We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in an Awesome Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montelirio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montelirio to your Saves list
Hotel Montelirio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Ronda
Pacifica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in an Awesome Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Just back from a trip around Andalusia and felt compelled to write this review of the Hotel Montelirio in Ronda. I stayed in room 206 for 1 night (May 4, 2014) and only wish I had spent more time here (instead of, say, Marbella and Vejer). At 180 Euros, this was a great value. I spent much, much more at other hotels in other cities. I always stayed adjacent to the top tourist destiantions in Seville, Granda, etc., but always wound up with street or alley views for my 300+ Euros per night. To get a full-on view of the Ronda gorge in a room that was every bit as good as the others in the cities I mentioned made this the best experience and absolute highlight of my trip. The staff was attentive and the food in the restaurant amazing (chocolate soufle may not be a classic Spanish dish but who cares...it was awesome!).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    68
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
168
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

There's not much point repeating all the good things people have said about this perfectly positioned little hotel, but it is worth endorsing them. How glorious to have huge bedroom windows opening out on to the stunning view of the gorge, birds wheeling below us, the sun setting opposite.
I loved the quarry-tiled bathroom with its narrow opening window (see picture) enabling a long soak in bubbles, with a glass of wine while enjoying that same spectacular view.
We rarely eat in hotels we stay in, preferring to explore more of the area, but decided it was going to be pretty hard to beat this one and we weren't disappointed. The food was good, but the view.....oh, that view! Romantic or what!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is an well-preserved, old maison. Marble floors guide you into a small, one-time open courtyard. A small, covered terrace provides a perfect view of the gorge and the incredible landscape of the area. It is a small hotel, wonderful people managing it somewhat casually, so they are anxious to please...even when asked for a third cup of coffee at breakfast. Rooms on the street are somewhat noisy during the very brief rush hours of school drop-offs etc. Otherwise, an ideal location. A great chef at the restaurant provides classic regional dishes and a good variety of regional wines. Decor in rooms is very comfortable and tasteful, good black out shades over balcony doors for a dark night of sleep. Parking is at a public garage, the hotel will park for you and retrieve your car when wanted though leave plenty of time. The sound insulation between floors and rooms is not great, though in this type of lodging it is what you might expect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

What a lovely hotel sitting on gorge edge, with great views from bedroom windows that opened wide. Great views from restaurant as well All 11 rooms have great views.Woke up in morning, looked out the window we above the mist and clouds. Ronda is AWESOME.Staff great.

Room Tip: All rooms are great , all with AWESOME views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg,sweden
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed for only one night, I am absolutly sure you need more time to discover Ronda. Hotel is a very charming boutique hotel on a small street just a short walk from main attractions. We had a junior suite with a big double bed that looked great, but way to firm for us. Woke up with a very stiff back. Bathroom was nice with a great shower. Room needed to be soundproofed, we heard everything outside our door.

Room Tip: A room over the gorge is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is on the edge of the cliff where you can see the bridge from your windows and the valley below. Pictures from our room were spectacular. We splurged on the junior sweet which was indeed spacious, with a separate large sitting room and balcony. We were in the granada room on the upper floor. The furnishings are eclectic but fun (there is a gold naked chrub lamp in the bathroom and a giant four poster bed for example).

The breakfast was downstairs int eh restaurant and had a wonder ful view as well. It was a nice buffett with fresh fruit salad, fresh sqeezed orange juice and eggs cooked anyway you want on demand. It has the usual assortment of hams, breads, cheeses and pasties as well. They will make coffee drinks for you. The breakfast was included with our room and was worth it.

The hotel does have parking for 16 euros. When you arrive, go about 40 feet past the hotel and look on the left wall of the street fo rthe Hotel Monteliro sign where you pull in an unload your stuff and bring it down the 40 street to the hotel door. They will then valet park your car for you. The street is too narrow to park in front for long, so just pull up to the space on the opposite wall (just past the small pastry shop maybe 30-40 ft up the street on the left - the hotel entrance is on the right just below. )

THe staff is pleasant and will answer the questions asked. The woman on during the day was a little more reserved than the one at night but both were helpful.

The location is pretty much one or two blocks from the sights in town - the bridge, wine museum, shops, church and mosque are one or two winding streets away on foot. THe partk is two- 3 blocks over the bridge and along the gorge - where you can get a horse and carriage tour of the old town for a decent price. It is a nice was to get oriented to the town. At the top of the street the hotel is located on, on the right is a small viewpoint park and a restaurant next store. Don't miss the view from the gardens of the restaurant - which includes a moorish arch you can see the white town through which is perfect for pictures. The food at that restuarant is quite good and worth checking out - they have a deck on the edge of the gorge outside) Just head right up the street the hotel is located on and go to the end and you will see the park and restaurante, which looks like a house).

Overall an excellent hotel for a small town like this and a better value than the state run parador with a mirror view.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a view, because there are some that just face the street - you would sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockinryoko
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Maybe we got off to a bad start when we waited ages to check in behind another couple who were being given all sorts of advise - or whatever it was; we don't understand German. when we finally got our turn, we were handed the keys and that was it. This after a long wait at the station for a taxi.

We opted out of the rooms with a view so had rooms overlooking the entry, but this wasn't really a problem with windows and curtains shut. Decor was nice in a traditional Spanish style building. There was an elevator and air-conditioning, which we needed in October. Our twin beds (two single women) were VERY close together. Clean and well equipped bathroom with bathtub and L'Occitan de Provence supplies.

Breakfast was substantial though inside the restaurant, the views were not as good as I imagined when booking, but turns out my travel companion has vertigo anyway. Access to the balcony to enjoy the view was not encouraged.

Next day we found reception very unhelpful when we had queries about buses. Again we waited while others received a friendly reception. We were polite and patient so maybe it was a language thing, but we felt ignored and this coloured our view of our stay.

Room Tip: Pay for the view or look for better-value alternatives in Ronda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montelirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montelirio

Address: Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#4 Family Hotel in Ronda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montelirio 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montelirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelirio Hotel Ronda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montelirio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.