We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place in a very nice area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Gabriel to your Saves list
Hotel San Gabriel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ronda
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place in a very nice area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Hotel San Gabriel is a very nice location. Located directly in the old center of Ronda its historical character gaves us the feeling to be hundreds of years away from our hactically world. On the other hand side the equipment is modern and the service is very good. If you like castle hotels or similar you should stay there on a trip through the wonderful countryside of Andalucia!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    167
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
92
560
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This one has it all -- good location (walk to all the points of interest including the stairway down to the postcard view of Ronda), great service and great rooms. The service in particular was outstanding - upon checkin I asked if the room would be small for a 3rd bed and the lady showed us all 3 possible alternatives so that we could choose the one we like. I chose a bigger room, she did not charge me extra except the cost of the 3rd bed. At check-out the lady also asked me if she could help me with my drive to Sevilla (possible routes, etc), and we enjoyed our scenic drive via Arcos. Breakfast was great. We had very good tapas at Tragatapas (do try it!). Overall we would recommend this without reservation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Although the weather during our April stay in Ronda was akin to a British November we enjoyed our stay in this spectacularly located town and our hotel was perfectly located although with not with views over the gorge it was only a short stroll from the cliffs. The hotel is like a beautifully furnished traditional Spanish home.
it has a small court yard and a tiny cinema. Reception staff is friendly and helpful and the bedrooms, although short of daylight [which in hot weather is probably a boon] are beautifully clean and quiet. The only disappointment was the breakfast which had limited choice of boring bland food –this was probably a deliberate ploy and breakfast choice “B” included the option of a hot dish but cost considerably more. Breakfast was also by an appointment made the previous evening which left little or no flexibility for an oversleep or change of plan. Despite the many pluses are disappointment with the breakfast would mean that if we did return we would not use the San Gabriel again. The hotel recommends a number of restaurants but our research established that they were either very expensive or in unexciting locations - surly if eating in Ronda visitors would want locations with views overlooking the cliffs. I have reviewed the locations at which we ate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana A, Propietario at Hotel San Gabriel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your review for us is very important to know the experience of our guest to work everyday to be better.

We are very happy that you enjoy our hotel and your stay in Ronda and we are passionate to work to meet your expectations for this reason we are very sad that you didn´t like the breakfast, we are an small hotel and for this reason we decided to make hourly reservations for the breakfast, like in a Restaurant, to be sure that when you will arrive you will have your table available. You can have breakfast at any time but we cannot guarantee a table available ( as we are also travellers, we have suffer the annoying experience of not finding a available table so we thought booking table for breakfast could be a good idea). We will love if you could recommend us with type of food you will like to have in our breakfast for 5 €/ person we are very gratefull for your help. We have clients of all the nationalities and is very dificult to match with all the preferences.

About our recommendations for Tapas Bar and Restaurants, we give you options from 15€ / person till 35 € / person, we know that all of them have a good quality-price rate, most of this places are recommend it in Trip Advisor. We personaly make this selection of Tapas Bar and Restaurants because we personaly use this places and we know the good quality in the food and the good service that they offer and of course all of them exist, is a pity that you could´nt find it

We hope we can see you in again in your next visit and we can be again “ Your House in Ronda”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were on a driving trip and wanted a historic hotel with parking. The San Gabriel has a car drop off in-front of the hotel and public parking a 5 minute walk away at EUR 9 per day which worked well for us.

The good stuff:
a. The hotel and room are historic - lots of character and we had a view of orange trees
b. The location is good, everything in the Old Town is just a few minutes walk away
c. The staff were helpful and suggested some interesting drives around the countryside

The less good stuff:
a. There was not tea/coffee making in the room
b. There is a EUR 1 charge per day for the room safe (a first for me)

You should also be aware that some of the rooms have lots of steps in them which is fine for me but not so great if you have mobility issues.

And you must try Restaurante Bodega San Francisco which is a short walk away - amazing and very "local".

I would stay at Hotel San Gabriel if I visited Ronda again

Room Tip: Avoid the "courtyard view" rooms - the courtyard doesn't look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We spent one night at Hotel San Gabriel and wished we'd planned for a longer stay. We arrived in the late morning and although our room, a junior suite, wasn't ready, the staff was very helpful storing our bags and giving us information about Ronda including maps and a walking tour.

We completed about half the walking tour before returning to the hotel where we were shown to our spacious room with a large bathroom. The room was very comfortable, well appointed with plenty of room to spread out and matched the charming feel of the rest of the hotel.

Breakfast is reasonable at 5 euro and the breakfast staff is friendly and attentive.

This hotel and the Hospederia De El Churrasco in Córdoba were the best hotels of our trip and the most reasonably priced.

We hope to visit Ronda again and when we do we will definitely stay at Hotel San Gabriel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel staff were warm and friendly, helping us get situated and chatting with us when we showed interest in talking about Spain with them. The hotel also upgraded us to a wonderful, large room because we were on a honeymoon, which we really appreciated!!

The room was comfortable and quiet, and the atmosphere in the hotel was quiet, fancy, and nice. The place had the most extensive book exchange collection I've ever seen, with many shelves of books in English, Spanish and other languages, as well as an interesting ensemble of coffee table books laid out for visitors to peruse on Ronda and Andalucia.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel was a last minute booking for our driving trip around the Andalucia. What an amazing place! We have now made it our favourite boutique hotel. It is very conveniently located in historic Ronda ... a simple walk in either direction will take you outside of the city walls of the old city and into the new town. The staff was not only friendly but exceptionally helpful with recommendations and advice for "touring" around and eating. Without being asked, they advised and offered to make reservations at a local restaurant (only had a total of 9 tables, with some that sat only 2). We had booked the basic room which meant that the physical floor space was a little smaller than the other option, but this did not affect our stay at all. The room was lovely and overlooked the patio which was a terrance centrally located in the building. We appreciated reading about the cost for breakfast. Can't remember whether they explained about the cost, but we did know ahead of time. The cost is reasonable for the breakfast, but thanks to the prior reviews we were in the know. We would highly recommend staying @ Hotel Saint Gabriel. The location is quiet and they also have access to a parking lot! We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#12 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#8 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#4 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Address: Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ronda
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Gabriel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.