We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality Tapas and the place is so smart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Casa Ortega

Restaurante Casa Ortega
Plaza del Socorro, 17, Ronda, Spain
+34 952 87 90 93
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 204 Restaurants in Ronda
Price range: $11 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent quality Tapas and the place is so smart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited here one evening and we were so impressed, we shared a large tapa of asparagus with eggs and potato, it was stupendous, but the place itself was gorgeous, and very stylish and the owner is on hand to supervise the waiters and attends to every detail, he is very proud of his restaurant and it shows, this place is always busy but don't worry if you can't speak Spanish because Antonio the owner speaks perfect English as he lived in England for a time and he is always pleased to show you his tapas and explain them in English, there is a restaurant upstairs but we stayed in the tapas bar downstairs

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    57
    30
    16
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“3 njght break in ronda.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

having stumbled on this bar/restaurant we were very impressed with the food and the very attentive service. We dined twice in the upstairs restaurant ( midweek ) and the food and service was approaching central london standards. The cafe has an excellent atmosphere and delicious, healthy food which is not easy to find in spain. We dined there most of our stay during which the weather was atrocious.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“excellent service and good priced drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went to ronda for two nights with family to celebrate my birthday, we found this bar/restaurant on the first day. We never ate there but wish we did the food we saw looked lovely and fresh. The wine was lovely and was very well priced, the waiting staff where friendly and very helpful. When we return to ronda we will be definately be eating there. The bar area was very clean and had a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
206 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“I'll pass ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chanced into it for two reasons, it was a convenient sync up point, and the waitress was pleasant and spoke impeccable english. Thats the only good thing i can say, though.

We ordered coffee, which was great but we'll thank the machine vendor for that one!

It was followed by the spanish tortilla, which was okay but nothing exceptional at €8.

The killer was the spaghetti, which was complete crap at €10, just cold spaghetti mixed with uncooked tomato sauce. Not even a trace of taste anywhere.

Definitely not recommended for a vegetarian, the tortilla was the only saving grace IMO. Go to buenos aires, just down the road, as we soon did,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good food, excellent service, good atmosphere - and not expensive. We ordered from the specials menu and were not disappointed, loved the partridge and the pork.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Casa Ortega also viewed

 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Casa Ortega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Casa Ortega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.