We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucholic and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alavera de los Banos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alavera de los Banos to your Saves list
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
C/Molino de Alarcon S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ronda
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bucholic and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We loved this quaint hotel. The guest service was fantastic and we were steered toward a wonderful restaurant that I might not be able to spell... Almocadar. The views overlooking the royal stables and the surrounding hills and stone walls were gorgeous. It was the only time in the whole vacation that I didn't feel the need to be on the move. We sat by the pool with a bottle of wine and took it all in. Breakfast was lovely, too.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    73
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
244
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Friendly little hotel with quaint character and helpful owners/staff, but noisy, so noisy. Early morning awakenings by very loud, barking dogs in the immediate vicinity and neighbouring, flushing toilets like crashing waterfalls. Virtually no amenities/creature comforts and very cramped room - the bathroom was excessively so. Breakfast was excellent. Location is picturesque but not entirely practical for anyone with any form of physical limitation since it is at the very bottom of a steep hill towards the outer limit of the town, a long and demanding walk (struggle) from the railway and bus stations, particularly the return route upwards. Handy for the old, historic district of the town, though. In view of my experience somewhat a disappointment and, perhaps, too expensive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We have just come back from a trip to southern Spain, and one of the highlights was undoubtedly our stay at this lovely little hotel.
From the moment we arrived and were welcomed with a choice of room, to the time we reluctantly left two days later, we were treated with nothing but courtesy, friendliness, and warmth.
The hotel is situated at the foot of the old city walls on the edge of open countryside, and is a little peaceful oasis.
While the rooms were small, they had everything we wanted, and the ambience of the main downstairs area where breakfast is served is a perfect example of tasteful, artistic design and warmth.
Breakfast was tasty and a delight. The garden area is a place to relax aftera busy day out sightseeing, and aall in all it is hard to fault this small hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Nestled below the town, with achingly beautiful views, Alavera de los Banos is both unassuming and elegant. The decor refreshingly recalls Mexico more than Spanish Baroque. The rooms are modest--we stayed in 2, coming and going, but thoughtfully appointed. The common area is large and very cozy to read or write in, as well as conducive to chatting with other guests. There is a lovely selection of art books to browse. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially owner Christian R, who provides tireless service. We were traveling rather slowly, and in fact extended our stay by 2 days because we felt so at home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We had a lovely time at Alavera on our anniversary trip to southern Spain. The inn is picturesque, with a beautiful pool and garden area for relaxing. (We wish it could have been a tad bit warmer while we were there, so we could have enjoyed the pool even more!)

As some commenters have noted, the rooms tend on the smaller side. We had what I think was the smallest room in the place the first night (which also came with a loud rooster outside, and unfortunately I'm a light sleeper). When we asked if we could be moved for our second night, Christian was most gracious and arranged it for us. It all worked out well.

Christian also gave us some great restaurant suggestions (specifically Almocabar - you should seriously go there if you want some amazing food), and the breakfast served each morning at the inn was excellent.

Thank you for a lovely time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

The hotel was a pleasant surprise after our previous hotel in Granada. It is hard to find on the edge of Ronda so a GPS helps but there is parking outside which is free (a rarity in our experience in Spain).

The hotel is cosy and rustic with lots of personal touches. It has the appearance of a boutique hotel without trying too hard.

Our room and bathroom were small but we were not expecting a huge suite for the price. There is no air conditioning but we left the window open and enjoyed the natural ventilation. Breakfast is excellent with nice choices but if you sit outside there may be wasps so if that bothers you sit inside.

It is a very steep walk up to the center of town where the restaurants are but that added to the atmosphere (just don't try it in high heels). The hotel has a small pool and lots of outside seating in a pretty garden.

Ronda itself is very nice and the hotel owner suggested a nice driving tour through the other Pueblos Blancos that we enjoyed immensely. The town is surrounded by national parks and lots of hiking trails . I wish had more time there.

Restaurant quality in the town varied enormously. Avoid the bunch by the bridge which cater to the daily tour groups that bus into Ronda.

We loved the hotel and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Alavera de los Banos was by far the nicest place we stayed in a two week trip around Spain. We found the overall accommodations to be very relaxing and enjoyable. The room was beautiful, the breakfast was fantastic (especially for Spain), and the owner, Christian, was very helpful and courteous. I will warn that Alavera de los Banos is at the bottom of a very steep hill, on the edge of Ronda (which added to the charm, and the daily cardio, for us). Also be warned that it is in a pastoral area--there are sheep, horses and chickens in the vicinity. We personally loved that aspect of our stay--but others may not. We would definitely recommend Alavera del los Banos to other travelers. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alavera de los Banos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alavera de los Banos

Address: C/Molino de Alarcon S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#5 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medieval jewry of Ronda "Alavera de los Banos" is a small family business offering affordable accommodation.Alavera's eleven rooms are all fitted with central heating and en suite bathrooms, and have superb views of the Serrania de Ronda and the city walls surrounding Ronda. At the back of the hotel is a split-level garden complete with swimming pool and garden furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alavera de los Banos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alavera De Los Banos Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alavera de los Banos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.