We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera to your Saves list
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Partido de los Frontones S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Ronda
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

We were a little concerned at reading some negative reviews just before we left. We had visited La Fuente previously and were worried that their high standards had dropped. We needn't have been. Our stay was as good if not better than before. This hotel is a gem and is a firm favourite to which we will return again and again. Yes the bedrooms are excellent and so are the restaurant and grounds but what sets this hotel apart is the atmosphere created by Pom, Tina, Frank and their team. A luxurious relaxing hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing - pretty much perfect
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
50
246
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

Wow! We think we may have found the perfect hotel! WIthin the perfect hide-away setting of the beautiful Andalucian country, the team at this hotel have created the perfect backdrop to any break. We were looking for a peaceful but pampered break to spend a few days by ourselves without the kids. And we wanted luxury, indulgence, relaxation, and for time to stand still. The very few rooms are all completely unique. We took the Artist's Suite which was very stylishly furnished, with loads of space to lounge around and read in, either inside or on our own private terrace. We ate breakfast and dinner here every day for three days and can't fault the food or the wine. The beautiful weather meant that we ate on the terrace for all our meals. The honesty bar meant we could dip in and out of drinks, water and ice-cream whenever we got too hot or thirsty.

We will go back for many years to come. Go now!

  • Liked — Chilled-out, luxurious ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing at all. Not one thing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

I was a little uncertain about staying for 2 nights (their minimum) in such an out of the way location, but ultimately I wished I had planned to stay longer. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, the food was excellent (I highly recommend taking the option for dinner) and the room was great. Ronda is a very neat town and we could have spent much more time visiting the white villages - the views are amazing and there are many different places to visit. And we were both very happy to come sit by the pool after a day of touring. We came from Jerez, which wasn't a bad trip - left Jerez around 730pm and arrived at the hotel at 915pm. You could easily make this hotel a base from which to visit more of the area. Also, the honor bar (including ice cream) is a great feature. Although (if someone from the hotel reads this), I would have liked to have a few non sweet snacks available.

  • Liked — the feeling of being at home
  • Disliked — honestly no complaints...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

What do you expect for less than £100 a night for two people? Mostly something pretty basic and pretty ordinary. This hotel does rather more and gives you more of a four star experience and a touch of five
star at two star money - which is its official rating.

The rooms are huge - around 20x20 feet with big bathrooms, separate terraces and comfortable furniture, and that's just the basic ones. The suites are twice as big. The style is crisp and modern, with bare
boards and rugs.

Breakfasts are fine - the usual mix of fruit, cheese, ham, cereals and so on. Nothing wrong with it except charging more for a couple of eggs is a bit strange.

Dinner is a choice of two options for each of three courses. The menu
is designed around whatever's good that day, accompanied by home-grown vegetables. It's first class cooking but not cuisine but at 35 euros a head you shouldn't expect more. The wine list is pretty good and the wine is stored properly. Again, it's moderately priced - not bad value at all.

There's an honesty bar which actually is an honesty bar - just sign and pour. Pretty much any drink you can name is there, along with all
the bits and pieces you need for cocktails and ice on tap, or rather via an ice machine.

The position is spectacular - I doubt you'll find better in the area,
apart from the Parador in Ronda (which is twice the price). It's also
conveniently situated for day trips, provided you have a hire car - which is a must. The grounds are well-tended by a gardener who obviously loves his job.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and are a fund of advice on the local area.

Now let's take some of the recent gripes. Lack of cleaning - not when
we were there. It was pretty much spotless. The only fault I saw was a bit of mould on the bathroom grout. I mentioned it to the managers and was assured that it was bign fixed. The pool was cleaned thoroughly every day (though a bit of warm water would have been welcome - it was distinctly refreshing to swim in).

Noise - there is a bit between floors but not a huge amount. Staff chatting when you want a siesta is not recommended but work has to be done.

Frogs - yup, there are there in the pond and at frog mating season they do like to draw attention to themselves. This can be annoying if
you are a very light sleeper but what is supposed to be done? Kill
the frogs? Personally, I like frogs and if they want to croak, let them croak. If you don't like frogs and croaking, don't come in early June. By the way, all Spanish frogs are called George - they shout Jorgé, Jorgé to each other.

Bathroom towels - seemed ok to me. If you want Frette, go to the Four Seasons and pay Four Seasons' prices. Don't get me wrong, I love Four Seasons. I just can't afford Four Seasons all the time.

Light at windows - have to agree that the light does come in a bit and I also hung up a towel. It's because the shutters don't quite fit. A little bit of adjustment and perhaps a draft brush would solve
the problem. Then again, it was hardly a chore to put up a towel.

Like a B+B - well, up to a point. All boutique hotels are a bit like B+Bs.

In all, if you want a restful break in great countryside with lots to see nearby and don't want to break the bank but do want a reasonable degree of comfort, this is a place for you. If you want true luxury, you'll have to pay a lot more for it. This is honest, good value served with a smile by people who enjoy you enjoying yourself.

