We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Pleasant Surprise"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Virgen del Rocio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Virgen del Rocio to your Saves list
Hostal Virgen del Rocio
C/ Nueva 18, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Ronda B&B and Inns
WNC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“"A Pleasant Surprise"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

A relaxed "down-home" atmosphere, hospitable proprietor, ideal location, impeccable cleanliness, modest cost, good food.........only some of the pleasant surprises realized after stumbling upon this refuge on the rocks. The label "Hostal" (for many of us uninitiated) belies it's offerings......It really is more like a classic family-run "Pension".
Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    10
    9
    2
See reviews for
14
44
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Had just one night in Ronda, but were in luck to stay here. Very good value for money. Had wifi, tv, bathroom in the small room. And ac of course.
The room was simple but nice, and we enjoyed the comfort, nice staff and wonderful location

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Very friendly hostal staff ... very clean & comfortable... great location ... nice discount on parking garage ... huge breakfast. Highly recommend if you actually get out and explore. If you want to spend your holiday staying in a hotel room, it may seem small, but it's Ronda for heaven's sake ! Get out and discover this great little town !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great little room - clean, quiet with lots of hot water. Good restaurant with attentive hosts. The location was great for walking out and touring Ronda on foot. Their are hidden costs if you bring a car along - underground carparking was nearby but cost an extra 14Euro for 24hrs. Don't bring a big car either!

Room Tip: double room upstaris at back was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This place was lovely what we paid we could not believe what we got. The hotel is in a great location we could not believe how good the location was right in the centre. The people who own it are very nice and friendly and its defo worth a visit we stayed half board and what we got for our money was fantastic.
A lovely clean big room with a big bathroom and a very good nights sleep was had.
The food was lovely we had a 3 course meal which was very nice and included in the price which was so cheap. We had a starter of a mixed salad and spanish sausage,tripe and chickpea soup and for the main course my partner had eggs, black pudding and chirozo with pork which was huge and came with salad and chips and i had pork in green pepper sauce with potatoes and salad and for pudding it was rice pudding you could choose from different things on the menu but it was a different menu to the main restaurant but lots to choose from and very tasty. We had a lovely breakfast the next day which was continental but more than enough for the price we paid half board this place was a bargain and we very shocked at our nice it was and the great value it was would recommend this place to everyone i know xx well done virgin del rocia you have a gem we could not of chosen a better place

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Hotel includes dinner and breakfast which is excellent. Restaurant is just right next to the hotel. Breakfast and dinner were being served there. Food was so good and delicious. Service was also excellent. I doubt that dinner and breakfast worth more than the room rate. It was a 4-course dinner and we enjoyed the meal so so much! We needed to catch the train early in the morning on the next day, the man who served us even prepared the breakfast earlier than usual specially for us. Location of the hotel is just perfect and in the corner of the main street of the town. Few mins walking to the famous bridge. Ronda is a small town but we all love it. We would highly recommend this hostal to others since it is really well worth for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were pleased we stayed at this hostel. It has a great location only a few minutes walk from the famous bridge and as the city is only small so great place to base yourself. Had a good size double room with ensuite, TV (only Spanish) and wi-fi. However the bed did dip a bit in the middle but heating was good. We paid 35 Euros for the night including breakfast it was basic, cereals, juice, toast and fruit but good for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Virgen del Rocio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Virgen del Rocio

Address: C/ Nueva 18, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Virgen del Rocio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Virgen del Rocio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.