We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure Holidays Peru was terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sacred Valley of the Incas

Sacred Valley of the Incas
Peru
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$125*
and up
Private Tour: Sacred Valley from Cusco
Ranked #6 of 223 things to do in Cusco Region
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rural Virginian
Level Contributor
183 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Adventure Holidays Peru was terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Vidal at Adventure Holidays Peru actually coordinated our entire trip which included Lima, Nazca, Arequipa, Chivay, Puno (Lake Titicaca), Cusco, Sacred Valley. we had planned such a trip four years ago but could not take it because of an emergency--I was pleased when I contacted Vidal again that AHP is still in business and Vidal is still running things because my previous experience just in the planning stages had been so good.

Everything was excellent. He was quick at replying to emails from the beginning and great at communicating about what type of trip we wanted. Every pickup, reservation and tour guide was correct, on time, and went smoothly.

The best part was when we met our personal guide for the Cusco/Sacred Valley portion. His name was Hubert and he was enthusiastic with excellent English.

We trusted them with our entire trip and we are glad we did.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,216
    327
    45
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stupendous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Peru is known for Machu Picchu, but the Sacred Valley is dramatically scenic and fascinating. We were unprepared for the beauty of this quaint part of the world nestled high in mountains.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The sacred valley runs across several kms. One can trek a few places or can take a car on rent and drive. I stayed in Urubamba, a quaint town in Sacred valley where tourist are not really staying. There are places you could do from Urubamba like Maras, Moray, Ollantaytambo, Pisac. These are all beautiful and different.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inca Trail and accommodations at CASITA DE SAN BLAS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We just had the most wonderful trip to Cusco and the Inca Trail with Adventure Holidays Peru. I had a great trip with them years ago, but this time I brought my family (children 11 and 14). Vidal has added greatly to his amazing service by opening up his "CASITA DE SAN BLAS" which is a home that he has recently finished in San Blas. The house has 8 bed rooms, a wonderful living room and kitchen facility. The views from this house are amazing. We stayed there for about a week before and after our Inca Trail hike. It was the perfect place to be. It felt like home. He has added many touches that represent Inca and Nazca references all over the house. We were able to cook and relax in the house, view the stars and city from our bedroom window and wake to the sound of birds. I've visited San Blas many times and feel like this is the jewel for accommodations.

As for the Inca Trail the Adventure Holidays Peru team is just amazing. They are so professional and everyone that works for them is a super guia. You can spin the wheel of subjects and their guides can answer anything!! Not only that but they were so great with our children. The hike and trip was perfect. They are the best outfit going and the CASITA DE SAN BLAS is outstanding.
Thomas,
Alta, Wyoming USA

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopron, Hungary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great day tour, a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We took a taxi for the whole day that we organized over our hostel which was 220Soles before bargaining.
We covered Chinchero Sunday market, Salineras near Moray, Maras, Ollantaytambo and Pisac.
I recommend the local markets at Chinchero or Pisac (market days are Sunday and Thursday). Was a great day tour, is a must do if you are in Cusco. For the Sacred Valley tourist sites you need a “boleto turistico” (admission ticket). The small one for the Sacred Valley costs 70Soles (only valid for one day), but if you want to visit the Cusco sites too, you need the “boleto turístico general” for 130Soles (valid for 10 days). To the salineras there is an additional entry fee of 7Soles.
With the boleto turístico general you can also go to a Peruvian dance performance at the Centro Qosqo de Arte Nativo in Cusco, it starts around 19:00, but you have to go there much earlier, because it gets easily fully booked. The boleto also includes some museums, but these are rather the ones that you wouldn’t visit if you would have to pay for them.
In Cusco the Sacsayhuaman is definitely worth visiting. Cusco has quite good handicraft markets (artesanías) and the prices are lower (even without bargaining) than in other Sacred Valley villages. The best one is on the south side of the Plaza San Francisco in a courtyard.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacred Valley of the Incas also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Sacred Valley of the Incas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacred Valley of the Incas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.