We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bodega El Juncal Ronda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Bodega El Juncal Ronda to your Saves list
Hotel Bodega El Juncal Ronda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera A-366, de Ronda, El Burgo, Km 1, 29500 Ronda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Ronda
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A mixed bag.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

Depending on what you are looking for, you might love or dislike (but definitely not hate) El Juncal. The setting is majestic with pools, outdoor seating areas, and right next door, a working vineyard. We happened to be there on wine harvest day and the wine-making process was to begin immediately but unfortunately we had to leave. Those who live in urban areas and rarely get to see a starry sky will be in heaven! It was so magical to actually see even the Milky Way!
Our room was spacious with a very large private terrace convenient for reading or just enjoying the perfect weather. As a destination, El Juncal could keep you happy and relaxed for many days. But, and here is "may dislike" part, you will not be able to walk back and forth to the town of Ronda. So if that is what you want to do, you'll have to take a taxi or try to figure out where on earth you could possibly park. In season, I'm sure parking would be impossible. Because of the terrain and that it's a hundreds of years old town, cars just are not easily accommodated.
Rondo is one of the fabled "white towns" so named for the painted houses on the top of a sheer cliff. The history is fascinating, with Ronda being the last stronghold of the Moors, who were there until 1485! The Catholics had long since overtaken the Moors in other areas and once you see the topography, you will see why Ronda was easily defended. In fact, up to about 60 years ago, Ronda was a favorite hiding place for bandits and other criminals. A delightful museum in town pays tribute to them, including some women who were as bad as the men!
El Juncal contains a restaurant that attracts guests and outsiders too. It is quite a surprise given the almost rural setting to find such splendid offerings presented in a quite cosmopolitan style. The food was delicious, among the best meals we had in Spain, but you need to know that there is a set menu. The wine from the vineyard is offered and purchase of past vintages is possible as well as other wines.
All in all, we very much enjoyed El Juncal. We liked the very modern hotel in the country setting. There was clearly an attention to detail in the choice of materials used and the furnishings both indoors and out. The hostess, from Czech Republic, I believe, was fluent in many languages and therefore could converse and be helpful to the guests from countries from Germany to UK to Latin America. The small trading library was a godsend since we had run out of reading material and still two days left before flying home. The varied books left behind spoke well of the previous guests! Quite a lovely time.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

We stayed at this hotel as an emergency as my wife had been taken ill and could not travel immediately upon leaving our hired villa.

The staff here could not have been nicer or more helpful. Even though we pitched up at 1100, long before normal check in, they diverted cleaning staff to get one of the two rooms ready. They were prepared to provide anything that my wife wanted by way of drink or to eat and even went to the lengths of replicating a commercially available lemon drink which she particularly fancied and they did not stock.

The suite we had (room 3) was just about perfect for some recuperation with a big bathroom, a sitting area and its own private terrace. Our children had room 8 on the first floor which was spacious and had a roof terrace just across the corridor.

As we had not planned to go there I had not read any of the comments on here. I agree that it is between a school ( the hospital is beyond the school) and an industrial site but both are a respectable distance away and it is in within its own vineyard. Clearly we were there in school holidays and only stayed Saturday night so it would be inaccurate to say we had experienced any problems which these buildings might create. It is only a short taxi ride into Ronda.

The set dinner menu was five courses for EUR 36 which was very good and their own wine was excellent. Breakfast was superb and I recommend having the the full version if you can.

This is a stylish and well run boutique hotel which will appeal to many travellers who want luxury at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Beautiful room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

This boutique hotel, with contemporary decoration, offered very friendly service; great food; delicious yet pricey wine; a very comfortable room - but a poor night’s sleep. Thanks to almost continual barking of dogs that were kept in a kennel near the hotel property, we had to close our bedroom windows, crank up the air-con and put in ear plugs.
To be fair to the hotel, I don’t think the dogs have always been there. Next morning, when we commented about the poor night’s sleep, the receptionist apologised and explained that the neighbouring land owner was keeping hunting dogs in an improvised kennel. We were invited to write a comment, to help the hotel in its legal action against the neighbour.
So the peace & tranquility promised on the web site were not there the night we stayed but during the day the pool area was peaceful and luxurious. The inspiring views described on the web site were there but it is worth noting that this hotel is not as isolated as it appears from the web site photography.
It is located not far from Ronda’s hospital, just off a main road and it is in the shadow of a large building, army accommodation I believe. Having said that, it does offer views from the garden and from many rooms and during the day, lazing by the pool, I didn’t at all feel close to the town, but then again, I didn’t feel deep in the countryside either.
The hotel is elegantly furnished in a clean, contemporary style that makes a very welcome change for the rustic charm or chintzy coziness of other boutique hotels in the area.
The staff were all Spanish and very helpful. I was there with my Spanish partner to celebrate a birthday, so I booked the luxury, duplex house that stands alone in the garden, as a special treat. It was a lovely room and I was offered a superb rate that represented a significant upgrade from one of the other standard rooms.
The bed was on a mezzanine level, with crisp white linen, bathrobes, slippers and candles. After a genuine welcome, great quality bed and linen is way up there on my list of priorities when staying in a hotel! This was a really comfy room and we could have stayed for days!
Fresh flowers decorated the living area that had a WiFi, TV and sofa. The bathroom was elegant but on arrival really smelt. Plumbing is an issue in Spain sometimes and in Ronda especially one can sometimes expect drain smells due to the town’s sewage system that is somewhat overloaded (as of late 2007 the town is having a new system installed, so things should greatly improve). I mentioned the issue of the bathroom smell to the staff, and the team swiftly came with bleach as well as a plug in air freshener, so it was taken care of.
Dinner in summer is offered on the romantic terrace, with atmospheric lighting and candles. I asked if we could have our meal served on our private terrace and the staff were more than happy to oblige. A table was set up with champagne and candles. The food was innovative, tasty and the service natural, friendly and professional.
I took the wine recommendation – a house red from the property’s own bodega; but be warned the wines here are pricey!
So, although I didn’t sleep well, we still had a great time. The warm welcome and friendly service, lovely room and great food compensated for the problems with the dogs. Let’s hope peace is restored to this corner of Ronda soon.

