We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mix of culture and nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sacred Valley of the Incas

Sacred Valley of the Incas
Peru
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$125*
and up
Private Tour: Sacred Valley from Cusco
Ranked #6 of 223 things to do in Cusco Region
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A mix of culture and nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Wonderful and picturesque Valley, surrounding of different Colonial towns, such as Chinchero, Pisac, Ollantaytambo, full of culture, history, nice and very local people. A place that everybody who visit Peru has to visit and see what is going on.
This Valley is as attractive and mystic as Machu Picchu!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,211
    327
    44
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birr, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perol Chico horse riding stables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

These Peruvian Paso horses are just the very best! The most wonderful holiday for anyone who is an experienced horse rider. Climbing to over 4000 meters and camping there, riding on narrow passes and wide open spaces. Beautiful countryside, meeting wonderful people. A superbly run outfit in every way. Horses, food, accommodation, welcome all A+ Eddie & Maria are superb hosts, and a final day visiting Machu Picchu

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nature at its best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The valley is one of the most beautiful sights ever seen by me. From the dessert like conditions of cusco the valley begins about 60 Kim's away and runs along the uranbamba river and shows a very fertile land area. The terraced farming on the mountains that run alongside is a fabulous sight to see as the terracing goes almost to the top of the mountains. Pisac is an awesome small town in the valley and great for shopping !!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Raul Castelo guide to the Sacred Valley Cusco - Toptur Peru.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Raul Castelo organised a seven day tour of the Sacred Valley, Machu Pichhu and Cusco for myself and my ten year old daughter in July 2013. We arranged a tour that involved a few days acclimatising, a one night home-stay at the home of a local weaver in Chinchero. From Chinchero we completed a two-day hike, with porters, a cook and a horse to help my daughter over a 4300m pass and back into the Sacred Valley. We then took the train to Aguascalientes followed the next day by our trip to Macchu Pichhu..
I cannot recommend Raul highly enough. The ground arrangements such as taxis and hotels were meticulous. His knowledge of the inca sites that we visited was quite frankly superb. It was manifestly apparent that he prepared each of our visits often supplementing with extracts from maps aor photos graphs that he brought with him. Clearly he has a passion for this beautiful region and its history.
But for me what made it so special was the Interaction with my daughter. Showing her the markets, introducing her to guinea pigs and feeding them with her, explaining the stars on a dark night just before we snuggled back into our tents. Managing to get her to walk an extra few kilometres by pointing out the wildlife and dealing with her questions. Never patronising but always talking at a level she could understand. This was the most recent of several trips that I have taken to Peru over the past 25 years and undoubtedly Raul brought something unique to a once In a lifetime trip for myself and my daughter. I am happy to answer emails in support of my review martinwwatts@hotmail.com. Raul can be contacted at topturperu.com.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A great lead up to Machu Picchu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

A great tour around the Sacred Valley visiting the Inca Sites destroyed by the Spanish. There is real passion in the tales told by the Quechuan guides about their history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacred Valley of the Incas also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Sacred Valley of the Incas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacred Valley of the Incas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.