We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of my Dreams” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera to your Saves list
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Partido de los Frontones S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel of my Dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

WOW. This must be my favourite hotel in the world. Extremely luxurious yet not intimidating. You felt comfortable wearing casual or elegant clothes. The furniture and rooms were second to none. We were lucky enough to be shown around the hotel. Food was incredible, and all staff were helpful, all of the time.. The owners Pom and Tina, along with their children Pablo and Gina, said they only wanted their guests to be 'happy'. They meant it. In fact they were so at ease with everyone, you didn't even realize they did actually own the place. Whether it was Pom with his dinner time stories to the guests, or Tina welcoming guests at breakfast, or the delightful Gina chatting happily away with dinner guests, they always made sure they got around to everyone to make sure they were content. And of course not forgetting Pablo and his smiling face creating a delicious, imaginative menu. That's just the family. The food was always delicious, whoever cooked it. All staff were so helpful and friendly. And Favier, who could ask for a better welcome, or ongoing assistance. Always happy. We loved him, and his cool bike!! Thank you for an amazing stay. We hope to see you again very soon xxx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    48
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
59
281
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hants, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my partner at the end of a packed sightseeing trip. We were welcomed by Javier on arrival almost as long lost friends so that was a wonderful introduction. The hotel is situated in rolling, tranquil countryside with fantastic far reaching views. All the staff are kind and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The dinner is excellent and I would give in 5 stars for quality. There is also an excellent wine list. Very comfortable and stylish room. We did venture out to Ronda for one day but mostly just stayed by the pool and relaxed. The is small library of books but no TV. That was fine with me as I wanted to unwind. I agree with the reviewer who said it was hard to leave. Absolutely true. I would loved to have stayed longer too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for five nights at La Fuente De la Higuera. The hotel is beautifully situated, all the rooms are individual and stylish. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble and the owners and family were welcoming and attentive. It felt like staying with friends. We dined overlooking a beautiful view of Ronda and the food was outstanding.

The only fault was it was so hard to leave!

This hotel does not disappoint. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We just loved this place, it's intimate and beautiful, there is not much to add that the other reviews don't say. The staff try so hard to please and it almost feels like you are at a rich friends house party. Our suit was stunning, I suspect that we got the best one (suite 11).
Food and wine were superb, it would be two rosettes in the UK, although silly fusspots might find the choice limited - although they probably would not end up at a place like this.
Yes, its a little hard to find - thank god for Tom Tom!

Room Tip: We liked Suite 11 - the terrace was very private, big copper bath and romantic canopied bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you are seeking relaxation, if you value tranquility and peace and if you want to be looked after from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave then there is nowhere better this boutique hotel. We have stayed at Higuera four times - in winter and in summer - and our sense of "coming home" when we arrive is unique. You have to seriously question why you would want to own an overseas property when this place exists. The service is flawless , the food brilliant and if you choose not eat at dinner here, there are many excellent local restaurants from a small family run tapas bar 5 minutes away to superb places in and around Ronda. The surrounding countryside is breathtaking and the atmosphere of the hotel reflects the aim of the owners - Tina and Pom - - to provide the very best in allowing their guests to unwind and enjoy this very beautiful part of Andalucia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our stay at the Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera was exceptional. From the moment we arrived we found the service on offer to be simply superb.

We had a lot of difficulty in finding the hotel as Google Map directed us into Ronda, however when we did eventually find it, it is in fact relatively simple to navigate to; about 90 minutes from Malaga airport (once at Ronda, continue on the Seville road, don't go into Ronda). Due to us getting lost, we didn't arrive at the hotel until 10pm when we had anticipated sitting down for dinner in the restaurant at 9. We were clearly exhausted and frustrated with ourselves when we arrived, but we were greeted exceptionally; "I'm guessing you are hungry and probably could do with a nice cold glass of wine"...these were words of an angel the way we were feeling. We were quickly shown to our room which was beautifully decorated; very simple and incredibly clean with our own private (in terms of it being ours and not that no-one can see it) garden with sun loungers. Having quickly cleaned ourselves up, and despite the kitchen closing for the night, we sat down and were given a lovely bottle of white wine accompanied by gazpacho, a green salad, olives, manchego, jamon and octopus... just something they threw together! It was much more than we could have expected and really set the tone for our stay. To top this, on check out we discovered that they refused to charge us for the food (the wine was a Mr and Mrs Smith perk)... really incredible service!

Initially, we had anticipated that we may eat out in Ronda in the evenings, however, we discovered that Ronda was a 10 minute drive away and to be honest, we really didn't want to leave the hotel after our first night experience. The setting for dinner was candlelit by the pool overlooking the countryside; very romantic and intimate. The menu which changes everyday and is based on fresh ingredients that are sourced locally is offered to you at breakfast (which incidentally was very simple and very lovely) and you can decide whether you want to have dinner in the hotel that evening. I understand that if there is something on the menu that you dislike or have an allergy to, they are more than happy to make some slight amendments to ensure you have something that you can enjoy. The food was superb and I thought reflected a modern take on traditional Spanish cuisine.

We were given great advice (and a map!) so we could explore the 'white villages' and Ronda as Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera really is a great base to get out and explore the region.

This truly is a great example of a boutique hotel in every sense of the word. Impeccable service, terrific rooms, a lovely honesty bar (with ice creams too!), great food and tranquility. I would heavily recommend anyone to visit here who want to enjoy some peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I have nothing but praise for this family run boutique hotel. A beautiful setting, outstanding service, luxurious rooms with local character, delicious healthy food and great great wine. The hotel is more suitable for couples seeking an escape from city life rather than young families due to the tranquility and the remote location. Each room has its own unique decor and its own selling point so no two trips here are the same: just take note of the rooms you have already stayed in so you can try a different one next time! Room 9 is amazing as is the 2 room suite with the room in the tower.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
3.1 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#12 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#2 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cortijo de Las Piletas
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
3.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#4 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera

Address: Partido de los Frontones S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#2 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a small luxury suite hotel run along the lines of a laid-back country house party thrown by friends. In a renovated rural olive oil mill, with beautifull Ronda within sight, where traditional Spanish architecture meets post-modern design and eclectic furnishing. A short drive from cosmopolitan Ronda but with all the country house comforts to tempt you to just siesta by the pool or on the lawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fuente De Higuera
La Fuente De Higuera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.