We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Gabriel to your Saves list
Hotel San Gabriel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ronda
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Wonderful, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is an wonderful hotel; charming, quiet, good location. The staff are attentive, friendly and helpful. The included breakfast gets the day off to a good start. The hotel is located easy walking distance to the main sites in Ronda, but away from any traffic or noise and only 5 minutes from the train station (6 Euro cab fare).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    167
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
92
559
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is an excellent small hotel, formed from conversion of an impressive and interestingly arranged family home. The decor and antique furniture blends a feel of the early 20th century with modern facilities. The welcome and information provided are good and it offers a classy and comfortable stay. I particularly liked the lady who greeted us and the quality of the bathroom and the plants, books and large collection of signed photos of film stars, writers and other celebrities. You feel part of an elite, without that costing the earth.

On the down side it can be a difficult hotel to find if you rely on out-of-date SatNav and attempt to drive across Ronda with it (although I agree that if you enter Ronda by the right route then it is straightforward). I also found the central heating (a rarity in Spain) made the room a bit too hot for comfort and although we turned it off it took a while to cool down. And breakfast was not quite as luxurious as some, although reasonable value. While our bathroom had a jacuzzi, I don't know if the pipes were harbouring gunk or whether the toiletries contained solids, but there was an awful lot of scum left at the end! And if you have mobility difficulties you may prefer a hotel which is easier to get to on the level from the car park.

Ordinarily a hotel with those disadvantages I would mark down as a 4 star. But this hotel is really so good in other respects that would be really unfair. I have to add it to my elite selection.

Gezellig is a Dutch word that doesn't translate well into English. It combines a cosiness with style and welcome and homeliness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very atmospheric with lots of charm. The attention to detail shows both in the decor, it is full of antiques and great books and pictures. We stayed in a suite on the ground floor with a stunning four poster bed. On a rainy afternoon we sat in the cosy cinema room watching movies. The location is easy to reach by car and within walking distance of all the sites. The staff were very helpful too. A lovely hotel in s beautiful town.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed 2 days at this lovely hotel and loved it. It is a historic home with lovely rooms, nice breakfast and attentive hosts. Highly recommend. It was an eventful arrival as our GPS took us a very challenging one-way road into town... felt like Mario Andretti. But once got there, stopped and got directions to a nearby parking lot and settled in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel was so much better than expected (since it's not at all expensive). And the local tips the hotel printed recommended us a very very nice restaurant, best of all we had in this 10 day Spain trip!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on 11th January 2014 in one of their junior suites. On arrival a member of staff came out to the car and welcomed us to the hotel and offered help with luggage. Checkin was straightforward and we were then shown to our suite, The suite was lovely and warm and very inviting. The rest of the hotel is equally attractive and all the staff are very helpful.

Would I recommend this hotel to friends - yes without hesitation

Will I return to the hotel- definitely, as soon as I find an excuse to go back to Ronda

Room Tip: The junior suite we had was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Beautiful, charming hotel in a great location. Very good value for money. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Convenient if you arrive by car since they let you park outside during check-in and then have an arrangement with a nearby car park where you can park at a discount.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#12 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#8 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#4 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Address: Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ronda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Gabriel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.