We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in a number of ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cortijo de Las Piletas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cortijo de Las Piletas to your Saves list
Cortijo de Las Piletas
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   MA-8403 / A-374 (Ronda-Sevilla), 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect in a number of ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

This gem is ideal. It could not be better situated. It is central to hiking (in every direction), all the important towns of the Park (in all directions), Ronda (25 minutes away) and a number of hidden sites that the management can tell you about. The hotel itself is a converted farm/compound that has been in the family for generations. It is thoughtfully set out, beautifully decorated, rooms nicely organized. It has tons of parking, a good pool (too cold by the end of September), good breakfasts and the option of dinner. But the proximity to everything you want to sample is the clincher - you can't beat this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

The Cortijo was 15 minutes from half a dozen of the white towns, including Ronda. The rooms, the grounds, the pool area, the patios, the common area and dining room were spotless and so very comfortable. Elisenda was able to answer all our questions and her English was impeccable. It was so nice to go out for a morning/lunch excursion, come back for some very relaxing time around the pool and then go out for another fabulous evening. Having access to the internet all the time made communication home way easier than internet cafes. I only wish we had stayed for a week.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from 5 days at Cortijo Las Piletas. Like a previous reviewer, we stayed in room No 1 which overlooked the swimming pool. The room was well equiped with a huge comfortable bed and lovely thick cotton sheets. We ate at the Cortijo for only one evening but Pablo cooked a fabulous three course meal that could not be faulted. The farmhouse is old and quirky with a big comfortable sitting room and dining room. A varied and top notch buffet breakfast (complete with English tea) was very welcome. Pablo keeps an extensive but good value wine cellar (including half bottles). We couldn't fault the Cortijo and will definitely return. It was a 20 minute drive into central Ronda which was a beautiful town, all in all a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This is a privately-owned guest house with accommodation in separate stone-built chalets a few kilometres outside Ronda in Spain. We found it on the internet and used it as a break when our children were staying with friends in the Marbella region.

Elizenda runs it in a charming and relaxed way. Breakfast is a cold buffet and there is no lunch or room service. You can book for Pablo to cook you dinner and we strongly recommend this. You will get only two choices for each of the three courses but they differ every night and Pablo is a top chef. Both the food and wine offer great value and you don't have to drive to a restaurant.

They run an honesty bar, where you note which drinks you have consumed on chits of paper and they charge you at the end.
Although we have only been in August (2007 and 2008) (and have used it as a base to visit Granada on day trips), Elizenda tells us that it is also a popular venue in other seasons, due to the range in climate.

This is a great place for a relaxed, romantic break. Children are welcome, though, since the owners have two young daughters.

Ceri Evans

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

Las Piletas is a small country hotel about 15 mins from Ronda. A converted farm the hotel only has 8 rooms but provides excellent service and facilities.
We stayed in Room number one which overlooks the swimming pool and like all other rooms has a "private" patio with two comfortable chairs and a small table, The bedroom and bathroom were spacious, well decorated, comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean. The towels provided, always an issue for me, were large and fluffy. The only down side was the lack of airconditioning but a large fan was provided.
An excellent buffet breakfast is included comprising a variety of breads, fresh fruit, cereals, cheeses, cold meats, orange juice and bevearages, The hotel does not have a bar but free tea, coffee, cakes and fruit are avaiable all day on a help yourself basis and a "honesty bar" with soft drinks, booze and snacks is also provided
The owners provide a 3 course evening meal with water most nights which at 30 euros pp I found a bit expensive and you have to book in advance, usually at Breakfast.. The food however is excellent and their is a choice of 2 for each course with the option of meat or fish for the main course. It is certainly a good option for your first night whilst you find your feet.
There is a restaurant within walking distance of the hotel but it has a "dodgy" reputation and we did not try it. The next nearest is about a mile away and offers acceptable cheap food but the staff speak little English and an English menu is not provided. The only other option is to drive into Ronda where there are lots of restaurants of all types.
The swimming pool is on the small side but the loungers like all othe furnishings at the hotel are top notch.
Various chairs are spread through out the grounds providing several shaded spots for a quite read or snooze.
From walking through the front door to leaving the staff were allways very helpful and attentive and we could not fault them
You will need a car to get the best out of this hotel and ample parking in the shade is available.
If you like a quite hotel that is out of the way but with a lot of attractions near by this is one for you

  • Liked — Just about everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

We were looking for a quiet country hotel near Ronda from which to visit the nearby Serrrania de Ronda in search of birds and wildflowers, and happened to find this cortijo on the Internet. It was a great find.