  • Liked — Clean, crisp, contemporary
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2006

This hotel is beautifully designed and situated just outside town in a nice quiet place. It should be ideal for combining a trip into the city with being able to get away and lounge around the pool in the afternoon.

However, this place just doesn't seem to be able to decide what it is. It's a vineyard and this is the only excuse I can find for the appalling staff. They ignore you when you arrive and ignore you when you're there. You can't get anything to eat unless you want the big set menu in the evening or they will maybe make you a ham sandwich if pushed! This is a problem given that you absolutely cannot walk anywhere else and need to take a car/cab wherever you go. There are no price lists anywhere so you don't know how much a coffee or a G&T is. Bizarre, especially in what is not a cheap hotel.

The decor is lovely, but the wooden floors can be noisy so make sure you stay on the first floor, it's too noisy on the ground.

  • Liked — beautiful decor and combining city with rest
  • Disliked — staff, no service, no food
  • Tips/Secrets — take your own drinks and food if you don't want a full on dinner, stay upstairs not down
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

After the positive reviews and great website, we were thouroughly disappointed by this hotel.

Location: On the website you get the impression that the hotel is like an old finca in the mountains around Ronda. However, it is in the outskirts of the city and close to the industrial area and compared to other hotels the views are extremely limited. There is open space in only one direction, which is where the hotel terrace and pool are facing. Our room did have a terrace, but with only a concrete wall separating it from the parking lot.

Hotel: When you first arrive at the hotel, it looks like a adesign hotel but if you take a closer look it shows that it is not properly maintained-the paint is peeling on the terrace furniture, dirty reception carpet, etc. Note that there is no bar or lounge area (besides two couches in the entrance area) so if the weather does not permit being outside you can't really go anywhere but your room.

Room: The room does look like in any good city hotel but is lacking any personal touch and attention to detail that are normally the trademark of boutique hotels. Also, the room had clearly seen better times: stains on the carpet, worn bed sheets, no sink plug in bathroom, hole in the wall from where a clothes hook had been,... stuff that would generally not be an issue but is definitely not ok at this price. Even the fruit on the complimentary plate was half-rotten and only the green was left of the orchid that was supposed to be flower decoration.

Restaurant: The hotel's restaurant offers a menu at 36€ which we didn't try, the restaurant itself also does not have a view and does not look special. Breakfast was comparatively expensive at 12€ but was ok one morning, the next we first got orange juice which tasted foul (which was of course replaced) and the fresh fruit plate from the morning before had chnaged into canned pineapple and canned apricots.

The overall impression might have been better if we had had more time on pool and terrace but we left a day early since we did not enjoy the stay and felt like it was overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2006

I have to admit my husband and I have a special place in our hearts for Juncal as it is the hotel we used to have our wedding back in July 2004. Needless to say we have wonderful memories at every corner.

We just went back recently for a trip down memory lane and it's even more beautiful than before...as the garden has matured and even more details have been added to the reception area and rooms.

If you are looking to get away from the world and enjoy a peaceful romantic break - this is the place for you. And of course if you are looking for a place to host a wedding - I highly recommend it. We had the ceremony in the garden, cocktails by the pool with a local Andalusian band, and dinner under the stars (with an enormous moon that rose above the mountains in mid course).

Be sure to have dinner one night at Tragabuches - the owner's husband runs the place and the food is superb.

  • Liked — The setting and pool
  • Disliked — Not sure if they have business services - but I didn't care
  • Tips/Secrets — Tragabuches for dinner - it's in Ronda and the hotel can make reservations for you
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2006

My wife and 2 children ( 10 and 13 ) stayed here for 2 nights. We chose this hotel based on reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed!!.
This is a beautiful hotel which is quiet and away from the action of the town. The views are splendid and the gardens and pool are a haven.
The rooms are spacious and airy and decor is modern and trendy.
The staff are helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was the only meal we ate at this hotel and it was delicious.
We did however, eat dinner at the Restaurant Tragabuches, in Ronda, which is owned by the hotel. This is one of the most renowned restaurants in Andalusia and was spectacular. Also, it did not break the bank!

Ronda is one of the prettiest and most delightful stops in Southern Spain and El Juncal is a great hotel to complete the treat. The hotel is about a five minute drive from the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bodega El Juncal Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodega El Juncal Ronda

Address: Carretera A-366, de Ronda, El Burgo, Km 1, 29500 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bodega El Juncal Ronda 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bodega El Juncal Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Juncal Ronda
Ronda El Juncal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bodega El Juncal Ronda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.