We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Top Hotel Values in Ronda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Gabriel to your Saves list
Hotel San Gabriel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ronda
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ronda, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“One of the Top Hotel Values in Ronda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

My family has stayed at Hotel San Gabriel more than a dozen times. This is a family-owned hotel, run by a former bank executive from Unicaja. Service, location, and hotel is extraordinary. It is hands-down the best hotel value in Ronda for the money. Average room is under 100 euros. People who know Ronda consider the Hotel San Gabriel one of the top 3 hotels in town. In the center of Ronda's old quarter.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    167
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
92
560
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Beautiful little hotel tucked away on a side street in Ronda. Original hotel was built in 1736 but redone in 1998, Nicely appointed rooms and common areas. Only 21 rooms. Staff is very friendly and eager to help. Would higghly recommend. Room was typical European small but clean and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Great place to stay in Ronda. We were planning to stay for a night but loved the place and hence extended the stay by a day. loved the place and the juniur suite that we stayed in.

As expected tripdvisor never fails.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg S.C.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Wonderful old European feel. Wish we had stayed more than 2 nites. Great hotel, enjoyable town, for exploring and eating. Staff counldn't have been nicer. We stayed in Jr. Suite and it was decorated in antiques. I felt like royalty. Give this place 10 stars !!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Chose as was No 1 rated on tripadvisor.co.uk. Not disappointed. Cars are parked a short walk away in a small car park with a wonderful view - you are spoilt for breathtaking vistas in Ronda - room was quite dark but perfectly nice looking out onto a small courtyard, room No 1. Breakfast was excellent and the hotel is very well run with excellent staff. I would definitely recommend it. Ronda itself is a must-see of Andalucia. It may not have an Alhambra, Alcazar or Mezquita, but its natural wonders are equally breathtaking. Also best tapas bar in Spain - on hotel's advice list, a bodego off the main square.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

As much as I enjoy travelling on my own, some places are just too lovely to be wasted on one person. The Hotel San Gabriel is such a place. Perfectly located near the famous gorge, beautifully restored and full of period charm, the rooms are spacious yet cosy. The hosts are friendly and efficient, and turned out to be patient and reassuring when I explained some minor transport problems in my halting Spanish.

Next time, I'm taking someone I love.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain and UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

My family and I live in Spain and have just returned from a lovely trip to Ronda for my wifes birthday staying at the Hotel San Garbriel. The hotel is in a perfect location in the old part of Ronda close to all the tourist sites that Ronda has to offer.

All the staff were very friendly and make you feel very welcome. We chose a Junior Suite as the differance in price made it very affordable and added to the occasion. I asked if it would be possible for a bottle of cava to be in the room as it was a special occasion and was amazed to find it was complimentry.

The hotel is typicaly Spanish and perfect for the real Spanish experiance. We will certainly stay there again soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#12 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#8 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#4 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Address: Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#1 Family Hotel in Ronda
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Gabriel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.