We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Miguel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Don Miguel to your Saves list
Hotel Don Miguel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Espana | Villanueva 4 y 5, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Ronda
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Totally worth the money if you can nail down room 204 or any of the rooms with an outdoor terrace!! I think there may be only 4 of these. Staff was nice. resturant was one of the best we ate at in Spain. We are 30 year old, female Americans and had a great time in this sleepy little town. Take a day hike and go down in the gorge. No hairdryers at the hotel. Meet other Americans at Huskies Sports Bar.

Room Tip: room 204 or any room with an OUTDOOR terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    86
    31
    19
    4
See reviews for
20
102
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

The hotel has many of its rooms facing the famous gorge and bridge in Ronda. It is right between the old and the 'new' towns and is perfectly positioned for sightseeing, shopping and walking around Ronda.
We had twin rooms with ensuite. They were clean and comfortable and the water pressure was very good in the shower. There were blamkets available for the beds but, be warned, when the weather is cool, as it was on our visit, there is no heating - I was a bit cold! The perfect hotel for Semana Santa week - the processions pass right outside.
There is a lovely terrace for a drink and a restaurant too. I'd go again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I usually never prepare any review of the hotels I stay at and am rarely critical but... our stay was so bad that I had to write something to make sure I warn as many people as possible that they should perhaps look elsewhere for a decent accomodation. We decided to stay at the Don MIguel because we had read raving reviews of this place on Tripadvisor.

There is one point I will grant to Don Miguel: its beautiful views over the gorge. But that is all.... and furthermore there are other hotels there with great views...

We paid EUR 91. You would expect for this price higher standards than those offered to us:
- The rooms are extremely noisy:
(i) never get a room on the first floor or else you will hear the people at the reception as if they were in your room
(ii) try to get a room as far as possible from the lift although this will only make the sound of the lift a bit more bearable (even though our room was not next to the lift, our bed seemed to be moving with the lift and I thought each time that the ceiling was falling on top of us)
(iii) our room not only had no view whatsoever but instead had a small window giving on to a very noisy street with cars passing by every 5 minutes as that street led to the main parking in Ronda.
- Service is nonexistent:
(i) After waking up at 6:30 because of the noise, I waited to have breakfast until 8am (opening time). I wanted to go on the terrace (at least get some value for the money spent on that hotel) and was told by the lady who was sweeping the floor that I would have to wait for her to finish before I could sit there.
(ii) I complained at the reception that I had never slept in such a noisy room and the receptionist agreed that it was noisy. She never apologized!
- Breakfast: There is only one way to get to the breakfast area, via the lifts, so make sure to come early or late or else you will have to wait a long time for the lift to come. We tried getting there via the stairs but somehow this was impossible...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Very nice hotel overlooking the bridge and old town. Staff was extremely nice, and helpful with regards to some driving recommendations and also with getting parked in the small private garage up the block. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. Definitely more "old-school" and less "mod" than other hotels on our stay, but mega bonus points for our balcony overlooking everything (!). We didn't eat at the on-site terraced restaurant, and therefore can't judge, but the Don Miguel clearly is in the top tier of places to stay in beautiful little Ronda, and we'd book it again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Four family members stayed in one room for the grand total of 89 Euros and that included the overnight carpark fee and breakfast. It was very clean, warm and comfortable but the best thing was the spectacular view or the bridge. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

The Hotel Don Miguel was perfectly located, right in front of the bridge. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had a triple room. The room itself was somewhat spartan even though i do believe there was a small flatscreen tv. The room was immacutely clean. Our bathroom was extremely spacious and completely renovated. We had an amazing view from our room's balcony and looked out in awe at the spectacular view of the Roman bridge. The bridge is particularly brillant at night from our balcony.
The staff was friendly and spoke very good English. When we arrived, we unloaded our bags in front of the hotel and then were shown where to park only 2 minutes down the street. I must say that manuevering into the parking garage was a bit stressful and required really good driving skills as the spots were super small and involved some very tight turns.
The hotel offered a free breakfast with the room even though we did miss it as we overslept a bit. We were able to purchase a few snacks a la carte and that was able to hold us over.
All in all, this hotel was the best hotel in Ronda situated right next to the bridge and it was so centrally located. The price was also very affordable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We only spent one night here, but it was an unforgettable experience. The town itself is beautiful, stunningly located and full of bustle, though very touristy during the day. In the evening, once the bus parties from Marbella etc. have gone home it returns to being a bit more tranquil, though still lively.

The hotel itself was very easy to find, despite us driving in s trange town. There is space for temporary parking outside and the friendly receptionist - willing to put up with my Spanish, but also with her own excellent English - showed us round to the garage about 30 seconds drive away. Our room, just like in some of the other reviews, looked right over the gorge with a small balcony (and a set of stout bars to stop an accident!). The room was clean, satisfactorily appointed, with en-suite bath/shower room, toilet and bidet. There was a tv, though we didn't use it.
We ate our evening meal elsewhere, but breakfast was fine - a variety of self-service options, cereals, bacon, scrambled egg etc.
Cost for one night, one room, breakfast etc Euro108 Parking Euro 9

Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.0 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#12 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#2 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#7 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#8 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Poeta de Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Miguel

Address: Plaza de Espana | Villanueva 4 y 5, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Don Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Miguel Hotel
Don Miguel Ronda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.