We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Stunning view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montelirio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montelirio to your Saves list
Hotel Montelirio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Stunning view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We initially had a regular room and decided a room with a view was worth the upgrade - it was! The hotel only had a room with a view available for one of the nights we planned to stay there and they were helpful to give us some options to try to meet our request. We ended up taking the upgrade to the junior suite.

The room was beautiful - hardwood and wrought-iron fixtures and the lookout over the bridge and the gorge was absolutely stunning. What we hadn't expected was that we would hear the rush of the waterfall so we left the window open and fell asleep to the sound that night.

The staff was friendly and helpful and they switched into English as soon as they realized it was stronger than our Spanish. It was very welcoming.

The location was great with respect to getting to the train station / bus station / downtown / walking down the gorge. It was absolutely worth every penny and we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    74
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
181
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A fantastic location perched on the top of a cliff with views across to the other side of the gorge. The hotel is located a short walk across the bridge from the main town and is close to a number of attractions including the Museum in Mondragon's Palace (well worth a visit)

We had originally booked a cheaper room on the street side with no view - but upgraded on arrival to a lovely room. Parking was a bit a distance, but not a big deal unless you have a large car – some of the streets were very narrow.

The room and view turned a good stay into a great stay. This hotel has a lot of character

In summary, go for a room with a view, be prepared to pay extra for it and yes, it is worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - views are only on one side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

From start to finish, our stay at Montelirio was a delight. Our car was parked for us as we checked in, and collected as we checked out. We had nothing but pleasant dealings with staff who were very attentive but discreet. The property is beautiful and has been kept in immaculate condition. Views from our 'Malaga' room and from the restaurant are stunning. We were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary, and a complementary gourmet fruit platter was provided on our second day - a nice touch.
Montelirio is highly recommended and maybe we'll think about making the trip back from Australia for our 10th anniversary!

Room Tip: Our 'Malaga' room was very private and separate from the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribbean
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Probably the nicest property for the price ever visited! Lovely antique furniture and fittings, cosy corners, helpful staff, good restaurant and convientant to everything! Get a view room - worth every penny!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a view room and try the dinning room - very good service and food! Fish is always g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a great find! Right on the edge of the gorge, 2 minutes from the bridge down a quiet side street. Front desk staffed by Angela who couldn't have been more helpful - giving us driving directions, bringing us free pastries with our afternoon tea. Nice breakfast (might get busy if the hotel is full) with the best chocolate muffins I've ever eaten (and I've eaten a lot of chocolate muffins!)

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room with a view of the gorge - we had room 101 which was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely old hotel beautifully renovated. Close by the famous gorge so central for a walk around Ronda. Restaurant has views across the gorge. Car parking is done by hotel staff who will drive your car to a nearby garage once you have unloaded your bags. Very narrow street so you do block traffic while loading/unloading but this is the norm and not really an issue. Staff very helpful and everything about the hotel is done with taste and style.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my family (5 people total) and had a wonderful experience. When we first checked in, we discovered that we had accidentally booked for the following night. One of the rooms was luckily open, but they had to find us a substitute for the other reservation. They did so quickly and without complaint or additional charge, saving our trip. The rooms are very nice and feel like the mountain inns that I've found in Vermont. A limited number of rooms have views of the gorge, which are absolutely spectacular. Bathrooms were clean and modern, and beds were large and comfortable.

The location is great, just past the bridge (on the side opposite the bullring) and near the center of town. Reception continued to be friendly despite the initial stress we put them under, and called to make several reservations and inquiries for us.

We did not opt for breakfast, which carries an 11 euro/person charge. There are plenty of fine breakfast options in town that cost less than half of that.

In terms of parking, there is a lot a 7-8 minute walk from the hotel that they will direct you to that charges 16 euro/night.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to any travelers going through Ronda.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view (con vista) if possible. Simply spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montelirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montelirio

Address: Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#4 Family Hotel in Ronda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montelirio 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montelirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelirio Hotel Ronda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montelirio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.