We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astounding View, Well Located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montelirio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montelirio to your Saves list
Hotel Montelirio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Ronda
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Astounding View, Well Located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is on the edge of the cliff where you can see the bridge from your windows and the valley below. Pictures from our room were spectacular. We splurged on the junior sweet which was indeed spacious, with a separate large sitting room and balcony. We were in the granada room on the upper floor. The furnishings are eclectic but fun (there is a gold naked chrub lamp in the bathroom and a giant four poster bed for example).

The breakfast was downstairs int eh restaurant and had a wonder ful view as well. It was a nice buffett with fresh fruit salad, fresh sqeezed orange juice and eggs cooked anyway you want on demand. It has the usual assortment of hams, breads, cheeses and pasties as well. They will make coffee drinks for you. The breakfast was included with our room and was worth it.

The hotel does have parking for 16 euros. When you arrive, go about 40 feet past the hotel and look on the left wall of the street fo rthe Hotel Monteliro sign where you pull in an unload your stuff and bring it down the 40 street to the hotel door. They will then valet park your car for you. The street is too narrow to park in front for long, so just pull up to the space on the opposite wall (just past the small pastry shop maybe 30-40 ft up the street on the left - the hotel entrance is on the right just below. )

THe staff is pleasant and will answer the questions asked. The woman on during the day was a little more reserved than the one at night but both were helpful.

The location is pretty much one or two blocks from the sights in town - the bridge, wine museum, shops, church and mosque are one or two winding streets away on foot. THe partk is two- 3 blocks over the bridge and along the gorge - where you can get a horse and carriage tour of the old town for a decent price. It is a nice was to get oriented to the town. At the top of the street the hotel is located on, on the right is a small viewpoint park and a restaurant next store. Don't miss the view from the gardens of the restaurant - which includes a moorish arch you can see the white town through which is perfect for pictures. The food at that restuarant is quite good and worth checking out - they have a deck on the edge of the gorge outside) Just head right up the street the hotel is located on and go to the end and you will see the park and restaurante, which looks like a house).

Overall an excellent hotel for a small town like this and a better value than the state run parador with a mirror view.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a view, because there are some that just face the street - you would sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    68
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
168
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rockinryoko
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Maybe we got off to a bad start when we waited ages to check in behind another couple who were being given all sorts of advise - or whatever it was; we don't understand German. when we finally got our turn, we were handed the keys and that was it. This after a long wait at the station for a taxi.

We opted out of the rooms with a view so had rooms overlooking the entry, but this wasn't really a problem with windows and curtains shut. Decor was nice in a traditional Spanish style building. There was an elevator and air-conditioning, which we needed in October. Our twin beds (two single women) were VERY close together. Clean and well equipped bathroom with bathtub and L'Occitan de Provence supplies.

Breakfast was substantial though inside the restaurant, the views were not as good as I imagined when booking, but turns out my travel companion has vertigo anyway. Access to the balcony to enjoy the view was not encouraged.

Next day we found reception very unhelpful when we had queries about buses. Again we waited while others received a friendly reception. We were polite and patient so maybe it was a language thing, but we felt ignored and this coloured our view of our stay.

Room Tip: Pay for the view or look for better-value alternatives in Ronda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We found most aspects of our stay at this hotel very satisfactory. It didn't start so well when we arrived and had to park in the street outside the hotel entrance and block the traffic. The hotel concierge jumped up saying something I'm sure was not complimentary but my Spanish is not great. He raced out and parked our car elsewhere before coming back to do our check in. I had been told to park in a little car nook opposite but I had forgotten. The problem is that travellers have to take in a lot of information and travel can be tiring and stressful, especially negotiating those tight little laneways...

However, our overall experience of the hotel was very positive. We had a junior suite and I think that guarantees you a view, although I'm not absolutely sure. If it does, I would recommend upgrading as Ronda is such a unique town and it is worth a small splurge. We loved this hotel and have happy memories of our stay there. Eating in the dining room was, as one reviewer mentioned, a bit of a puzzle when the breakfast room seems to have a more pleasant ambience. However, the food, the service and the atmosphere was of a very good standard and we enjoyed it.

The only negative was that the bathroom had a funky smell but we opened a small window and it seemed to dissipate somewhat.

