We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service and attention to detail!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Gabriel to your Saves list
Hotel San Gabriel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ronda
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Exceptional service and attention to detail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved our stay at the Hotel San Gabriel in Ronda. It was truly wonderful.
The service you get from a family run business compares to none. Ana was extremely knowledgable and gave us great recommendations for restaurants and walks. We especially loved Los Casadores seafood restaurant. It had the best seafood we tasted on our whole trip to Spain, Delicious!!!

Thanks you Hotel San Gabriel for pampering us and making us feel so special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    149
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
83
516
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ronda was in the middle of our two-week trip to Spain. Hotel is located just in the center of the city, relatively easy to find although GPS doesn't have it on its hotels list. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. We have got upgraded to a great room with a huge bathroom. They also gave us very helpful information about restaurants. Breakfast was exceptional. Hotel is very personal and unique. Charming place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent 3 marvellous days in the Hotel San Gabriel in Ronda Andalusia recently. Everything was absolutely perfect during our stay there. The accommodation was second to none : the room although not particularly large was tastefully decorated and had a very nice ensuite bathroom with a jacuzzi bath. It was private as it gave out on a small patio. We had asked for a quiet room so that was fine. All the staff, no matter who they were could not do enough for you and gave you lots of supplementary info on the place which was really helpful before embarking on local visits. As the hotel was a small family run business it retained an intimate feel about it and the guests were treated as friends rather than clients. 2 ex of this were the fact that you could browse through the lovely books of the small library if you were so inclined and you could even watch DVDs of classic films in the tiny cinema!

Room Tip: Most rooms were very good I think but if you want a special one and are prepared to pay a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

On a little side street in Ronda you can find this gem of a small hotel. The interior is very appealing, highlighted by the homelike touches of books and plants in the comfortable public areas. Our room was on the top floor and had exposed beams, an alcove, and a lovely view of nearby rooftops. Modern bath and amenities like an in-room refrigerator. Service was great; the receptionist cheerfully obliged our questions about Spanish, and the hotel even provided a homemade walking tour for Ronda that we found to be a great way to explore the town.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

pros - fab location, quiet street, very friendly and helpful staff, gorgeously decorated hotel and a comfortable big bedroom and bathroom with jacuzzi tub.

cons - breakfast could be a bit more generous for the standard of the overall hotel (i.e. it's fancy hotel but a slightly basic breakfast).

Note: when we had a small problem with a bathroom tap it was not only fixed immediately but the hotel gave us free vouchers for some local attractions to compensate - very nice of them to do this as we hadn't asked or expected anything!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

after a 2 week round trip through Andalusia, we enjoyed our stay at our final destination before heading home in Ronda. Not only is Ronda extremely charming, but this hotel is just the right place to stay: small, very personal, very unique, our junior suite was very charming and the staff most helpful and kind. Parking was no problem, once car stored away, we explored everything within walking distance from the hotel.
even the breakfast was for a German ok. we can recommend this traditional hotel!
uwb

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

WOW!!!!! Beautiful, great location, we were upgraded to a suite...well worth the few extra euros...its a once in a lifetime. Rooms are clean, good size but the suite is amazing!.
Take your time to absorb the decor,movie room,the downstairs wine room. So many good memoirs , I can go on and on...Right down the street is a small family owned restaurant " Manuelas". great food, prices and service!

We feel in love with Ronda and the Hotel San Gabriel!!!

Room Tip: Try to get the Honey moon suite, I know its a few extra euros but its worth It !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Address: Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#1 Family Hotel in Ronda
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Gabriel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.