We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sierra Hidalga

Hotel Sierra Hidalga
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sierra Hidalga to your Saves list
Hotel Sierra Hidalga
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra San Pedro A 397 Km 2, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Ronda
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A hotel nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

What you see is not what you get with this hotel. The photos have been taken with a very vivid imagination. The room was ok but the teras outside had high walls with no view and there was a reason fo that. This hotel is situated on a main road that goes round Ronda.Truck, cars nd busses the whole day pass this hotel. The pool is only accesable via the parking lot , through a truckers cafe , through a dining room and the the pool. There were thing floating in the pool that looked almost alien. The web photos show a large pool area and comfortable seats round the pool, IT IS NOT TRUE. Small dirty pool allso on the main road. We stayed approx 2 hours in tis hotel before we moved on to a better hotel. My advice is do not book this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gemsaloola
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a good value hotel just outside Ronda, it isn't in walking distance so you really need a car if you're staying here, the views from the front of the hotel aren't particularly scenic but I would think that most travellers will only be using the hotel as a base to explore the surrounding areas.

The rooms are clean and cleaned daily, the bathroom is good - overall its a good basic place to stay.

We only really met one member of the hotel staff, a really nice lady, who was young-ish with light brown hair, very helpful and pleasant, she didn't speak much English but that was a problem.

The hotel has an onsite restaurant which is really well attended by locals, and when I say really well, it's packed for breakfast and then early evening. We ate there twice, the first time it was quite busy and we ordered the paella as a main and Spanish omelette to start - no complaints, it was really nice. The lady from the front desk was on duty and really looked after us.

A few nights later we went back to the restaurant really looking forward to our meal as we had such a good experience a few nights ago. The room wasn't as busy, there was a few locals at the bar, we asked if it was ok to order food and the waiter said yes and fetched us some drinks and a menu. I ordered soup - I could just see into the kitchen from where I was sitting and saw it being warmed up in the microwave and heard it ping - there's nothing wrong with that and the soup was ok, my boyfriend order the Spanish omelette again and said it was unbelievably salty. We thought nothing more of it although we saw 'chef' come out of the kitchen and smiled at him, he gave us a forced smile and we saw him pull a face after! The mains came, I ordered the 'cod fillet' it was a piece of cod, smothered in sauce with a fried egg, no problem! I tasted the sauce and it was unbelievably salty, the fish was disgusting, soggy and absolutely stank, I've had better fillets from a freezer bag from Iceland and I mean that! I have NEVER had to leave a full plate of food before and I've eaten in some dodgy places on my travels - I don't think I've ever even left half due to it being inedible!

I complained in the nicest possible way and tried to explain why I couldn't eat it. We then become the main talking point (in Spanish) at the bar and had more horrid looks from the chef. We were charged full price - 20 euros for the cod, we felt so uncomfortable as the entire bar was watching I paid and left - not to return.

I'm not a moaner usually and I was so upset by the whole thing that I didn't want to go in again, so we didn't. We've put it down to the fact that the restaurant was empty and the chef couldn't be bothered. I have to say that I really do think the people that use the bar and restaurant and the staff prefer Spanish guests, it appears to be a very local place for local people and I think it may be hit and miss depending on the day/mood of the chef and who is on duty.

There's plenty of friendly places to eat in Ronda!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view request to stay at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemsaloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here on our self organised fly-drive tour of Andalucia. We had a hire car to drive between cities and booked hotels with free parking out of the city centre, where we could leave the car and go in using public transport.

For Ronda, we had to take the car in as there doesn't seem to be public transport. But it wasn't a problem as the hotel is just outside the town and we found somewhere to park in a side street of the old town. Doing this meant that we had a long and thoroughly enjoyable walk to the main area and the bridge - Ronda is enchanting.

The hotel is very clean and (I should imagine) fairly recently refurbished. Free wi-fi is fast, rooms are very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast is from 9am which we thought was a bit late, but the staff offered to prepare something earlier for us if we preferred.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cornerstone13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is a 5-10 min drive from the centre of Ronda, so a car is essential. If driving up from the south the hotel is very easy to find, its right on the roadside and the sign is big enough to be spotted. The staff were very friendly and helpful and when I called up to say that we would arrive late, it was not a problem. The staff were very forgiving of our lack of Spanish and were really accommodating. We were given a big room with a view of the hills from the balcony and enjoyed the nice star-filled sky at night. The building site across the road didn't really affect us because during the day we were sightseeing in Ronda. Breakfast (5 Euro) of toast and local meat spreads was very good. Parking in front of the hotel and WiFi (in room) were free.

I would certainly consider going back, the staff were excellent and (provided you have a car) its nice to be out in the countryside.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BritinHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Lovely hotel, though a little way out it is only a 5 min drive into town and parking is pretty easy. The staff at this family owned hotel were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NL1-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Usually I try to board room in town but the places in Ronda were either booked out or too expensive. So we stayed about 2 km outside town. The hotel is new, the room a bit smaller than you normal hotel rooms. The bath impeccable and the breakfast that we bought seperately was regional and delicous. Many locals gathered here in the morning which I thought was a good sign.
Going downtown is no problem by car. We found a spot to park without problems, then we walked around and had great tapas on the market square.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BerlinVielflieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

The hotel was very hard to find, and no English-speaking staff at the hotel made it very difficult to find and make ourselves understood, even though we actually speak some Spanish. There was heavy construction work nearby, making a visit to the pool impossible with all the noise.
At breakfast, we asked if they had some cheese and not only marmelade, and we got some kind of local cheese served. By check-out we ended up having to pay €13 (!!!!) for 5 slices of cheese, which we thought was included. Response from receptionist: "you should have asked for the price. I always ask for prices, even for coffee". Well, when you have breakfast included maybe someone should let ut us know that this included only toast with butter and jam???
The hotel is located outside of Ronda, and it is not within walking distance. The pool was also very dirty, and had probably not been cleaned since last year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ottis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ronda hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Cayetano
Hotel San Cayetano
#17 of 37 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
3.8 mi away
Don Benito Hotel
Don Benito Hotel
#22 of 37 in Ronda
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#16 of 37 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Molino del Arco
Hotel Molino del Arco
#11 of 37 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#33 of 37 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra Hidalga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Hidalga

Address: Ctra San Pedro A 397 Km 2, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sierra Hidalga 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nailed in a situation favoured with fantastic conference to the saw, and to less than 2 km from the downtown of Ronda and 45 km from the Costa del Sol, it is an ideal place to enjoy the cultural and gastronomic offer besides the historical - artistic patrimony of the city, being able to combine it with activities in your natural environment as the Saw of the Snow (reservation of the biosphere). His decoration of modern and current style offers a select and hospitable environment. In our restaurant they will be able to taste the plates of our cook Antonio Castro Aguilar besides an exquisite wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sierra Hidalga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hidalga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing