We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sacred Valley of the Incas

Sacred Valley of the Incas
Peru
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$83*
and up
Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day...
Ranked #6 of 223 things to do in Cusco Region
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rapid City, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our trip with Best Peru Tours out so Riverview, FL was wonderful. All transfers, accommodations, and tours were set so we had nothing to worry about. The small group tours were great for questions and tour guide interaction.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,209
    326
    44
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Trip to the Sacred Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a great trip organized by Princess Land Tours. The accommodations were first class, food was excellent and the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and very understanding about the effects of altitude when exploring the ruins. Princess (via Lima Tours) did a very good job - we enjoyed our tour very much.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“A great tour with lots of different experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We took a private tour with our three daughters. The hotel had organized a driver and a van. It is obviously more expensive to take a private tour but it offers much more flexibility and that was useful for us.

We hiked in ollantaytambo (1 hour) and Pisac (2 hours), went to an Inca cooperative near Chinchero where we saw weaving and coloring, visited an animal farm near Obrao (?) where we got spat on by llamas. Many great views of the Andees and Somalia villages. All in all a very good day

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"This Is A Tour of Cusco, The Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu With Raul Castelo."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We took a seven day tour with Raul Castelo in March of 2014. This was a custom trip for three family members of the Stark family from Oregon, in the U.S.A. The members on the tour were a couple and our adult daughter.

Raul is an amazing man. He is a very professional, kind, friendly, fun, patient and an honest man. Raul has a wonderful work ethic. This really showed up when he was so busy showing us everything he thought we should see in a day that we did not return to our hotel until between 8:00 and 8:30 p.m. two or three of the nights of our tour. He was always on time. He speaks good English. He paced our tour well. We never felt rushed. He is also a wonderful musician! Besides everything else he is a GREAT family man. He has a real heart for children. He and his family run a school on their property site in the Cusco Highlands for children up to 12 years of age. This really helps these children who attend because if his school did not exist it would take these children several hours per day to get to and from school. When you spend time with him is when you realize what an AMAZING man he is.

Raul has a very deep knowledge about the Andean (Inca) culture. Raul carries several notebooks to illustrate key points at the various sites. He has a superior knowledge of natural medicines (which is very interesting to me). He has extreme expertise in botany, ancient and present day cultures, music, astrology, gastronomy and many other things. He knew the answers to all the questions we asked. Raul loves his country and takes great pride in his country. He loves to share his information with his customers. We immediately felt like he was our friend because of his caring actions and also he goes way above and beyond the normal role of a tour guide.

When I received the first email from Raul and Paulo I felt we were in excellent hands. He was so concerned to find out what our needs and interests were. I explained that I had a phobia of live chickens and I didn't want to be walking amongst them. I remember early on in the planning stages he advised me not to worry and that he would take excellent care to keep me away from the chickens. I did not have to be around one live chicken during our entire trip! We were able to see and do everything we asked to do along with many additional things. Some of the additional things we did were: to attend the Carnival festivities in Chinchero. Raul took us to a second silver jewelry store. He made a special effort to find the perfect place for us to have our pictures taken with the ladies and their llamas and sheep at Sacayhuaman. He took us to a wonderful book store. The list goes on and on.

Raul took us to authentic places. I told him I was interested in woven tapestries, so he took us to visit an Andean family in Chinchero. These people weave beautiful textiles. There is a wonderful family story here. Only one of the daughters speaks English. She told us all about the weaving process. We watched a fantastic demonstration on dying the wool and how they make the colors and then they demonstrated the weaving process. They were very patient with us while we did our shopping. They were very willing to let us take pictures and as we were leaving the entire family came out and had their pictures taken with us! How wonderful!

Some of the sites that we visited were:

Cusco
Sacsayhuaman
Ollantaytambo
Machu Picchu
Coricancha
Pisac site
Pisac market
A silver artisan in Pisac
Restaurante Turistico where we ate from the delicious lunch buffet
Chinchero: the carnival, the Chinchero family weavers, the Chinchero Market
Moray
Maras and the salt mines
Q'uenqo
Pukapukara
Tambomachay

Some of the sites visited in Cusco:

Monumento Pachacuteq
Plaza De Armas
Cusco's baroque Cathedral
Iglesia de la Compania
Iglesia San Blas
Choco Museo
Plazoleta San Blas
Arte Mendivil - San Blas
A silver artisan in Cusco
A great book store
Pachapapa Restaurant - San Blas
San Pedro Market

Raul, Paulo and Teo, thank you for everything you did for us. We have had a number of tour guides through the years and Raul; there would not be any way to find a better tour guide than you. You are superb! We will always remember this trip. Raul, Paulo and Teo you all performed above and beyond your call of duty. We hope to plan another trip with you soon.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
184 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Raul is passionate about what he does and eager to educate you on the Sacred Valley.

He considers all of his clients as friends and you always feel like you want to spend more time with him. His explanations of the culture, architecture and history of Peru were awesome. He is the best guide we have used in any location around the world.

He takes the time to set up the itinerary you want and spend the amount of time you want at each location. We visited the market in Cusco which was great but we ended up spending the most time touring Sacsayhuaman which was fascinating.

We recommend Raul unconditionally.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacred Valley of the Incas also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Sacred Valley of the Incas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacred Valley of the Incas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.