We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Manoir, waiting to welcome you for your holiday
Le Manoir, waiting to welcome you for your holiday
Le Manoir, waiting to welcome you for your holiday
Private pool with superb views of the hidden valley and fishing lakes
Gold room, en-suite, with view of the lakes
Ruby room, en-suite, with view of the ruins of the Chateau de Gurson
Emerald room, with separate bathroom.  View of the ruins of the Chateau de Gurson
Villefranche
|
Rental Home – 
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andrew C
Praze-An-Beeble, United Kingdom
1 review
“Traditional French manor house with a warm, family welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were very much looking forward to our 2 week break at Le Manoir de Gurson having booked online back in October 2012. All communication from Charmaine was conducted in a timely and professional manner and this gave us great hope that we would have a fantastic family holiday - and we did. The house is not your modern, chic box but more in line with a typical French manor house and is all the better for this.
We were welcomed by Charmaine who immediately made us feel at home and had arranged for several grocery items to be collected for us before we arrived so that we didn't need to move from the house for a couple of days.
The welcome barbeque on the first night was just brilliant, with Tim cooking pork steaks (sorry to have the biggest one Tim - I know you had your eye on it!), chicken and mergazze along with a big salad and more that enough red wine (hic) - a really brilliant welcome and very appreciated given the long drive we had just completed.
All the rooms have very high ceiling making them an ideal escape from the midday sun and they are all tastefully furnished and fully equipped. There are a couple of areas around the house that were beginning to show their age a little (down stairs toilet in particular) however, that said the house was clean and tidy upon our arrival and Charmaine and Timothy did a mid stay clean half way through our holiday.
The kitchen is big enough and well equipped for a large family but be careful of the decorative bar that runs along the edge of the work surface - a couple of us caught our fingers in it while opening and closing the draws - ouch!
The house is ideally located with just a 5 minute car journey in to Villefranche de Lonchat (small village with boulangerie, village stores (super expensive), a small bar and restaurant) and a fantastic night market (Friday nights) with wonderful food where all the village come out and eat, dance and drink! The nearest town is Montpon (10 minutes further on) and this is where you will find a large selection of shops and a fuel station (Intermarche). There is a Lidl there too which is even cheaper than the Intermarche - and their 2008 Rioja is a steal at 3Euro (I know...I know...when in Bordeaux and all that - but I couldn't resist!!).
All throughout our stay, we were given this advise from Charmaine who really couldn't have done more to be a fantastic host and who had the canny knack of knowing when to be around and when to make herself scarce.
The facilities of the house were excellent, the pool was superb, the patio just perfect for a quiet cuppa first thing in the morning, breakfast with the family, sunbathing in 30 degree heat, long relaxed lunches under the parasols and all rounded off with a family meal whilst the sun sets. Perfect.
In conclusion, a wonderful house offered by wonderful hosts in an amazing location with superb facilities. All this means you will be guaranteed a relaxing, memorable holiday and you really will want to go back again (I know we will!).
Thanks Charmaine - see you again soon!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Peacefulness of the location coupled with amount of space afforded by both the indoor and outdoor of the property
Liked least: The pillows - could have had a choice of pillow type
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CNJW
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic large self-catering family property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We booked the Manoir de Gurson for a group comprised of 7 adults and 2 children (aged 6 and 8) for a one week self catering holiday, Both the property and hospitality of the owner were exceptional and exceeded our expectations.

The grounds of the property were an absolute delight and everyone in our group took to exploring the fields, woods and lakes at least once. We saw plenty of local wildlife including deer, kingfishers and owls.

The property itself was ideal for a group as each room had its own bathroom which for a group mostly comprised mostly of adults was essential, especially when we needed to get an early start in the morning. The catering and dining facilities were also excellent and we put the large BBQ to good use on 2 occasions.

The terrace was tranquil and relaxing (when the kids weren't around!) and the pool was a perfect depth for ages 6+ (at 1.2m) and ideal for adults inclined to take a refreshing afternoon dip. In the evenings if the weather when the sky was clear the potential for stargazing was staggering (see photo)!