The place is quiet, spotless, luxurious, easy-to-get-to, parking is ample, the rooms are delightful, and the food, prepared by the owner, was delicious. It was a hotel like you would want all hotels to be.

It was a little cold for us to use the pool, but a Swiss guest tried it and declared it good.

The place attracted a variety of birds, and in a few hours around the hotel grounds we encounter oriole, cirl bunting, hoopoe and subalpine warbler. The owners go out of their way to make their hotel eco-friendly. We hope to return some day soon.

Al & Linda Maley
Hampstead, New Hampshire USA

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

A very lovely and traditional style farmhouse with pool just near Ronda.

Scenario> We had no accommodation booked when we arrived in Ronda. At the Ronda tourist information centre we asked for a list of farmhouse style accommodation in the area. Another place we liked was fully booked but they kindly suggested we try Cortijo de Las Piletas...we were absolutely delighted with this accommodatio and would recommend this property to other visitors.

Location> Cortijo de Las Piletas is located 15 minutes from Ronda, you need a car to get there. Turn left off the main road at the "Las Vega" restaurant. The property quietly set amongst farmland. From Cortijo de Las Piletas you can easily drive to Ronda for dinner, visit nearby caves or do day trips to the pueblos blancos (picturesque white towns see Grazalama).

Rooms> The property has about 10 double rooms and a couple of family rooms. Our room had a queen size bed (push apart singles), tiled floors, large modern bathroom. The property is tastefully renovated and furnished. It was spotlessly clean. Rooms are around 90 Euros but depend on the time of year and length of stay.

Facilities> There is a nice swimming pool with several sun lounges, and other quiet seating areas, set in the gardens and overlooking the paddocks. Totally serene. There is plenty of space to be separate from other guests. Upstairs are games (chess etc) and a billiard table. There is plenty of parking.

Food and Catering> Breakfast was included with the room rate. Breakfast included cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, cheese and jamon (of course in spain). Espresso coffee is available and juices. We found the food fresh and good quality. Its lovely to sit outside on the terrace.

There is a fully stocked bar in the main lounge which operates on a simple user pays basis. A bottle of beer is 2 euros for example and the bottles of wine and chips etc are very reasonably priced. You can take drinks to the pool side or your room.

The owner cooks a traditional meal with local seasonal produce for guests 5 nights a week (not Wed or Sunday) for 30 Euros. You need to advise the day before that you want dinner. We missed dinner but the other guests commented that the meal was sensational and great value. So try it.

Internet> WiFi was available free of charge and i could connect with my laptop from the room, garden, swimming pool and dining room. Alternatively, the owners can provide PC access if you want to use the internet.

Ambience> The owners are very friendly, professional hosts and most obliging and happy to provide assistance on local tourist information. After a busy trip in Madrid and Granada, Cortijo de Las Piletas was the perfect place to unwind and refresh ourselves.

Overall> I would love to stay at Cortijo de Las Piletas again for perhaps a week.

Recommended for> Couples, Singles, Mature travellers. While children are welcome it is a quiet place but there is space for kids to play without disturbing other guests.

I work in the accommodation industry and i love staying at genuinely nice places. So try it, I am sure you'll enjoy your stay.

  • Liked — Tranquility and friendliness
  • Disliked — There were no issues, everything was perfect.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
5.4 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#2 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
5.3 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#12 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#4 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo de Las Piletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo de Las Piletas

Address: MA-8403 / A-374 (Ronda-Sevilla), 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Cortijo de Las Piletas 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cortijo de las Piletas is a country hotel located in the heart of Andalucia. Only 12km. from the picturesque town of Ronda, in the Natural Park of Grazalema, the Cortijo allows visitors to explore a great variety of natural environments, both on the property grounds as well as the surrounding areas.Our guests will enjoy vacationing in a centuries-old building, a magnificent example of an authentic Andalusian farmhouse converted into a family run country hotel.The varying greens of Mediterranean woods, the brilliant white of the walls and the clear blue of the sky, exude both peace and an unmistakable andalusian flavor.Beautiful patios and gardens surround the house offering cozy nooks for our guests to relax in harmony with nature. Centenarian trees and a variety of aromatic plants provide cool shade, colours and aromas while we take walks, swim or sunbathe. In the evening, in the gardens near the threshing floor, we can enjoy spectacular sunsets beyond Grazalema. These are just a few of the special moments awaiting you during your stay at Cortijo de las Piletas.We look forward to welcoming you for an unforgettable stay with us ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cortijo de Las Piletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortijo de Las Piletas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.