We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chena Hot Springs Resort, a trip not worth taking” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chena Hot Springs Resort

Chena Hot Springs Resort
56.5 Mile Chena Hot Springs Rd., Pleasant Valley, AK
(907) 451-8104
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Wellness & Spas
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chena Hot Springs Resort, a trip not worth taking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I booked a three night stay at the Chena "resort" in hopes of seeing the northern lights. The rooms are exceedingly overpriced, small, hot as an oven with no temperature control, no fridge, no microwave, no closet, no phone, and of course, no free breakfast. The hot springs were nice, which is why we gave it a rating higher than zero. The only food within an hour's drive is at the resort and is overpriced, and their activities, such as riding in a dogsled was higher than we have seen anywhere in Alaska or the Yukon. We would have loved to take the dogsled ride, but at $75 per person for a short ride, it was priced way too high, which is probably why we didn't see anybody else taking rides either. If they would lower the price, more people would do it and the dogs, which love to pull the sleds, would get more of the exercise sled dogs need.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    63
    40
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Rustic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at Chena Hot Springs resort hoping to see the northern lights. We were there for 2 nights but unfortunately no sighting. The resort was very rustic and does need a little updating though. We stayed in the moose lodge section and our room was very nice. It is worth the extra few dollars stay there. The restaurant was very convenient but all of the beverages tasted like sulphur. The staff at the hotel was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Took a group of teens that had never been there. All seven were told that they were too young to be in the rock lake. This was unfortunate as we had driven the 60 some miles from Fairbanks to be told they had to stay in the hot tub or pool. The adults enjoyed the rock lake. It was nice that they had a covered hallway out to the water instead of the cold walk on ice melt that I had experienced the last time I was there. The expanded locker rooms were nice too although they were poorly marked from the outside. There was a woman that had mistakenly walked into the men's locker room and I wasn't sure which door to go in myself!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Take a nice hot dip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

While in Alaska we stopped to relax in the hot springs. The water was really hot! Hotter than most hot tubs ever get which required us to get out every few minutes to cool off. I'm told its usually not that hot but this day it was. It still didn't stop us from enjoying it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Chena Hot Springs Resort and More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

While in Alaska, we found a great package deal which included a visit to Chena Hot Springs, The Aurora Ice Museum and the opportunity to catch the Aurora Lights. Package was through First Alaska Outdoor School Tour company (see my separate review for First Alaska Outdoor School). Upon arrival at the resort, we purchase tickets for the Ice Museum tour. After the tour, we had dinner at the restaurant which is conveniently located on the property. Our main goal to Alaska was to try and catch the norther lights (Aurora Borealis). The skies were very clear on this day so we were hopeful. After dinner, we took a dip in the hot springs. Be sure to take your own towel, otherwise be prepared to rent one for $5.00. It was probably in the 30's so while the thought of getting into an outdoor spring may not sound like fun, it was. The spring water is HOT and even though it's cold out, the combination of the cold weather and hot springs is very tolerable. After spending time in the springs, we made out way up the hill to try and catch the lights. Unfortunately, the clouds moved in very quickly and the clear skies were gone. The area at the resort up on the hill is set up nicely and the lodge for those who'd rather watch for lights from indoors is kept warm and comfortable. If you take a camera, be sure and take a tripod as well. Hopefully you'll catch lights if you visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chena Hot Springs Resort also viewed

 

Been to Chena Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chena Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.