We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, good rooms, poor food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cortijo Salinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cortijo Salinas to your Saves list
Cortijo Salinas
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Carretera Ronda-Zahara A-2300 Km 19.5, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Ronda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Superb location, good rooms, poor food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The strong point is the location. About 10 minutes by car from Zahara with superb view of lake village.

The place by itself is a bit mixed. The common areas (bar, restaurant) are quite rustic and seem a bit old. However the room (#23) was a very positive surprise. Good furniture and good bathroom (shower only). The terrace had a nice view over the lake.

Restaurant has same nice view over the lake. However food was very disappointing. I would recommend to have dinner somewhere else and maybe enjoy a bottle of wine on the terrace of your room after dinner.

The place is a bit missing a garden area to chill out. It looks better on the pictures, but it's not a resort type country resort where you would like to spend a day without leaving the place.
Our children were disappointed about the fact that the playground was not useable. The small pool is ok.

The pictures are a bit misleading as those show mainly the nice vistas but hide the face that it is actually a newly build hotel block.

In summary. Great location, superb views, good rooms - rest rather disappointing.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    29
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
65
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Nice place, friendly great wifi food pretty good. There was a nice common room which was nice to hang out in, also we were on a bike trip so found the large comfortable room very inviting after a long day of biking.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Each year 6 of us have a couple of nights away in different places. This year, however, we were a little disappointed. The hotel, position and area are all excellent however the problem was we booked an all inclusive deal of dinner bed and breakfast for a certain price - big mistake. After looking at the menu and choosing we were told this was not the menu on offer. The inclusive menu was very limited and no one fancied anything on it. So back we went to the main menu and duly ordered the food. There was only one member of staff on, a young girl who was very pleasant, ordering, serving, clearing away, serving drinks, reception etc so it was ages before the food was delivered. Not very good when it came., one of the worst meals we have ever eaten. Buffet breakfast next day was better but no visible member of staff anywhere? How can the hotel gain a 4* with service like this. A little more effort with extra staff and better food and this place could be outstanding.

Room Tip: Choose one with a terrace with beautiful view overlooking Zahara
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

I enjoyed so much this hotel that we decided to stay two nights instead of one (and only two nights because we had to come back to our country). Wonderful place, wonderful landscape (from our terrace), a very friendly staff, a very good breakfast, a very good diner. I decided to come back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: With a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Yes, a great location. Good welcome with lovely staff - except being taken to our rooms - where we just got a 'point'

Large room great terrace = good bathroom although the heating did not extend to the bathroom. However we found the food to be dreadful - sorry - we are not that fussy but cold fish uncooked pizza, greasy soup - even the water for the tea - lukewarm -not good. Too many clients and not enough staff maybe?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we meandered through the Peublo Blancos by car. We initially had trouble finding the place until we thought it might be off the Zahara road, which it was but there were no signs on the main road to guide us in. The hotel is styled like an estancia (ranch). The room was very nice with a great view out over the lower reaches of the Parque naturale. We had trouble getting the curiosity programmed TV working, but eventually sorted that out. The room is sizeable with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom was neat and everything worked well. The estancia theme carried through into the decor in the room. Wifi worked well. The hotel is remote and only really an option if you have a car. There is a small town (Montecorto) nearby but you cannot really walk there. So you are constrained to eating at the hotel which we found to be tasty and well cooked. If you after a more atmospheric location to stay in near here, then Grazeluma or Zahara up in the mountains are better bets. The road from Grazeluma to Zahara is a cracker - hold onto your hat!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudiksvall, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A hit again based on tripadvisor reviews. If you are looking for a rural place with peace and quiet this could very well be the place. Spacious rooms with a huge balcony with a view of the dam/lake in the distance. The dinner at the hotel was good and the breakfast suits the basic needs. The setting is lovely, reminds of a farmhouse.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cortijo Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Salinas

Address: Carretera Ronda-Zahara A-2300 Km 19.5, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortijo Salinas 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Hotel Spa Cortijo Salinas is located in a privileged location in the heart of the Natural park “Sierra de Grazalema”. Hotel Cortijo Salinas perfectly combines the traditional Spanish style with modern comfort. An idyllic place surrounded by beautiful nature and quietness that invites you to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cortijo Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortijo Salinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.