We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Great Food !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Viva Mexico Tia Lupita

Restaurante Viva Mexico Tia Lupita
Porfiro Diaz #92, San Juan Cosala 45900, Mexico (Formerly Restaurante Viva Mexico Tia Lupita)
01 38 776 11058
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Port Alberni, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great food and great prices !!!
I have friends that have been eating here for the last 7 years .
It is always good . They also make the best margaritas.
I would highly recommend Viva Mexico .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menasha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The restaurant is a bit off the beaten path ... but worth the trip. Food was very good, portions were fine and pricing reasonable!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The only bad thing was, I could only eat one dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went to Viva Mexico in a large group (9 people) so I got to try several things. I had the chiles en nogado, which were scrumptious (stuffed with nuts, among other things), but I also loved my husband's molcajete with beef and red sauce (sort of a cross between stew and soup, served literally bubbling hot in a stone bowl). My brother had the same dish with chicken and salsa verde. Hard to choose between the two! The guacamole is yummy, and they make the salsa to order, grinding the peppers in a mortar and pestle right at your table.

Can't lose here. It looks small from the outside, but it's actually roomy and very nice inside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This spot serves a clientele of loyal regulars, but welcomes everyone warmly. The chile en nogada is the specialty and recommended – as are the margaritas. It's well worth a trip to San Juan Cosala for lunch a Viva Mexico

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Outstanding Mexican food with a flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great service, reasonably priced, a "feel good atmosphere". The owner also gives a lot back to the underprivileged in his community, so a restauranteur to support. The food is wonderful. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone. It is quite out of the way for us, but we make an effort to go there anyway.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Viva Mexico Tia Lupita also viewed

San Juan Cosala, Jalisco
San Juan Cosala, Jalisco
 
San Juan Cosala, Jalisco
 

Been to Restaurante Viva Mexico Tia Lupita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Viva Mexico Tia Lupita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.