We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jardin de la Muralla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jardin de la Muralla to your Saves list
Hotel Jardin de la Muralla
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle Espiritu Santo 13, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Ronda B&B and Inns
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We called to say we were running late, but please hold our reservation. We arrived around 6:30 pm and only one room was available. The room was on the first floor. The room had a dank, musty smell; the window was off it's track and could not be closed; there was dead bee on the dresser which told me the open window could be a problem. From what we could see of the hotel, it was hard to imagine how it looked so good in the photos. Perhaps the upstairs rooms and garden were as nice as advertised, but we didn't stay to find out.

Room Tip: Look at your room before agreeing to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    10
    3
    9
See reviews for
13
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We (57 y.o. married couple) did not stay at this hotel, but rather stumbled upon it during a walk down to the Barrio San Francesco district during our first morning in Ronda in mid-June 2014. The hotel and its garden is in the quiet downhill end of the old town, just inside the old wall and its gate and about a10 minute walk from the gorge and Puente Nueve. Charmed by the scene, we decided to return to the Jardin de la Muralla for breakfast the following day, and we are glad we did.

The owner, Jose Maria, is a pleasant man with just enough English to communicate. He serves a 3-choice breakfast in a pretty garden setting (we had the #III, with coffee, toast, and eggs- delicious). His terrace is nestled between the hotel and an out-building where he cooks. This kitchen & bar building sidles up to the adjacent church and its whitewashed walls are covered with colorful cages of songbirds. There's a hillside of flowers overlooking the hotel's pool and the agricultural fields below. The bleating of the distant sheep and goats is the soundtrack to your breakfast.

It all seemed quite special so we looked in at the hotel's central court, which is also attractive. We met a U.S. couple who had stayed the night, and were quite complimentary about their stay. So while we can't speak from experience about the hotel or its rooms, we can say that the ambiance is special and the owner is welcoming. If you stay here, you'll get a tranquil setting just outside of the denser parts of town. If you take a meal or tea here (and I recommend this) you'll have a relaxing respite from your touring in a memorable and quaint setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Although we just had a short stay at this hotel, we were very pleased by the informal way of being received in this charming house with a beautiful garden, spacious rooms and a very sympathetic owner ; Jose Maria.
A quiet place to stay longer next time, to try the home made paella and to have time to look at all bonsais and flowers

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
144 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was our second visit, 8 years after our previous trip. We are an all adult family of 3 couples ( parents and sons / partners ) and we really savoured our 4 nights enjoying this characterful property and its great location. It is at the quiet end of the old town, only 10 minutes walk from the Tourist heart around Puente Nueve and part of the attractive and pleasant Barrio San Francesco - there are some inexpensive and friendly bars and restaurants here. The bedrooms and public rooms are charming and authentically Andalucian, they are not necessarily perfectly functional but that is the way of traditional properties - we love them. There is a very tranquil ambience, and the beautiful and extensive landscaped gardens with the Espiritu Santu backdrop add considerably to this. There are magnificent views of the surrounding countryside and mountains beyond, and Jose Maria's singing birds are a real plus too. Jose Maria himself was welcoming, affable and helpful. He particularly excelled on our last day - our hire car was broken into on the Puerto del Viento and the angst and urgent logistical difficulties were eased considerably by his exceptional help and patient assistance. This is a top choice if you value charm, individuality, peaceful and natural surroundings and a very pleasant and helpful owner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suiza
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Doesn't matter if is raining like ***** or the sun is presenting Ronda from its postal card side...think of all the superlatives you associate with an oasis of tranquility and you get the best description of this incredible B&B nested in beautiful Ronda! The hospitality of the owner is seeking for peers and having breakfast in the well preserved garden (sure spanish style and not english clean, but full of live) -surrounded by Bonsais, trees, flowers paired with a splendid view, is the way you look for to start a day in Ronda! A minute in the garden or the library and you will calm down immediately after a bustling day in the touristy part of the village. Would recommend to everybody to stay here and love to come back! The rooms are a bit old fashioned but fits perfectly to the house and preserve all the charme needed for such a place (again keep in mind you decided to go to Spain and not staying in a German tidy clean and characterless wellness resort). Don't expect five-star accommodation, as nobody claims to be, but a perfect setting for a really good sleep.

José Maria you made our day!!! (Important: Our recommendation is truly Independent and from two Europeans which travelled extensively and spend numerous nights in all kind of stays!)

Room Tip: Balcony-Garden-View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
472 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

A small atmospheric hotel, with a very large garden containing many terraces for sitting and enjoying the beautiful views. The inside is very old, and is like stepping back in time. Good base for exploring the old town. Parking is also easy, locally.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hausen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

A super Location , the spacious Rooms with a hint of the orient , a good place to relax after exploring Ronda.
The breakfast , freshly cooked by the house Herr, was the best that we ate...take the eggs ! and the price amazing.
An evening meal cooked by the host is also to be highly recommended.
A very friendly host, felt more like visiting a friend, rather than a hotel. Unfortunately we could only stay 2 nights. Will defiantly stay if we are in the area.
If we where to stay at a different time of the year, we would defiantly take time to relax in the beautiful garden.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#2 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#4 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#12 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#8 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardin de la Muralla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin de la Muralla

Address: Calle Espiritu Santo 13, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jardin de la Muralla 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Jardin de la Muralla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jardin de la Muralla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.