We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but need to clean the rooms..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza de Toros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza de Toros to your Saves list
Plaza de Toros
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jose Aparicio 3, 29400 Ronda, Spain (Formerly La Rondena Hotel-Restaurant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Ronda
Armenia, Colombia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but need to clean the rooms..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

For the price paid (~75 EUR for a double + single room) it was more than fine for a few nights sleep!

Located at "Plaza de Toros", easy access to both ends & sights of Ronda.. Really nice personnel, welcomed with a smile. Weather was pretty cold during this month (December), and so the rooms when entering, but A/C - heating system did the job. Pretty small 12" TV sets (didn't use them), rooms felt genuine spanish.

We used the private parking inside the hotel (24H for 14 EUR), large garage with lot's of space compared to many of the hotels in Ronda, where you'll have to struggle with space if driving anything else than a Chevrolet Spark.

Plus:
- Great Personnel
- Great value
- Good parking
- Overall good standard / decoration

Minus:
- The bathroom had old hairs in sink, and I also found a long hair right on my pillow where you got the feeling room was not so clean which lowered the grade (otherwise I would easily have put a 4).

Would definitely try it again, and check if it was a one-time incident.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Adequate for 2 night stay, would have been too small for any longer. Basic and simple breakfast. Room was very clean, needed larger pillows or cushions to sit up against metal frame. Location is really perfect, Ronda centre is very compact anyway but we were only five minutes walk from tapas bars and restaurants, including next door.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Tiny, but clean and great value for money. The staff is a little slow sometimes, as is their internet, but very friendly. Always willing to help! The location's quite good - plaza de toros is right opp the hote, and the bridge a 2 min walk - making it ideal to catch the beautiful sunrise in the morning!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 1st floor. It din't have a view, but din't matter much since the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Through my journey, I have stayed at this hotel one night and it was a nice small hotel right in the center. Rooms were small but it was enough, anyway. Clean and nice. Pity was that there was no view, the street was narrow and in addition it was an outdoor restaurant there and had the awning across the narrow street so you could see only hotel opposite and awning. However, it was still OK, would stay there only one night and next day I would continue. In all cases we were real happy with everything there, also ate at the restaurant belonging to the hotel and the food was real good. The breakfast also. Even staff was nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caversfield, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived to Ronda without reservation and the hotel staff were very welcoming. They not only found comfortable rooms for us, but also gave us maps and directions to the places to visit as the tourist office was closed. Food was very good and the private car parking was a plus for our stay so we did not have to unpack everything we had in the car. We'll return to the same hotel and location soon.

Room Tip: ask for a room to the back of the hotel as to the front is where the pedestrian area and bars and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Hotel Plaza de Toros in Ronda, Spain is ideally located between the Plaza de Toros and the 'new bridge' (construction started in 1751 and spans a 390 foot deep gorge). The hotel is spacious with nice sized rooms and private bathrooms. It also has free Wi-Fi that can be accessed from anywhere in the hotel. The included breakfast is plentiful and delicious. The Plaza de Toros is within a one minute walk and is an important part of the culture and history of Ronda, as is the 'new bridge'--located one minute (walking) in the opposite direction from the Plaza de Toros. The ideal location of the hotel allows the visitor many choices and directions from which to enjoy this incredible city. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a wonderful location - just seconds from the old town. We really felt we'd got lucky here.

Originally had looked for a hotel in the old district, but the reality is that old city is a bottle neck of tourists by day, and few bars or restaurants are open by night; this does make the evening the best time to explore the old city - avoiding the coach loads of tour parties.

We asked for a room with a view and stayed in 225, which overlooks the gorge. The view is good, though is slightly obscured by the awning of the restaurant below and trees..

The room itself was very nice - well furnished and quiet.

The breakfast goes beyond many at this price, with good selection of breads, meats, cereal, and an array of cakes if that's your thing!

Staff are very friendly and accommodating too - we changed our booking at the last minute with no problem whatsoever; very helpful throughout in accessing the underground parking - which wasn't cheap but very handy in Ronda, as parking is fairly scarce.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#15 of 36 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colon
Hotel Colon
#13 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#6 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maestranza
Hotel Maestranza
#24 of 36 in Ronda
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Cayetano
Hotel San Cayetano
#17 of 36 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Miguel
Hotel Don Miguel
#29 of 36 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza de Toros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza de Toros

Address: Jose Aparicio 3, 29400 Ronda, Spain (Formerly La Rondena Hotel-Restaurant)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza de Toros 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza de Toros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rondena Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza de Toros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.