  • Liked — Nice people, huge rooms, good value
  • Disliked — No two maps to the place, from any source, have the same road numbers - use Google maps to be certain to get there
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

Very noisy and rooms really cold after sunset (we were told there was no air con - this now makes sense given how cold it got at night) but in a stunning location.

Being in such a remote spot we'd hoped for a quiet, relaxing stay but unfortunately our room overlooked the pool & restaurant area and we were constantly disturbed by the noise of other guests, cleaners/staff. On top of this, toads croaked round the clock which became really painful after awhile; much louder than any birds we've ever heard and they didn't stop at night.

Surprisingly the rooms were really cold in the evening/night. You would have expected a well run quality hotel to have recognised this and simply turn the heating on. This isn't acceptable when we you're paying good money, and it felt like they had more of an eye on their profit margins than their guests' needs. Most luxury hotel we've stayed in previously have had temperature controls in each room so you can self-regulate. It really was very chilly.

On the positive side, the rooms were large, the views incredible and the evening meals (albeit limited to 2 choices) were generally good with some excellent wines. Breakfasts were weak though.

Overall, it just didn't work for us. Despite being in the middle of nowhere, with huge amounts of land all around, this place was too cramped: the pool and restaurant were jammed in and the communal area was tiny.

Sadly this wasn't the relaxing break we were looking forward to.

  • Liked — The stunning views
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

Not at all what we were expecting. Our decision to stay at Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera was based largely on the great reviews we had read on this web site. Unfortunately, as lovely as it looks in the photographs this is not a hotel, but a very good bed and breakfast house with restaurant. It is so cramped - to go to our room we had to go through the restaurant area - so new arrivals were (as we did) lugging bags through during dinner. It was particularly chilly when we arrived as Pom (husband of the Director) also observed, but he didn't think to turn the heating on! One evening we asked for some logs for the fire, by the time they'd dried out and started to burn we were getting up the next morning. Our stay was anything but relaxing, with our so called luxury suite a few feet overlooking the restaurant (impossible to sit in the sitting room due to the noise of people talking/eating) with a pond of frogs/toads croaking 24hrs a day outside our bedroom window, the noise was actually intolerable. Together with poorly furnished/decorated bathrooms, dirty looking towels, bedding and having to hang towels at the windows to stop early morning light coming through, we really wondered whether we were at the right place. The other guests all appeared quite uptight.....if their room was anything like ours it wasn't surprising. We were told that washing our laundry wouldn't be a problem, but when presenting them with it we were asked "would you like it dried" and then having said yes to that unbelievable question were asked " would you like it ironed too" - 3 days later it returned, questionably washed, but ironed! The breakfast buffet table was basic with their daily fruit option being a bowl of chopped apple. The evening meals were good, a bit hit and miss, but that depends on taste. To make this place what it already thinks/says it is, we suggest the owners do some proper European market research if they're trying to offer pampered luxury and service in a haven of peace! The location is fabulous and so for that reason we manage to give it 2 out of 10 - book for one or two nights before committing to more.

  • Liked — The door had a key
  • Disliked — Dirty/wet bedding
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

This hotel is simply beautiful.

Beautiful setting on a hillside, looking across a valley to the mountains. Beautiful rooms, cool, chic and comfortable, all with a private patio or terrace and an open fire for cooler seasons. Beautiful smells from mint, rosemary and lavender planted in and around the garden and olive groves that surround it. Beautiful food, eaten on the terrace in summer and featuring local, organic food, including fantastic veg and salads from their own gardens.

The only things to disturb the perfect peace are the dawn chorus of the extremely cheeky sparrows and the mating calls of the frogs who live in the lily pond.

The owners and all the staff are charming, seem really to care about their guests, are quick to make recommendations for restaurants, sights and shopping and to jump queues on your behalf if you want a booking.

All this is about 90 minutes from Malaga airport, with Ronda ten minutes away, Marbella's shopping and glitz about an hour down a winding mountain road, Seville in easy reach, and lots more.

Whether you want a romantic long weekend (it was my birthday and special cava and a cake were produced), a break in a tour of Andalucia's sights or a week's relaxation, you'll struggle to do better. It would be lovely in winter, too, if you're into cultural tourism or wanted to get together with a group of friends or family.

It's also fantastic value for money. You could pay a lot more and get
something a lot less luxurious – and it'll be even better when they add a purpose-built indoor pool and spa, as they plan.

  • Liked — Woderful position
  • Disliked — Frog chorus in the middle of teh night!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera

Address: Partido de los Frontones S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ronda
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a small luxury suite hotel run along the lines of a laid-back country house party thrown by friends. In a renovated rural olive oil mill, with beautifull Ronda within sight, where traditional Spanish architecture meets post-modern design and eclectic furnishing. A short drive from cosmopolitan Ronda but with all the country house comforts to tempt you to just siesta by the pool or on the lawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fuente De Higuera
La Fuente De Higuera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.