We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Make Our Mistake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera to your Saves list
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Partido de los Frontones S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Ronda
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't Make Our Mistake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We only booked for one night with a view to seeing Ronda and moving on. Shame on us! The moment you arrive, you’ll realise how clever you are for making a booking.

We booked the ground floor suite (room 1) with large living room, bedroom and bathroom. The room and entire hotel have been entirely refurbished and are beautifully presented. The four-poster bed was super comfortable. However, we didn’t try the copper bath as it appeared to require at least a reservoir of water.

Each night the guests are asked to select from a limited menu ahead of the meal so that only the freshest food may be beautifully cooked. The wine list had some thoughtful entries.

Pom is a delightful host and entertains the guests while the staff get on and work around him. “Ah yes, what was I going to do?” If he put on a pair of glasses, you would be speaking to Bill Nighy.

The next morning, Javier was a delight. You have to be impressed with people who speak five languages.

I’ve stayed in some wonderful hotels, but this is my all-time favourite (so far).

Travelers’ tip: Turn off the A374 directly at the 28 km marker onto a well sign-posted small road and drive for 3.2 kms. to the facility.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
50
245
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had booked two nights in late April but decided to stay an extra night. So relaxing having breakfast and dinner on the patio with the view of the valley. We stayed in room 2 and couldn't agree more with MikeyNorfolk about the great views, private terrace and beautiful copper tub. Can't wait to come back and would highly recommend this well run, high quality establishment. Hats off to you Pom and Tina.

Room Tip: Loved room 2 with a sitting room and fireplace. Lovely private terrace with plenty of room to sunba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

my wife and I have visited here no less than six times - and have never come away disappointed.

The family owned and run business is set in the most perfect situation, very close to the town of Ronda. We have noticed recently however, that the valley is becoming a little bit more developed.

This converted olive mill has been done to the highest quality and thought by Tina and Pom, the owners. The food is excellent and the honesty bar and freezer of ice creams in the atrium, a great touch. It's a great location if you want privacy, however, we have always seemed to end up partying to the small hours with couples and families that we have met there. Pom is also a great host and loves a chat and joke with the guests. Tina is usually hosting yoga and lifestyle classes at their business centre and lodge, a few kilometres away.

The best rooms are the two suites - room 2 on the open stairwell, our favourite. It has a triple aspect over the valley and a very private sun terrace at the back. In the summer you can lie in the copper beaten bathtub and look out over the valley. In the winter, there is an abundant source of firewood in the rooms and the open fire makes a beer and sherry truly enjoyable. In February, the temperature during the day was 18-20c. Mid summer is very hot!

The double aspect suite is also great for sharing with family, although we have stayed here and slept in the upstairs bedroom via the spiral staircase and used the downstairs rooms during the day.

One and a half hours drive from Malaga, this hotel is the perfect weekend, week getaway. The surrounding countryside includes Sierra de Grazalema natural park, where we have always spotted eagles. The small white painted towns - Pueblos Blancos - are predominant in the immediate provinces and just truly fantastic for light lunches and exploration. Best route to Ronda from Malaga airport is via the A366 over the mountain - avoid the coastal road through Torremolinos!

The town of Ronda is a must and the Tapas bar around the corner, opposite the bull stadium is the best Spanish experience of local food. Be warned though...you have to make yourself heard from the moment you enter. Once you are 'connected' with the staff, you will get a proper measure of cerveza and a local's measure of food.

Room Tip: Suite 2 on the stairwell or the double aspect suite with bedroom on the top of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was the nicest hotel we stayed in during our trip to Andulucia. It was difficult to find, our Avis GPS did not recognize the hotel or road but after driving around Ronda several times we eventually worked it out. Make sure you get good directions and download a map before you go. It is well worth it. Beautiful large rooms and a great breakfast and fixed dinner menu. We awoke to a fantastic rich green rural vista which is in stark contrast to the rugged rocky mountains around Ronda. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer. The owners have also opened a great cafe in Ronda directly opposite the Ronda Parador near the old bridge. It's also well worth visiting. Great coffee and good lunch food

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I've Been here several times and Will continue to come back!
The food, The Wine, The rooms and mostly The fantastic welcoming feeling and The wonderful personal, owners, chef and 'family' I've met and Got to know a little bit.
If you want Quality, an always welcoming feeling and The most beautiful scenery of Andslusia come here. Again and again!
I know I Will.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A very beautiful hotel in the country about 10 km from Ronda. It's run by a very hands on Dutchman who has obvIously seen a bit of life. His family are involved and his son cooks. The staff were very attentive to detail but stayed short of being obtrusive. We thought the food good but not exceptional and perhaps a little overpriced in comparison with other Andalucian hotels. However overall this was an exceptional hotel and we would love to stay again, probably a bit later in the season next time to benefit from the beatiful room balcony,swimming pool etc ( we stayed early April this year and Spring was late).
Although more expensive than other hotels at which we stayed We thought this very good value and a memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The first port of call for our tour of Southern Spain- bit tricky to find but follow the directions recommended by hotel and you will be fine (I was with men who thought they knew better,) when we arrived it was heavenly, beautiful surroundings, pool and sunshine. The welcome was excellent and the treatment of all staff throughout similar. We enjoyed an excellent lunch and evening meal and satisfactory breakfast. A beautiful location, and we had a balcony, which was great. It is a fair distance to Ronda, so not walkable to anywhere else but great for a day or two. If I had to find something to moan about it would be the hair dryer,! Other than that, great.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera

Address: Partido de los Frontones S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#1 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a small luxury suite hotel run along the lines of a laid-back country house party thrown by friends. In a renovated rural olive oil mill, with beautifull Ronda within sight, where traditional Spanish architecture meets post-modern design and eclectic furnishing. A short drive from cosmopolitan Ronda but with all the country house comforts to tempt you to just siesta by the pool or on the lawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fuente De Higuera
La Fuente De Higuera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.