We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book this hotel. you'll be pleased you did” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Gabriel to your Saves list
Hotel San Gabriel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Ronda
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Book this hotel. you'll be pleased you did”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. staff very friendly and helpfull. I cant say enough good things about it. great location with all you need in 2 minutes walk. lots of character but with quality. really nice square 1 minute away and best restaurants about 2 minutes. what more do you want?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    137
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
74
458
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel which is off a little side street but within walking distance of all the main attractions in Ronda is really a gem. Family owned and run 22 bedrooms which used to belong to the family as a private house.

The house is delightfully Spanish and doesn't try to be anything it is not. It isn't a full service hotel but rather a beautiful B and B. Rates are very reasonable, rooms are delightful and good sizes and atmosphere was a delight..

Slight issue with the location of the aircon which was blowing gale across the bed but it didn't marr the visit.

Would recommend this lovely boutique little hotel to anyone coming to spend time in Ronda.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite on ground floor (Room 23) and a double (Room 1) both were fine but the a/c in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel was well appointed, rooms good and staff mostly very friendly.

We were a little lost as to touristy things to do and our reception couldnt help.
Purely by chance our taxi driver from the train station had suggested a tour of the white villages or "Pueblo Blanco" for several hours. We decided that 120E was not 'too'expensive and took this option.
One of the most amazing bit of driving and sighseeing I have done. The driver Daniel Ponce Serrato was superb and our tour lasted about 4 hours with no stone unturned.
Worth every penny and a good tip.

I have lost his email address but Taxi Ronda will find him I am sure.

Also there is a man who 'hangs 'around the main square who will give you an hour tour for a donation ? which is also great value.

Room Tip: Do the Taxi trip with Daniel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Andalucian Cycling Experience booked us into Hotel San Gabriel for the beginning and end of our cyle tour in mid/late June. A great hotel, location and city! I would return in an instant!
We had an issue with our room at the beginning of the trip so they surprised us with the honeymoon suite when we returned at the end of our cycle tour. They also threw in champagne, flowers, free mini-bar, covered our parking fee for the week and gave us free museum tickets. Unbelievable customer service! I'm think it helped a bit that I told them we were celebrating our 25th anniversary!
The breakfast each morning and service was excellent and I can't say enough about Marta. Marta was a pleasure to deal with and an excellent ambassador for the hotel.
Parking a short walk down the street (stop at the Mondragon bar - also great service!) and seemed very secure with a guard and gates.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our family of four stayed at Ronda for two nights the second week of July. We really enjoyed the ambience of the hotel, unlike any other we have stayed. The staff spoke good English which really helped. The rooms were quirky and full of personality. Having the little lounges and seating areas throughout the hotel is lovely. The hotel is tucked away but with easy walking distance to all that Ronda has to offer. We had a lot of fun finding our way through the winding streets of the old town. The bullring in Ronda is a must see. Hotel San Gabriel is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We had two junior suites and they were just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel in the old part of Ronda. Beautiful old building and clean rooms. The staff was kind and super helpful, guiding us to the parking and advising on where to go. And they were very attentive towards our one year old child. Would love to stay at Hotel San Gabriel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Genuine, attractive olde worlde hotel, excellent, interested reception staff and service. Internet available for free (time limit was fair). Good breakfast with choice of cereal, fruit and yoghurt. Good location especially if you are driving and need to park a car-reception staff assisted in this.

Room Tip: Any room is good as no passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Address: Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#2 Family Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Gabriel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.