We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but too much noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maestranza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maestranza to your Saves list
Hotel Maestranza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Virgen de la Paz 24, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Ronda
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Central location but too much noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband, ten year old daughter and myself visited Ronda last weekend for a birthday. We stayed here. It was okay but nothing outstanding. Not a four star in my opinion. On entering our room both my husband and I commented on how narrow the room was. We weren't too bothered because we thought we really only needed it to sleep in. We were going for a nice meal so thought we wouldn't be in the room long. The advantage of this hotel would be you would think the location but having been there, the location is bad because there is an incredible amount of street noise. I really don't know how you can avoid this because of the location. It backs onto a main square in the middle of Ronda so theres no escaping the noise. We didn't sleep well at all and were awoken several times throughout the night. Ronda is definitely worth a visit but pick your hotel a little away from the centre. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the street noise is at a minimum. Don't know if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    89
    50
    12
    8
See reviews for
28
108
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotels is in a very good location for a visit to Ronda. The on site parking is limited and at the bottom of the ramp there is a tight turn into the garage. Unfortunately when we arrived we found the ground floor was being refurbished so the was no guest lounge, cafeteria or bar and some of the parking spaces were being used by workmen but we managed to find a space. The hotels describes the rooms as having a street or courtyard view but I would dispute the description of a courtyard as it is only a light well to allow them to put windows in interior rooms, was only about 3 metres square and to see it you had to put your head out of the window and look down other than that the view was of the wall opposite. Our room was small, 3 metres x 4 metres and the bathroom was about 1 1/2 metres wide at its widest point and about twice the length of a normal bath. There was plenty of hot water and a good powerful shower. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, which is usual for Spanish hotels, so in the morning we asked at reception if we could get a cup of coffee and were taken down into the basement where breakfasts were being served. The coffee was the worst I have had in a long time and we were charged on our bill over 2.70 Euros for two cups.
The beds are very hard but the air conditioning/heating worked well. The digital tv has Spanish
german and french programs but there was no signal on any BBC chanels even though they were in the programe list

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is a perfect location for visiting Ronda, Directly in the centre of the town. Not that you can hear any noise at all! Large room for the two of us, it had a lounge, bedroom, 2 small balconies and a largish bathroom. My only complaint was that the bath leaked when you put it onto Jacuzzi mode, which We then had to use all of the towels we were given to clear it up, which left us with no dry towels, after looking at the floor below the bath area you could see that it had happened many of times before, and maybe it was slightly pricey for what we got but like i said that was the only problem, there was complimentary supplies in the bathroom, toothbrush and toothpaste a sponge, a comb a sewing kit, which is fantastic if your travelling around on minimal luggage. I would defiantly return to the hotel as everything was fine with our visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Never, in the field of service industries, has so little care been shown to a paying guest. Every moment we spent in this hotel felt like a chore for the staff. I know, I know... working life would be so much better without clients and customers. But this was taken to an entirely new level. The room was clean and functional but very small and not entirely feeling like 4 star's worth.

Where things went very wrong were when actually engaging the staff on the desk about anything - the reaction was universally surly and cursory. And the final straw was when leaving.

When we arrived our rental car was parked for us. Ooh! Nice, we thought. When checking out we were kind of expecting our car to be delivered back to us. No. We had to make our way into the basement car park to retrieve it ourselves. Imagine our slack-jawed surprise to find it parked with the back end actually in contact with the wall.

The lady on reception huffed and puffed when I returned to the lobby to explain that I was rather surprised at how poorly the car was parked and was given the brush off when I explain that because it was a rental car, if they had damaged it I would pass their details to the rental company. Eventually she deigned to come down to have a look. During the interim, my girlfriend had taken some pictures, because, you know, we've watched CSI.

Reception lady shrugged when she saw it and told me to move the car. I did. There were scratches on the rear bumper and paint on the wall. She rubbed her hand over the new blemishes and declared "Old. These old. Already there", made a Pontius Pilate hand-washing gesture and marched off.

In the words of the great philosopher, "well, eff you very much".

Seriously, avoid this hotel if you want to be treated like a human being. Utter, utter ess-aitch-eye-tee-ee.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

On the plus side - great location and has an elevator and on site parking (for a fee) in the basement. That's why we chose it. We booked a triple room online on a booking site and in the booking arrangements and in our confirmation email, it clearly stated we were booking a room with a "private balcony".
We arrived and were shown to a dingy, dark room up quite a number of stairs (between floors) and quite a long way down corridors. The only window was on to a service well and even with the curtains open, you need lights on in the room even in the middle of the day to see.
When I (politely) pointed out the discrepancy between what we had in writing that we had booked and what we were given, all we got was an arrogant shrug. Balcony is not possible with a triple room, it seems. An apology would have gone down nicely but none was forthcoming. Though the room was clean, it was not pleasant. In addition, one of our party had mobility issues and stairs and the distance from the lift was an issue.
Still, it was just over the road from the bull ring and park with views.

Room Tip: Don't choose a triple room - you might have better luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Saying that everything is near the bull ring which by the way you should go and see and do not forget the audio guide.The small hotel is opposite bull ring and central for all activities in Rondo. We had breakfast in a cafe around the corner. The churros were really good. The hotel is old fashioned but has its own parking so was convenient. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was clean with a powerful shower. The view from 310 is nothing to write about .

Room Tip: Back room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice enough hotel with a decent size, comfortable room, but the real attraction here is the location. Right opposite Plaza del Toros and a stones throw from Puente Nuevo Bridge and a short walk to the old town. There is also underground parking (although somewhat pricey at € 11/night), so you can safely leave the car for the duration of the visit to Ronda.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acinipo
Hotel Acinipo
#27 of 36 in Ronda
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#15 of 36 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Francisco - Ronda
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Cayetano
Hotel San Cayetano
#17 of 36 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Poeta de Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maestranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maestranza

Address: c/ Virgen de la Paz 24, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maestranza 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Maestranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestranza Hotel Ronda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maestranza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.