We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the reason we stay in Ronda.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jardin de la Muralla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jardin de la Muralla to your Saves list
Hotel Jardin de la Muralla
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle Espiritu Santo 13, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Ronda B&B and Inns
Berkeley, CA, USA
1 review
“This is the reason we stay in Ronda.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This is our fifth visit to Ronda since 2000, and our fourth at Jardin de la Muralla (on our first visit, the owner, José Maria, was at Hotel Goyesca, where we stayed). José Maria is the reason we keep returning to Ronda. You could not ask for a better host, and we feel more like we are visiting an old friend than merely staying at a B&B. This year, we are enjoying a new feature, delicious lunches (a fine paella among other items). For my birthday, José Maria prepared an Arab dish that was the perfect addition to my birthday celebrations. The hotel itself is gorgeous, and the garden that gives the hotel its name is eyepopping. The garden, and the wall that is the Muralla of the name, is fascinating as well. We spend most of our time in Andalucía in Nerja, but we always add a week with José Maria to our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just back home after spending the last night of our stay in this B&B.
If you read a positive review for this place...it will be true :).
Quiet, beautiful house, rooms and garden setting away from the overpriced tourist hotels by the Tajo bridge....but yet only 5 mins walk away.
If you want a romantic spot at good value for money and beautiful setting...take this one.
Ps..aslo try the little bodegas / restaurants 2 mins walk further down the hill and through the city walls..

Room Tip: Room with a view at the back..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our stay in Hotel Jardin de la Muralla felt like stepping back through time. Set in the oldest part of the city, connected to Inglesia Espiritu Santo, the hotel has been in the owner's family for generations. It is beautifully decorated with antiques, and has the ambiance of a stoic building soldiering through history. The owner Jose Maria was warm and personal, and made us feel at home - sharing stories over morning coffee, and serving up a light but tasty breakfast. Location is great - very quiet, but easy walking access to the historic part of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Jardin de la Muralla left an unusual impression. I can complain a lot of details - cold rooms (especially the bathroom), old furniture, no shampoo/gel etc. It was a small hotel (about 8 rooms) and we were the only guests during our one night stay. In general the hotel looks like an average 2 stars hotel (even I can't remember when I stayed at 2* last time). But there was a great thing which made our stay. At the first floor there was a fireplace, we were sitting around the fire, drinking wine brought for us by hotel's owner, playing with his dogs and that was really great...worth having bath in a cold room. So if you are not addicted to the high level of comfort - the atmosphere of a family hotel in a small European city is worth staying one night. Otherwise I'd recommend staying in a more comfortable place. Some more details - the location was ok, about 10 min walking distance from the bridge (Ronda is a small city), the price was a bit high for the hotel's class (100 Euros per night incl. breakfast).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A wonderful town and Jose Maria, the owner, is the most pleasant and friendly host. The location is charming and quiet. I look forward to going back and sitting down with Jose Maria again for more great conversations.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I travelled with another couple and we occupied two rooms for 5 nights while visiting the area around Ronda. We arrived by bus and the taxi driver knew exactly where the hotel was - if not for the driver it might have been a little tricky to find. The hotel is within walking distance of the main part of town, but far enough from it to avoid the night time noise.
We were greeted on arrival by Maria and 2 dogs (Julie and Carlotta) and shown to our rooms which were spacious and clean, each with a small balcony to let the sunshine and air in. Each room has its own bathroom. We had no trouble accessing the WIFI. Jose Maria takes care of things through the evening and serves up breakfast in the dining room alongside other guests of the hotel - we were served something different every day ranging from toast with a selection of jams to homemade bruchetta (made from home grown tomatoes I suspect) to churros with friends of the owner one morning - always with a large pot of coffee. Several of my evenings were spent by the fire reading a book with the puppies or practising my Spanish with the owner and my days were enjoyed wandering about the local area or driving between the white villages in the surrounding district. Parking is sometimes a little tight our front of the hotel - but that's the case anywhere in Ronda.
If you are looking for a stiff and posh hotel, this is not the place for you. But if you are seeking out a home away from home where you'll be greeted with a friendly smile and wag of a tail and shown to a very comfortable room, then you've come to the right place.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return if travelling through Ronda in the future.

Room Tip: The suite located toward the back of the house with a wonderful view across the balcony and garden t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We ended up here by accident after being unable to find our way out of Ronda at night. We were pleased to find somewhere so lovely. The owner was friendly and even more friendly were his two pet dogs who were very pleased to see us.The hotel is situated in a magnificent old house in a beautiful garden which overlooks Ronda. The decoration is in keeping with the history of the house and the bathroom is enormous.
We found the hotel comfortable and clean and quiet at night. From the hotel we could walk easily to all the sights in Ronda.
We would recommend this hotel for atmoshere, comfort and location.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the square have great views but are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jardin de la Muralla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin de la Muralla

Address: Calle Espiritu Santo 13, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jardin de la Muralla 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jardin de la Muralla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jardin de la Muralla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.