We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puerta Grande

Puerta Grande
Calle Nueva 10, 29400 Ronda, Spain
+34 952 879 200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 205 Restaurants in Ronda
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: In Ronda, Spain.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A memorable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our family dined in Puerta Grande last week and it was one of the best meals we had in Spain. Carlos was very attentive and eager to have us try the various local dishes- which he carefully explained- including oxtail. the unique gin and tonics, paella, an appetizer made of bread crumbs, a sweet dessert wine and other tasty items. We enjoyed everything and left in a very contented mood. We would certainly recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    114
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berry, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ambushed by Carlos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife & I liked the look of the window menu. We were looking for a light Sunday night meal and were persuaded to enter by a waiter at the door. We ordered what we thought were four small dishes and were treated to an excellent combination of local dishes. Three would have been more than enough but they were so tasty we pushed through the lot. Carlos provided complimentory chilled wine and a taste of their Iberian ham to finish what was a excellent meal for under E 50. Yes, they cater for the tourist trade (which we were ) but we enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Average, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We ate Paella which was good and tasty but nothing special. The ambient is quiet touristy and old school. The prices are expensive.

VAT is not included in the prices of the
menu, so you must add 10% !!!

No olives for appetiser :(. We can not believe hat this restaurant is rated so high.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A definite must visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Our host at Hotel Ronda recommended this as a good mid-priced restaurant. My sister and I had the seafood paella and found it chock-full of seafood, unlike other versions we'd seen but not eaten. And it was definitely fresh made. The most fun, however, was Carlos and I just laughed aloud after reading all the other tripadvisor references to him. He brought all kinds of aperitif drinks and sherry for us to try, including a lovely anise/sloe mix and a drink made from sloe berries. I, too, think people on tripadvisor tend to overrate restaurants. In a head to head with fine, cutting edge establishments, I'd give Puerto Grande around a 3.8 of 5. But the food was certainly among the best of sidewalk cafes we ate at in Andalusia. I would definitely come back here for the food and the very enjoyable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional and quality spanish food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Came back to Puerta Grande two years after our first visit and it didn't dissappoint. Took my wife, two young boys and my parents and every one of us had a great time and loved the food - the seafood paella was fabulous! The service was excellent and Carlos and his staff made a big fuss of our boys (9 & 6), they even have a non-alcoholic desert wine so they don't feel left out!!! Will definitely be going back there again on our next trip to Spain.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerta Grande also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Puerta Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerta Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.