We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot but tight fit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Virgen del Rocio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Virgen del Rocio to your Saves list
Hostal Virgen del Rocio
C/ Nueva 18, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 Ronda B&B and Inns
Canberra
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Great spot but tight fit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great little room - clean, quiet with lots of hot water. Good restaurant with attentive hosts. The location was great for walking out and touring Ronda on foot. Their are hidden costs if you bring a car along - underground carparking was nearby but cost an extra 14Euro for 24hrs. Don't bring a big car either!

Room Tip: double room upstaris at back was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    44
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
14
45
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This place was lovely what we paid we could not believe what we got. The hotel is in a great location we could not believe how good the location was right in the centre. The people who own it are very nice and friendly and its defo worth a visit we stayed half board and what we got for our money was fantastic.
A lovely clean big room with a big bathroom and a very good nights sleep was had.
The food was lovely we had a 3 course meal which was very nice and included in the price which was so cheap. We had a starter of a mixed salad and spanish sausage,tripe and chickpea soup and for the main course my partner had eggs, black pudding and chirozo with pork which was huge and came with salad and chips and i had pork in green pepper sauce with potatoes and salad and for pudding it was rice pudding you could choose from different things on the menu but it was a different menu to the main restaurant but lots to choose from and very tasty. We had a lovely breakfast the next day which was continental but more than enough for the price we paid half board this place was a bargain and we very shocked at our nice it was and the great value it was would recommend this place to everyone i know xx well done virgin del rocia you have a gem we could not of chosen a better place

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Hotel includes dinner and breakfast which is excellent. Restaurant is just right next to the hotel. Breakfast and dinner were being served there. Food was so good and delicious. Service was also excellent. I doubt that dinner and breakfast worth more than the room rate. It was a 4-course dinner and we enjoyed the meal so so much! We needed to catch the train early in the morning on the next day, the man who served us even prepared the breakfast earlier than usual specially for us. Location of the hotel is just perfect and in the corner of the main street of the town. Few mins walking to the famous bridge. Ronda is a small town but we all love it. We would highly recommend this hostal to others since it is really well worth for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were pleased we stayed at this hostel. It has a great location only a few minutes walk from the famous bridge and as the city is only small so great place to base yourself. Had a good size double room with ensuite, TV (only Spanish) and wi-fi. However the bed did dip a bit in the middle but heating was good. We paid 35 Euros for the night including breakfast it was basic, cereals, juice, toast and fruit but good for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I have just returned from a five day trip to Ronda. My friend and I stayed at, Hostal Virgen del Rocio and we feel we could not have chosen better.

It is situated right in the centre, two minutes from La Puente de Nuevo, which is the most amazing and spiritual place to be.

The Hostal is spotlessly clean, the family who run it are friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant is fantastic!

If you want a traditionally Spanish place to stay, in a safe environment, with great people and good food, then this is the place for you.

Thank you Barco and Jaime for making our holiday so special!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

we chose this place merely because it was the cheapest we could find, but were so surprised at how nice it was. The location is amazing, right in the centre of town. The rooms were basic, but that was all we were looking for, and were very clean. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was really good especially considering the price we paid for the room!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Excellent location, friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast is only some cereals and jam and toast with tea or coffee. Rooms are clean, but some maintenance would be needed in the room. The room has an A/C, but if you prefer sleep with open window, you will get the noise of other room's A/C. You get 10% off in the restaurant, where the food is nice. There is a garage nearby for around 15€ per day, but keep looking for a place on the streets for a while, it is free...
Perfect value for the money!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Virgen del Rocio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Virgen del Rocio

Address: C/ Nueva 18, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Virgen del Rocio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Virgen del Rocio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.