it was a cool night outdoors. On our departure we declined any return to the Ferrycarrig Hotel under any circumstances due to the disgraceful standards of the hotel. A gesture reduction was offered on our final bill, which we did not seek, as no compensation of any sort could rectify the woeful experience we had endured there. Similarly, based on our experience, we could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear IntrepidTraveller72,

Thank you for taking the time to supply us with some feedback from your recent stay. We genuinely appreciate and respect your comments, as it is primarily through feedback that we can continue to exceed the expectations of our valuable customers. Your kind comments regarding our friendly staff and in particular Tracy has been passed on.

It is very disappointing that your experience with us was impacted by noise from other residents. Despite the best effort of our night portage team, not all guests adhered to our “Quiet on the Corridor” policy that we try to implement to ensure the satisfaction of our guests and for this I sincerely apologise.
In addition during your stay we had urgent essential maintenance being carried out, which we informed all guests by way of letter in the rooms. It is with regret that this had a negative impact throughout your stay and I can appreciate your frustration. May I take this opportunity to apologise to you for any inconvenience or upset caused and I assure you that this is not the normal standard here. I have spoken at length to the team with reference to all your comments and although it may be of little comfort to you now, please be as assured that your experience was an exception, and not what our customers have come to expect from our hotel.

We value genuine feedback from Trip Advisor reviews as they help us continue to fulfil our commitment to uncompromising quality and attention to detail in both our service and product delivery and to this end we reiterate our gratitude to you for sharing your opinions with us at this time. I would welcome the opportunity to show you what the true experience of Ferrycarrig is all about. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience.



Kind Regards

Jeanette O 'Keeffe
____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Booked the Ferrycarrig based on the positive reviews. Decided to pay extra to upgrade to a junior suite for the 2 night stay as seen a review saying some of the standard room were a bit dated. On entering the 'junior suite' we were greeted by a sparsely furnished large room, with some old tables sprayed silver to give a antique look. Hmmmmmmm. The double bed, was two singles bolted together, with two matresses. Also the large windows and doors had not been cleaned and were very dirty. Only half of TV channels were working and this was not fixed despite asking on both days. Ok all things we could get over.

However the bathroom was a joke, for any type of suite. Small, awful awful shower curtain, standard old style bath with shabby taps. Also the bathroom was sold as having a jacuzzi bath. Sounded like a 747 trying to take off. Management need to update these rooms to consider them any type of suite. (see pictures)

The positives for the hotel were the good standard food in evenings and fantastic views of the Slaney estuary. Staff were friendly. Pool was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a one of the new rooms....if there are any! Do not spend more for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear CmmT1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in relation to your recent visit to Ferrycarrig Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the fantastic views,the friendly service and good quality food you’re received during your stay.

We are however genuinely disappointed to read your comments regarding our Bedroom , in light of which, we have discussed the issues you raised with the team.

I would be delighted to hear from you directly so that we may gain a better understanding of the circumstances leading to your review. Please be assured that we are committed to providing the very best of customer service and care, it is with this focus on excellence that we retain a high level of repeat guest.


Kind Regards,
Jeanette O’Keeffe,
General Manager
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrycarrig
2.1 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
0.0 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
2.0 mi away
Whites of Wexford
Whites of Wexford
#5 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#3 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrycarrig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrycarrig Hotel

Address: Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford > Ferrycarrig
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferrycarrig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star Hotel located 4 kilometers outside Wexford Town on N11. 102 stylish & spacious bedrooms & suites - all with views of the river Slaney. Award winning waterfront Dry Dock Bar. Reeds at Ferrycarrig waterfront restaurant - 2 AA Rosette Award Winner, 5-star Active Health & Fitness club with 20m pool, Olympic standard gym, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. Supervised children's play programs, Baby Clubbers (0 - 4 yrs) and Crazy Clubbers (4 yrs - 12 yrs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Ferrycarrig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wexford
Wexford Hotel Ferrycarrig
Ferrycarrig Hotel Wexford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrycarrig Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.