As a base the property was excellent for experiencing all the region had to offer. We enjoyed visits south and west towards Saint-Emilion while also traveling north to enjoy the excellent food at the night market in Le Pizou and canoeing/kayaking from Montpon-Menestrol.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Every room having it's own bathroom
Liked least: Couldn't find any glassware for beer, but it is a wine region!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Dartmoorh...
Exeter
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“French Watered Retreat Of Beauty & Peace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We visited with a two family group of 9 in July 2013. We were looking for a large house with a pool with fishing and in a central location hence why we chose Le Manoir. Charmaine was a more than accommodating host when we arrived very late the first day and was very quick to rectify any concerns or help with requests. The house and grounds are perfect and set in a beautiful part of France. It has a couple of lakes in the grounds which would suit amateur fishers and an amazing pool setting looking over the lakes. My kids were happy it had WiFi and also British TV. The rooms were large and in good order but there is no air conditioning or fans and it was a really hot few weeks. We have travelled widely as a family and normally visit Spain as we love it so we thought we would give the kids a different perspective to try.
For me personally I generally found the French a little lacking when it came to customer service & courtesy particularly in tourism sites, compounding the general opinion, even walking out of the local Aqua Park in Bergerac as the woman actually huffed and walked off because we couldn't understand her.
We found that they speak or pretend to speak very little English however every other song on the radio was in English & they wore clothes with union jacks & stars & stripes on. There was a reluctance to help even if you attempted to speak French, but found out if I said the word in a French animated form and added 'ie' on the end to great amusement they actually understood me, not kidding try it!
I got the feeling they have no time for tourism so you have to enjoy it on our own terms as we did very much. St Emillion is a magical beautiful day out, the wine vineyards are amazing, Bergerac is beautiful, Bordeaux in very good for retail therapy, the local Lac De Gurson was just being finished but we did enjoy it with free Kayaking too. There is also another great local lake, kayaking on the Dordogne etc. The French like to gather in squares, talk & eat from stalls and play live music which is fun and the food is great.
Other than that the shop opening times are very random and they go to bed early so be sure to seek a booking or be careful about just turning up after 8pm at a restaurant. They don't do lively bars & nightlife here but the local in Villefranche is great and the Spainish owner is friendly with a great vinyl collection. You will also not have a bad coffee in France, for that I applaud them as a coffee addict!
The bakery's are great but dangerous for your waist line. The Pan Au Chocolate are delicious compared to the one's we buy from home. If you order a steak well done by the way it will still come back with blood, I see the French like to eat meat a lot and not that well cooked %-# This could explain a lot :-)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Swimming Pool Area
Liked least: Kitchen catering equipment was in need of improving for cooking for large numbers & air con would have helped.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tim W
Ryde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A wonderful week with some lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Painting, fishing, visiting places of interest, including nearby towns and vinyards were all facilitated by our hosts who put themselves to a great deal of trouble to ensure we had a wonderful holiday. The outstanding grounds hosted nightingales and orchids, coypu and some splendid coarse fishing.
The accommodation was of a very high standard and eating 'en famile' with other guests and our hosts was a delightful way to round off each day.
A great place to be for an active holiday break or just to lounge around!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The sense of being truly welcomed to such a delightful setting
Liked least: The weather could have been kinder
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
canuck_en...
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beatiful views with a 10 minute walk to the beach on the lake! Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had a great family holiday, the location is great, vineyards, lake with a beach and pony rides, we had a great time! Thanks again to our faboulous hosts!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Georgina...
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house with friendly and helpful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We spent a week at the Manoir with our two sons and friends. A very attractive house in the old French style, well furnished and appointed and set in the midst of beautiful countryside. We made full use of the relaxing pool area which has stunning views especially at sunset.

I can't speak too highly of the owners who contrive to be both unobtrusive and extraordinarily helpful. They provided excellent advice on local facilities/things to do both before and during our visit, as well as extras such as a free barbecue on our arrival. When the bike I had booked turned out to be too big for me to ride they magically produced another one from the barn, again without charge. Nothing was too much trouble.

The Manoir is in an excellent position for wine buying and the owners put us in touch with several local growers, as well as arranging a tour. St Emilion is also close by with its wine shops and first rate restaurants.

If you're a golfer there are good courses in easy reach - Charmaine recommended Chateau Vigiers which also has a wonderful restaurant if you're feeling extravagant.

I would recommend the Manoir very highly for a relaxing holiday in one of the most beautiful and interesting parts of France.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Helpful owners
Liked least: No complaints really
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
David G
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Warm and idyllic country setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

5 Adults and 5 children stayed comfortably in the spacious Manoir.
We were warmly welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend the welcome BBQ.
The standard of all the rooms was very high, beds were comfortable and the kitchen spacious and well fitted out.
We were provided with excellent local knowledge of markets, places to see and things to do. The owners were happy to assist with any bookings or information.
The kids had plenty to do with a lovely pool, table tennis and other games provided.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would like to visit again sometime.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Friendly and helpful owners.
Liked least: GPS found it difficult to locate the property as it is off the main road.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$140
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Charmaine B
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Dec 2010
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 6 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing