We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Retreat in Andalucian countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera to your Saves list
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Partido de los Frontones S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Ronda
Mapua, Nelson
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Idyllic Retreat in Andalucian countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 wonderful days here after a hectic work schedule in Seville and I can only reiterate the other reviewers when they say what a great find La Fuente de la Higuera is . We had room 2 - one of the suites with panoramic views over the surrounding countryside, our own private deck leading off from our large bathroom, a large bedroom and sitting room. We would have preferred a good shower rather than the large copper bath that would have taken so much precious water to fill and found the shower over the bath with curtains and controls away from the bath, not so convenient to use.
We loved the "honesty bar" policy of grabbing a beer or drink whenever we wanted and just putting our name on a chit - however these drinks are somewhat pricy.
Dinner was a great, convivial event each night, especially when Pom was around - certainly a Bill Nighy lookalike character - but engendering plenty of fun and great conversations. Yes, dinner is a bit pricy but worth it for not having to find somewhere in Ronda to eat in the evenings.
The accommodation is a bit hard to find - if you rely on a GPS - better to follow the directions supplied by the hotel.
We would certainly go back - its our Italan Umbria in Spain - just wish it wasn't the other side of the world for us!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
50
245
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our stay here was one of the most memorable of our trip. The location is perfect - wonderful views, beautiful walks close by and Ronda and the Pueblos Blancos all a short drive away.
The food and wines were exceptional and the staff went out of their way to be helpful.
Thank you Pom and Christina for a wonderful stay - we hope to be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Located just outside the historic town of Ronda, Hotel La Fuenta was previously an old abandoned olive mill which has been rebuilt / re-developed beyond anyone's belief (ask to see the original photographs!) - It is an outstanding picturesque location and has a wonderful ambiance - food and service was simply first class, as were our hosts, Poom and Christina (?) are very warm and friendly and always remember your name(s)! - recommend you request a room with a balcony..... if one is available.

We will return! - Sean & Lilian - Toronto

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony...if such is available....they are booked up well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is one of those places you really don't want to share, but can't help but brag about it. We visited many years ago and have returned several times for a total escape. The location is serene (a great off the beaten track hideaway with fabulous views from the many terraces. Sunsets, devine food - unquestionably Michelin star quality. Fantastic local wines (plus a great honest bar packed with refreshments and ice-creams). The gorgeous decor is simple, pure and wonderfully eclectic - there is a dutch Indonesian influence there! We the larger/ family room with outdoor metal tub on the terrace - wow, just stunning views! The hosting style is authentic and caring and the owners have taken care with every finer detail - their impeccable taste and attention to detail is obvious. They have managed to maintain the highest standards year after year, which I personally find very impressive. One tip! Bring your essential oils to top off the experience in your bath. Absolutely stunning. Shhhh don't tell anyone though. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great accommodation really relaxing,kind, considerate staff and amazing food.
Nothing is too much trouble for them here. A quiet location with stunning views. If you want to get away from it all this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I made a reservation through the hotel's website for one night this May. My husband and I were pretty excited after reading all the incredible reviews on this site. Unfortunately, upon our arrival at 10pm after an exhausting, long drive from Sevilla, we were told that there had been an error in their booking system and our room was double-booked (the hotel was fully booked)! I think both of us stood there speechless trying to recover from the thought of not being able to eat dinner asap and dive into a nice, big bed.
To the hotel's defense, they did try to call me a few times during the day but my phone was in silent mode. However, the lady in-charge of the check-in was genuinely sorry and she went over and beyond to make up for the mistake- we were given a night stay at Ronda city center's best hotel, upgraded to a suite and was treated to a full course dinner on the house. We had intended to pay for the dinner (as I had already made a reservation through email) so we were so surprise when she told us that both the dinner and the hotel stay was free, she even insisted that another car escorted us to the city center so that we will not get lost in the dark, windy road.
Even though we are still disappointed that we didn't get to stay at their hotel, they won us over with their customer service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

What a gem! The hotel staff is incredibly welcoming. When m daughter and I arrived, we were greeted warmly. We never showed papers, they never looked at a computer. Instead, they welcomed us as if we were long lost family and escorted us right to our room- which was spacious and had spectacular views. We dined each evening at the hotel which was prepared by the owners' talented son.
We hiked each day on very different but beautiful hikes- all which were recommended by the owner. We did visit Ronda one afternoon which is extraordinary though touristy- here we especially enjoyed our respite at the owner's relatively new cafe. The service and hospitality at hotel La Fuente were impeccable.
This was a memorable getaway in a remarkable and peaceful setting. I hope to bring the rest of my family to share in this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera

Address: Partido de los Frontones S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ronda
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a small luxury suite hotel run along the lines of a laid-back country house party thrown by friends. In a renovated rural olive oil mill, with beautifull Ronda within sight, where traditional Spanish architecture meets post-modern design and eclectic furnishing. A short drive from cosmopolitan Ronda but with all the country house comforts to tempt you to just siesta by the pool or on the lawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fuente De Higuera
La Fuente De Higuera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.