We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we had stayed more than one night.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Poeta de Ronda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Poeta de Ronda to your Saves list
Hotel El Poeta de Ronda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Tenorio 1, 29400 Ronda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Ronda
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wished we had stayed more than one night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were lucky enough to have an extra day between Cadiz and Malaga, so made the trip to Ronda for a day and night. Turns out it was the "gem" of our entire trip. And Hotel Poeta played no small part in this. We were thrilled with the room and the views from the flower-lined windows. The bathroom is my dream bathroom (maybe since the 2012 renovation)...bright, spacious, beautifully tiled; and adorned with Hermes toiletries -- I have never felt so pampered! I had to force myself to leave my luxurious bath to visit the townsite, which is spectacular. The staff was beyond friendly and welcoming. Breakfast (which was included) was far from the buffet you find in other places; she basically took your order...for us, eggs, bacon, tomatoes, toast, orange juice, coffee, and to finish, a large plate of fruit. Delicious! Overall, great value for money. We hated to leave, and fully intend to return someday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    70
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
26
136
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay at the hotel Poeta in Ronda and we were impressed with the quality of the rooms, the service and the food. The hotel has been renewed in April 2012 so is brand new. The rooms are of a decent size and are very clean.the hotel reflects the Arab and Christian culture and reminded us of the Alahambra in Granada. The staff is very friendly and Elisabeth, the girl who runs the hotel, is very welcoming and charming. We had scrambled eggs for breakfast and were perfect also, do not miss the orange juice absolutely delicious. We strongly recommend the hotel poeta!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Beautiful hotel, clean and kind and helpful staff. BUT: On main street 1 block from new bridge which is great but:--I am a light sleeper and since it is on the main street there is much traffic noise until 12:00 am and early in the morning. Also the kitchen staff is rattling pans and making noise you can hear all over the hotel as the hotel has a lot of marble and tile. We were supposed to stay 3 days but left after one. We were going to use this as a base to visit the smaller white towns--not good for that as the parking here is very difficult-had to walk a long 3 blocks and park underground for about 20.00 a day. Not good for seniors like us!!! After seeing the ravine and the bull ring we found that one day in Ronda was enough. There are packs of tourists and it is too busy. We decided to go to Grazalema (one of Rick Steves' favorite hill towns). We found a lovely 4 star hotel there for 60 euros(Hotel Puerta de la Villa). It was easy to park behind the hotel and all we heard was the sound of a rooster in the morning. From there we visited the other towns such as Zahara and were glad we did not have to return to the noise and traffic of Ronda in the evening. Also Grazalema was easier to get around in than steep Zahara. Another mistake we made was to rent a Citeron compact car--due to the narrow streets with inches between the car and wall in the white towns it would be better to rent a smaller economy (the smallest you can rent and still hide your luggage).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Everything about this hotel was perfect - a 2 minute walk to the famous bridge, incredibly helpful staff, beautiful decor, and a really tasty breakfast eaten on the patio included in the price. I couldn't recommend highly enough - a boutique hotel with a budget price tag. (four of us stayed for one night on June 27 2010 in rooms 1 and 2 as part of a week long trip round andalucia)

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

After a weekend in Tangier, what a great place to check in. The hotel is in a great location, rooms are clean, continental breakfast is good (excellent blueberry muffins). Attached restaurant and bakery were tempting as well. Highly recommend for all travelers. Hotel staff also recommended a local restaurant which was La Venencia - great value and the best restaurant of the trip

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Neatly decorated place near the famous Ronda bridge. Our room was OK but had no seats. Also because of being on the uppermost level the noisy air condition unit on the roof bothered us when the window was open. The parking is a couple of blocks away, but that is the price to pay for staying central in an old town. Probably because we stayed off-season they were somehow understaffed: The waiter had to serve breakfast and look after the Cafe and hotel reception.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Hotel Poeta was the standout hotel sway on a recent trip through Spain and the rest of Europe. It has all the old world charm that you would expect from Spain but rarely receive nowadays. The staff are friendly, helpful and a delight to deal with. The location of the hotel is its outstanding feature - right in the heart of Rhonda with views that you won't believe. Book a room - you will be astonished just how good it is.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#2 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#12 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#7 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#8 of 36 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Poeta de Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Poeta de Ronda

Address: Calle Tenorio 1, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Poeta de Ronda 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the old town of Ronda, this restored Andalucian mansion of the famous poet “Pedro Pérez Clotet” offers all the comforts of a quality hotel and the additional charm of its classic decor. Its 12 fully equipped rooms give a real home comfort right in the heart of Ronda - all the attractions are just a few meters from the hotel. Enjoy not only the hotel service, but also the restoration, its authentic local cuisine, where you can taste delicious classic dishes with a very personal touch. We invite you to spend a memorable stay in the heart of Ronda, allow us the pleasure of serving you personally; we are sure you'll feel right at home. “Hotel El poet de Ronda”, in this dream city, is located just 30 meters from the Tagus, the old bridge and its viewing points, the Alameda del Tajo, 2 minute walk from the amazing “Plaza de toros”, and the Arabic baths. Ronda is simply surrounded by monuments... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Poeta de Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poeta Hotel Ronda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Poeta de Ronda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.