We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dedication to excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meson El Sacristan

Meson El Sacristan
Plaza Duquesa de Parcent, 14, Ronda, Spain
952875684
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 193 Restaurants in Ronda
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Spanish, Grill, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located at the very heart of the historic center of ronda next to the real colegiata de santa maria la mayor. Our speciality is meats grilled in a wood burning oven. Non stop cooking. Our day off is on wednesday. In winter we close also tuesday night.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A dedication to excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If we could say one thing about our short visit to Ronda it would be that Meson el Sacristan, and owner Antonio, are a shining credit to a beautiful town. Whatever you do, take your time and allow Antonio to lead and recommend. Although interesting, the food is very simple and authentic. Balance this out with superb wine (and brandy) and you will not fail to be impressed. Do not pass up an opportunity to go, Chris & Ayshea.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    106
    16
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tanvald, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious lamb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

By chance we had our lunch in this restaurant because we parked our rental car near. I had a delicious lamb and my wife a very good spicy chicken steak. Authentic atmosphere with local guests. Reasonable prices. I did not see the reviews here before our trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Almost perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Pros:

Very interesting menu. A lot of starters and grilled meat. Desserts looked fantastic. Prices are reasonable for Ronda.

Location is lovely, located on one of the big squares in the old town. Try to grab a seat at the outdoor terrace,

The Fried Aubergine with honey and the Porra were fantastic. Same goes for the Rabo del Toro and the Pork cheeks with chestnut cream.

Services is very professional, very friendly and very fast.


Cons:

Food during lunch is not as good as during dinner. We had grilled lamb chops and iberian pork which were good but not as fantastic as during dinner.

Staff doesn't speak much English but it worked well anyway.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were drawn to the place by its no. 1 ranking in Ronda, plus the location in the historic district. The food was good, but not spectacular. Wine was good. What made me less than happy was the check. Although we distinctly ordered two lunch menus, which were advertized on a chalk board outside at 10 euros, we were charged 14 euros each. Perhaps there was some small print somewhere which I didn't notice, but a 40% surcharge is not nice. I was even less happy when the wine, which was listed for 15 euros a bottle, turned out to cost us 18 euros, a 20% surcharge. I felt it was below my dignity to haggle with the waiter, but at least I can vent my frustration writing this review. If you want an honest place, and not be treated like a sucker, go elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are a mature couple from Australia and sought out this restaurant because of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and for an evening meal on our last night in this beautiful town. We were not let down and found the food and service as described by so many before us. We had over indulged in the previous couple of days and just needed a light but fresh meal with good service at moderate prices. This is exactly what we got.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson El Sacristan also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Meson El Sacristan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson El Sacristan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.