We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puerta Grande

Puerta Grande
Calle Nueva 10, 29400 Ronda, Spain
+34 952 879 200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 167 restaurants in Ronda
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In Ronda, Spain.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We ate here twice during a 4 day visit to Ronda. The food was superb and the service prompt efficient but not intrusive. The staff were all really friendly within always appearing at the table to ask "Is everything alright?". This may not be the cheapest restaurant in Ronda but it depends what you're looking for - if you want excellent food, beautifully presented with friendly helpful staff then this is the place to go to.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    213
    70
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Puerta Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Food and service very good. Waiters were very friendly and couldn't do more to help us. Only downside was they gave us free local wine and wouldn't tell us what it was.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food with superb service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We took the advice from Tripadvisor and ate at Puerto Grande after 9 PM yesterday. Puerto Grande was full, whilst all the other restaurants on the same street were nearly deserted, this was a good sign in our opinion.
Right from the beginning the service was above our expectations and the quality of the food only enhanced our restaurant experience. The food was reasonably priced (about a third of prices we would find in Finland where we are from). We shared 3 meals so that we could taste as much as possible, and in this case it was a good idea.
All in all I would recommend this restaurant to all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary touristic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's not usual to find a good restaurant in the middle of a touristic site like Ronda. Puerta Grande is this unusual place, a local friend recommended it and he was spot on! The service is amazing! The maitre treated us like if we lived in Ronda and like if we went there very often. And every single dish we had was incredibly good! Again... just like this was "not" a restaurant in the heart of a touristic place. Thumbs up! (By the way... We were a party of 8 and we all had different food, we all were delighted)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ufford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delectable food & delightful service. Do not miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant and not to be missed...

We tried to visit this restaurant twice on Saturday and Sunday nights but it was closed. We passed it on a Monday with intentions to go elsewhere but decided we should give it a go... and we weren't disappointed!

For starters we had migas, chorizo in wine and a last minute decision of fried aubergine with honey. The migas, a local dish consisting of breadcrumbs sausage garlic onion and green pepper is far better than it sounds: a lovely combination of flavours. The chorizo was delicious and not too strong, the highlight however was the aubergine: a vegetable I wouldn't normally eat but this was brilliant, not dissimilar to fried/caramelised banana, a sweet dish and enough to share between 5.

Next for mains: potted duck with an apple purée. I tried this and would certainly recommend it. A sirloin of Iberian pig. Again I tried this: more flavour than beef but slightly less tender, altogether a nice cut of meat that again I would again wholeheartedly recommend. Other dishes, a vegetable Spanish omelette and piri-piri langoustine were enjoyed but not for me. I had a partridge with crispy ham. This was brilliant: juicy, full of flavour, complimented by a wonderful sauce and served with lightly fried potatoes and al dente vegetables (as were the other meat dishes). Five empty plates can only be a good sign, the food was perfect and i'm told the local ronda rose wine was good too.

For dessert, just the one, (again probably a good sign!) a warm chocolate soufflé with vanilla ice cream. This was fantastic, not too rich and certainly good to see a proper homemade dessert opposed to the standard frozen desserts common in the area.

So three delectable courses and brilliant service start to finish but that was not all... Our waiter, who I believe was the owner, gave us some free liquor after the desserts which topped off a perfect meal. He also showed us some classic valve radios inside his restaurant which he was clearly proud of. He then explained that they shut Saturdays and Sundays and serve mostly locals Monday to Friday: a restaurant that doesn't need to open on the busiest nights, again surely a good sign?

All in all this was a flawless experience. The food was some of the nicest I've had anywhere, the waiter was friendly and funny and overall I cannot fault Puerta Grande. If you're visiting Ronda, and here in the week, be sure to visit puerta grande.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerta Grande also viewed

Ronda, Province of Malaga
Ronda, Province of Malaga
 
Ronda, Province of Malaga
Ronda, Province of Malaga
 

Been to Puerta Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerta Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.