We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum, yum!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Locos Tapas

De Locos Tapas
Arquitecto Pons Sorolla, 7, 29400 Ronda, Spain
+34 951 08 37 72
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 205 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Spanish, Fusion, Tapas, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Small tapas restaurant with a nice atmosphere. And modern tapas fusion andalusian, basque, with a nice prices. English speaking and different tapas all days. Full Sunday and Monday lunch closed. Not bar service. Open 1 pm to 4 pm for lunch and 7:30 pm to 11 pm.
Festus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum, yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

While on a vacation in Andalucia we decided to stop at De locos tapas. We had been using the mass transit of Spain but were now in a car looking for special places.
Because this restaurant was rated so highly on Trip Advisor we decided to give it a try.
It's a small eating area downstairs with the main eating area upstairs. The upstairs might hold 20 if maxed out.
We had been in Andalucia for a week and were struggling with what we were ordering (I used a simple Spanish-English dictionary.)
At this restaurant the owner explained every tapas on the menu. The menu frequently changes so the dishes do too!
We had a couple drinks with 4 tapas and one dessert. Everything was wonderful. The tastes were fantastic. Oh to be able to eat like this at home!
So definitely 5 out of 5. Very, very good food and nice owners.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    80
    20
    15
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“So good we went back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I often read reviews in which people say they liked a restaurant so much they went back again but have never done it since I usually want to try different restaurants when I travel. De Locos was an exception. True, there are not as manydining options in Ronda as iin other places, but I think we would have returned to De Locos regardless. I'm just glad we were there in the off season so that getting in (twice no less) was not a problem! Guillermo is so passionate about what he's doing, you can practically taste it -- and when the food comes, you do! Everything is beautifully presented and absolutely delicious not to mention unique since nothing in this restaurant looks or tastes like tapas you get anywhere else. It's no accident this small, modest-looking restaurant tops the tripadvisor list in Ronda.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. There was 5 of us and we probably tried more 11 different items. We liked the foie gras and ginger ice-cream so much that at the end of the meal, we ordered two more.
Guillamo (William) was an excellent host. It was great to have him explain each tapas dish to us and how it was prepared.
Thank you and keep up the good work, De locos tapas!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“No doubt! It's a No.1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was the highlight restaurant of our two weeks in Spain/Portugal. Truly a delight.

Don't be put off by its location or decor as it is all insignificant compared to the food. This is Tapas at its best.

Only 4 tables upstairs and it is 'first come, first served'. We went early to ensure we got to experience it.

The Owner/Chef is an awesome host, who tells us he left the 'big smoke' for a quieter life and has obviously succeeded.

The tapas were unique combinations of flavour and texture, and could appear on any Michelin star restaurant menu. Price seems high when you compare to other tapas places, but put this to the back of your mind as it is worth every penny. I wish we could go back again!

Seek out and enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gastronomic Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

A-maz-ing ... A true gem of a find. Not pretentious at all, with combinations of flavours that work brilliantly.

It is worth the drive to Ronda just for the food here alone.

It is a tiny venue, so hurry!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Locos Tapas also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to De Locos Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Locos Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.