We would stay here again and recommend it. We felt the Parador opposite being larger would be more impersonal and it looked more expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLNSHIRE
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The terrace of this hotel has the most wonderful view, but unfortunately the terrace itself is rarely visited by the sunshine. The Parador across the gorge has a much better situation. Having said that its a lovely hotel. I asked for a rom with a bath and a view, I got the bath but not a view of the gorge, but did get a little roof terrace with chairs and table.[room 201] The décor is fairly opulent, and the bathroom well equipped.
We had lunch on the terrace which, apart from the view, was fairly ordinary. In the evening aupper was also served on the terrace, now enclosed by plastic sheeting to keep out the cold, as well as the view, as the gorge is floodlit at dark. Calor gas heaters warmed the space somewhat. Supper was good, we both had lamb, but on the expensive side.
It surprised me in the morning therefore that breakfast was served [good too] in a perfectly nice dining rom with large glass French doors overlooking the gorge. Why supper is not served in this room during the cooler months is a mystery to me.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room with a view as I did, but obviously no guarantees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Two friends and I booked a triple room with a view for one night. Upon arrival at about 1:00 in the afternoon, we were told they couldn't find our reservation. We had a copy of our email confirmation. After some searching, the receptionist said she found our reservation but our room wasn't ready. They offered to hold our luggage and put it in our room when it was ready.

We returned to the hotel about 4:00 in the afternoon. Upon entering our room, we realized they had put us in a room overlooking the street with our small balcony being shared with another room overlooking the air conditioning unit. When we complained, we were told there were no more rooms left. We asked to speak to the manager. He was not on the property and refused to talk to us on the phone. He finally agreed to return to the hotel but refused to do anything for us. After an extreme amount of arguing, the manager agreed to charge us the fee for a room without a view. Really??? We did not accept his magnanimous (extreme sarcasm) offer of charging us the price the room was supposed to be. We felt we should be compensated in some way for this huge mistake on their part. After we continued to argue with him, the only thing the manager ended up doing is giving us a discounted rate on the room. We thought he should have told the receptionist to do this. We shouldn't have had to argue for almost an hour to get it.

This was a very disappointing experience. It's difficult to find triple rooms. So we always book well in advance and reconfirm before leaving the US. Plus the reason for staying at his hotel was because of the view. It was obvious they gave our room away and didn't tell us. The way the situation was handled was so unprofessional. Although the hotel was very cute and in a good location, I can't recommend it. It was a very disappointing experience. Had the manager handled it in a different way, I would give it a different review.

Room Tip: There's no need to choose a room because they will overbook and put you wherever they feel like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Absolutely enjoyed and recommend this small boutique hotel. Starting from the reservation to the checkout was pleasant. We were attended by Ms. Angela who was so welcoming. It is located on a narrow street on the right side as you cross over the "Puente Nuevo." The location is fantastic, really close to several restaurants and tapa bars and the Plaza de Toros (Maestranza Ronda), where you can take a tour.

We stayed in the junior suite #104 and really think this room was perfect. The bathroom was spacious with two sinks located on opposite ends. The sitting area was cozy and as you open a french window, you have the spectacular view of the Ronda Gorge under the "Puente Nuevo" - great photo opportunities. There is a little loft with the most comfortable firm king size bed. We slept very well. We drove and reserved a parking space in their private parking garage that can accommodate 5 cars (additional $16 Euro per night, but so worth it given how narrow the streets are and there is no street parking close to the hotel).

As you finish checking in you can walk straight out into the entrance of the hotel's restaurant Albacara. Tables are dressed in linen and the view is again spectacular. So worth having lunch to oooh and awwwe just how beautiful the scenery is. We ordered a tapa sample plate with a glass of wine. The tapas were delicious. We returned late in the evening and I just wanted chicken consomme - this was not on the menu - the chef bent over backwards to prepare a nice bowl with fresh sliced boiled chicken to put into the broth if I wanted.

We really enjoyed our stay and are happy to have had the experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We got this hotel from Tripadvisor. It looked like a good location at a reasonable price and this turned out to be so. Room and hotel very Spanish which we liked and the staff were friendly and helpful. Great location in the old town just over the bridge with spectacular views from the restaurant although we did not actually eat there. No parking outside hotel but you can park at the end of the street mad walk to the hotel with bags to check in. Hotel has a parking but it costs €15 a day. If you do not have breakfast at the hotel there are plenty of places round about for a light breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montelirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montelirio

Address: Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#4 Family Hotel in Ronda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montelirio 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montelirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelirio Hotel Ronda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montelirio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.