We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chena Hot Springs Resort

Chena Hot Springs Resort
56.5 Mile Chena Hot Springs Rd., Pleasant Valley, AK
(907) 451-8104
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Wellness & Spas
Attraction details
Hua Hin, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“An interesting stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We enjoyed the hot springs! The large pool was an experience to remember and our meal in the restaurant was very good. The general arrangement/ architecture of the site is "home-made" and varies between random and ugly. Maybe its the winter and snow, but I would recommend a rebuild with more of an eye toward beauty and convenience.Small locker rooms, no place to hang towels near the pool etc etc. Hot springs attendants were ( on our visit) totally bored and focused mainly on griping with each other. Least friendly staff we encountered on our entire month long US trip. Fire them and get someone with a "service mind"

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    62
    40
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place lotsa activities!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went here with our 15 and 9 years old boys. We had an RV so stayed in their RV Park. The facility is very nice. The hot springs pool area was nice and clean and very family friendly. The kids are not allowed in the outdoor pool so they had to stay in the indoor pool and hot tubs which were good enough for them. They have towel service for extra $5 and can loan you swimming trunks if needed but I would recommend bringing your own trunks and towel if possible. They have many activities there like bike rentals, horse rides, ATVs and flight seeing tours. There was a flood on the road that day so no activity was available to us except the bikes. The pilot couldn't come, the horse and ATV trail was washed away but we still had fun. Our younger was also intrigued by their reindeers. You can also see wildlife here if you are lucky, we saw a moose.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hot Springs Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We did not stay at the resort. We just drove out for the ice museum and hot springs. The indoor pool and hot tubs and pool were nice. That is where our kids had to stay since they were not old enough to go in the outside pool. The outside pool was beautiful and relaxing. Don't forget your towel or they will be happy to rent you one!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go in the winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My fiancée is from Fairbanks and when he took me home to meet his family last summer, we took the opportunity to drive out to Chena. It was beautiful, and there was so much to do. We didn't stay at the hotel, and we primarily drove out because I wanted to see the ice museum. They loan you a parka so you don't freeze your butt off, and the ice sculptures are amazing. You can pay to attempt to stay the night in the ice museum/hotel, but they'll save a room for you indoors in case you can't make it. You're allowed to take pictures, go in the different rooms, and pretty much spend as much time as you want ogling the works of art. At the end, you can have an appletini from the ice bar in a glass made of...you guessed it: ICE. Definitely a cool experience, but the apple puckers/vodka combo was a little much for me. We didn't end up having enough time to take advantage of the others activities, but I will definitely come back. I'm dying to go in the much feared Fairbanks winter. Hanging out in a natural hot tub, wearing a bathing suit, while it's 30 below? With the Northern Lights a-blazin?? Yes, please!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun attractions for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This review is based on the attractions at Chena Hot Springs only, as we did not stay at the hotel. We also came in June, so we can't comment on the winter activities.
The outdoor hot springs itself is very nice, but if you have children under the age of 18, be prepared to know that they are not allowed in the hot springs. There is an indoor swimming pool where the children can be, but I think it was very pricey to take kids to an indoor swimming pool. If you don't have children, then the price is worthwhile for both the pool and hot springs. By the way, there is no indoor hot springs--it truly is just a swimming pool. There are a couple of tours that we did. This included the icehouse and the tour of the grounds. The icehouse had a small fee and was fantastic! Well worth paying to see incredible ice sculptures as well as the artists at work. There is an optional martini tasting at the end of the ice house tour, where you have martinis in a martini glass made from ice at an ice bar. Fun for adults if you like martinis. The grounds tour covered the history of Chena hot springs as well as the behind the scenes view of how the hot springs facility works, including their greenhouse. This was free and very informative. There is also bicycling and trail horses to ride (we didn't do those). I've been told that Chena is a fantastic place to view the aurora borealis because it is far from city lights. Most of the staff said February & March are best times to see it, as there is less chance of cloud cover. Restaurant was decent, nothing fancy and not overpriced.
Would I come back? For the ice house and to try out the other tours, yes. For the hot springs, no, as we have kids and think that the price to get in was very expensive. We are willing to return in the winter for the winter activities and see how those are. Hope this review helps some of you...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chena Hot Springs Resort also viewed

 

Been to Chena Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chena Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.